Old 15th November 2018, 20:42   #1
dynamicradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Compatibility message with Beta version

Firstly really glad to see a Beta version of Winamp after so long. I randomly check the forums every few months and thought I would check not expecting to see anything. I also never understood why people stopped using it. Even though it hadn't been updated in a while, still my favourite media player and does everything I need it to.

I have just installed the Beta over the previous version and also uninstalled/reinstalled but each time I load Winamp it tells me it is in Compatibility mode but it isn't. I have also tried both running in Administrator mode and the standard non administrator default.

Any ideas?
dynamicradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 21:01   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,440
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
what version of windows are you using?

do u have safe mode on? (the winamp one, not the windows one)

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 21:11   #3
dynamicradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
what version of windows are you using?

do u have safe mode on? (the winamp one, not the windows one)
Windows 10 minus the october 2018 update although I don't think that would make a difference. (installing that in a day or so).

Never used Winamps safe mode but had a look but it's on the normal mode at the moment.

If the new version brings Windows 10 compatibility does that mean the previous version wasn't officially compatible. I wonder if there was something left over that is still on my computer that was used for the previous version to work with Windows 10
dynamicradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 21:13   #4
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,440
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
its very odd that your 5.8 is in compatibility mode just randomly. did u check the shortcut properties?

r u sure 5.666 wasn't also in compatibility mode?

any extra plugins or skins?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 22:35   #5
dynamicradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
its very odd that your 5.8 is in compatibility mode just randomly. did u check the shortcut properties?

r u sure 5.666 wasn't also in compatibility mode?

any extra plugins or skins?
Can't remember installing any plugins but now it also seems to randomly crash. I can't remember setting any compatibility settings either.

In recently modified though I see a filename winampFLV with the album set as Plugin
dynamicradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2018, 20:59   #6
dynamicradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Still getting this issue. Have tried to uninstall and reinstall again with no luck (updated to the latest version of Windows 10 since to). I've noticed that it also crashes after a few minutes but with no messages.

Putting it in safe mode did seem to stop the crashes but also meant I couldn't listen to any music
dynamicradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2018, 22:57   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,440
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Honestly there seems to be a lot of issues, not sure they all are winamp related.

What kind of files do u have?

Try uninstalling and running ccleaner and then install winamp to c:\winamp\ which is not the default.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2018, 00:34   #8
dynamicradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Honestly there seems to be a lot of issues, not sure they all are winamp related.

What kind of files do u have?

Try uninstalling and running ccleaner and then install winamp to c:\winamp\ which is not the default.
Thanks for your help. Did think a few weeks ago about running ccleaner's registry cleaner but have not been able to get onto my PC for a few weeks as I have been working a lot. Have just done that now and installed winamp (but in the default location) and it seems to be working so thanks for helping. Need to properly use it for a bit and see but its too late now to test it. Glad its sorted as couldn't listen to anything without it crashing previously.
dynamicradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2018, 19:48   #9
dynamicradio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Honestly there seems to be a lot of issues, not sure they all are winamp related.

What kind of files do u have?

Try uninstalling and running ccleaner and then install winamp to c:\winamp\ which is not the default.
Spoke to soon. Haven't been able to get back on to the PC to properly test it. It seems so far to not crash when playing music and no compatibility issues but it seems to crash when scanning to add new music possibly due to having a large library
dynamicradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2018, 21:01   #10
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,440
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
It's most likely a file or files that winamp has a bug with when scanning. If u watch the scanning in prefs u can see what file[s] are causing the issue. Pull them out and scanning will work. Upload copies so the devs can fix the bug. Fix ur files with utilities like mp3val.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump