Old 6th December 2012, 23:44   #1
LudwigVonAntero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Minimalist firefox toolbar?

I finally got around to install winamp toolbar to firefox. I've been using just regular winamp for ages and been annoyed as it's always in the way while browsing :P

It works really well and I really like to use it, but when it comes to toolbars and anything extra in my browser, I tend to get a bit anal about it. I want everything as small, compact and minimalized as possible.

All I'm really looking for is to have basic controls (and "show winamp" button) on my browser on the same bar where the address bar is. Winamp toolbar won't let you do so.
There are also some other limitations, as you cannot remove "More info..." or "Search..." from the it.

Anywas, here's two screens that explains what I'm after:

Now it looks like: http://puu.sh/1xWkE
I'd like it to look something like: http://puu.sh/1xWs4

Any suggestions?

Tried to search some different addons for firefox, but one doesn't work on new firefox and the other one places the buttons to status bar, not the main one with the address bar.
LudwigVonAntero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 11:14   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,677
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i agree. it wastes a lot of space. also, u should be able to customize where it searches, aol, google, the ML, etc...

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 11:35   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
toolbars aren't in fashion anymore especially with so many of the browsers doing their best to prevent them (which is a good thing for people having to look after other's machines and for not wasting inches of screen estate). so i really wouldn't expect to see anything like what's being asked about changing in the Winamp toolbar (i could be wrong but i doubt it).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 11:59   #4
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by LudwigVonAntero View Post
Tried to search some different addons for firefox, but one doesn't work on new firefox and the other one places the buttons to status bar, not the main one with the address bar.
Have you tried the control bar plug-in that is supposed to use the active window's title bar?

http://www.winamp.com/plugin/winampbar/9316

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1909 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 12:18   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it won't work well / properly on the version of Windows shown in the screenshot - it struggled with the XP themed frames without the Vista/Win7 glass. plus if memory serves me right, it made things unstable and didn't work on a 64-bit version of windows (due to it being 32-bit and not being able to hook into 64-bit processes).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2012, 10:45   #6
LudwigVonAntero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
i really wouldn't expect to see anything like what's being asked about changing in the Winamp toolbar (i could be wrong but i doubt it).
Yeah, I didn't relly think there would be update to the toolbar itself. I was just wondering if anyone would know some other means to do this.
To me it's just odd that there is no firefox addon like this.

One thing that I also tried to search was "programmable buttons" addon. It would let you add few buttons to firefox and you could bind keys to them. Binding winamp hotkeys to them would solve the problem .

Wasn't able to find one, but I'm not sure what to search really.


Anyways, thanks for the replies
LudwigVonAntero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2012, 12:21   #7
LudwigVonAntero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
After posting that I started to think if it would be possible to add controls to windows task bar.
I ended up making this simple shortcut toolbar for it: http://puu.sh/1yvMf

It uses a freeware software called Clamp. A command line control thingie for winamp.
No need to install anything, just one exe-file.
It can be found: http://membres.multimania.fr/clamp/

Those buttons are just shortcuts with custom icons to clamp.exe /command
For example: x:/clamp.exe /NEXT

If you want to test it I uploaded my version of it to: http://puu.sh/1yvXr

To add it to windows taskbar:
1. Right click the taskbar
2. Toolbars - New Toolbar...
3. Choose folder with shortcuts (in this case folder called Buttons)
4. Right click the taskbar and untick Lock the Taskbar
5. Drag your toolbar as you see fit.
6. Right click your toolbar and untick Show Title and Show Text
7. Lock the Taskbar

Dunno if the shortcuts work for you as the drive/folders are different, but they are pretty easy to edit.
LudwigVonAntero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2012, 21:00   #8
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,684
If you are using Windows 7 and you pin Winamp to the Taskbar, I suggest you take a look at the "Win7Shell" plug-in. It replaces the default Winamp taskbar button and provides the basic playback controls, a jumplist for recently played tracks, and other useful goodies.

http://www.winamp.com/plugin/win7shell/222586

DrO has written a nice plug-in that you can use with "Win7Shell" to create an ATF string for title information displayed when you hover over the taskbar button.

http://nunzioweb.com/daz/ttm.html

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1909 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 22:29   #9
LudwigVonAntero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Sry about the late reply. I sort of forgot about this after I solved the problem for myself :P

Although that Win7Shell plugin is really handy, it's not really what I was looking for.
To get to the controls, you need to first hover your mouse over the pinned icon and then move your mouse over... yeah, not a big thing, but I really want to have those controls always visible.
LudwigVonAntero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 22:44   #10
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by LudwigVonAntero View Post
Sry about the late reply. I sort of forgot about this after I solved the problem for myself :P
NP, PCs are all about personal choice.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1909 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
firefox, toolbar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump