Old 26th March 2001, 17:09   #1
Groon3k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to Groon3k Send a message via Yahoo to Groon3k
Hello Winamp Guru's!
(my Pathetic plea for help is to get on your really good side! )

Occasionally when I start winamp I get this nice little crit box that gives me the following message.
"There is no disk in the drive. Please insert a disk into drive \Device\Harddisk1\DR1"
Then I have 3 options.
Cancel - Try Again - Continue.
Pushing any of the three get the same job done.
After clicking one the box with that pretty x pops back up and tells me the same. I can click this box seven million times and it doesn't go away! (reminds me of a famous windows error a few years ago) The only solution is to Softboot my computer (logging off or shutting down freezes up the system) No this doesn't happen ALL the time just the first time after a fresh install, and randomly after that.

I am running windows 2000 and the NTFS file system all over my drive. I have a Soundblaster Live Platinum Soundcard and 128mb of RAM. My 27Gig hard drive has 24Gigs left. And my page file is set at 450mb.
If you have any idea's Id love to hear em!
I also get a skipping effect occasionally. Where the song skips forward or backward. I assume these problems are probably linked and have to do with some of my configurations.
<<-----==|THE END|==----->>

Groon3k

Groon3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2001, 15:52   #2
Groon3k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to Groon3k Send a message via Yahoo to Groon3k
Error Resolved/Eliminated/Nutralized

The error box header had winamp and windows name in it. It said Winamp Error:Windows Disk Fail, So That may add alittle confusion to ya.

Now I'm not sure what actually CAUSED this error, however installing/reinstalling didn't help. Luckly (odd as it may sound) My Windows installation got screwed up. I had to reinstall windows. However I didn't upgrade this time I created a fresh install. And Winamp runs wonderfully Even after a total system freeze. (jeeze People reading this may think I beat the living crap outta this thing.)
So In the end I'm happy!

Thanx for Responding tho'.
L8r.
Groon3k
Groon3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2010, 17:50   #3
raggerund
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
I have a similar problem

I have a similar problem, I'm sure its because of my card reader that I get that error message.
I tried to remove plugins as suggested in the bugreport "Winamp won't let go of my card reader" http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....ght=disk+drive
That didnt help. I removed all "pmp"-plugins with explorer.
I have read about similar problems for Quicktime, that problem was fixed by editing the windows registry.
I don't know how to do with Winamp. It's very annoying because I have to use another media player if I want to edit files on my memory card, Winamp shows that error message as soon as I plug in the card reader.
I have version 5.572 of winamp and am running windows xp.
raggerund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2010, 21:06   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i've seen it happen on loading a few times (but not consistently) and it has been reported as well http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....81#post2636281 though i've not been able to track down the cause of the issue.

can you upload a copy of your plug-ins list please (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins) and i'll have to see if i can get a similar setup to figure out the cause of the issue (is usually a simple OS api call to disable such things but just have to work out where/why it happens in-order to know where to place the fix).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2010, 12:43   #5
raggerund
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
I uploaded a list of my plugins and an image of the error. I don't have to play any file. As soon as a I connect the card reader the error appears. I wonder if winamp automatically searches for files to load. I don't have card in all the slots on the card reader so all slots can't be read.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z winamp.7z (34.3 KB, 137 views)
raggerund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2010, 17:20   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i _may_ have found the cause of raggerund's (and others though the original posters issue is something else) - i've at least resolved the issue via the config dialog when scrolling through the drives listed (would throw an error for the usb device on my connected printer).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2010, 21:00   #7
hsantana
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
I have the same problem: There is no disk in drive.
Please insert a disk into drive \Device\Harddisk4\DR72

The numbers shown as '4' and '72' change frfom time to time.

It seems to be associated with the visualizer, which freezes until I click 'Ignore' exactly 8 times. Then it goes away for about 5 to 10 minutes and back again. Sound is not affected.

Really annoying.
hsantana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2010, 11:03   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the issue shouldn't have anything to do with a visualisation and it will freeze until you click on the message shown as it's blocking the skin (i'm going to assume it's a modern style skin you're using) from getting the visualisation data from the Winamp core.

as long as nothing goes wrong, the issue should be resolved for the next client release (no eta on when that'll be).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump