Old 20th October 2018, 14:24   #1
NJK
Frisian Spamfighting Mod
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,813
Improvements tips for 5.8+

as the title already says , it's all yours....

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 14:31   #2
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
as the title already says , it's all yours....
Cool Frisian fella! Thank you very much.

Hereby I would like to invite other skinners to share their tips on the current version 5.8 but this time from the "skinner-point-of-view": what is annoying, what broken and what does not work properly while creating an awesome skin.

Now this is going to be fun!

PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 15:10   #3
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
I am starting with the COLOR THEMES list:

1) This list seems not to have its own background. I have to use this "old fashioned" background="wasabi.list.background" instead of "my" background="standard.background" in the layout in order to make it visible. Otherwise it would not appear at all.

2) The column header is way too small. Yes I know I can hide it by adding the TRUE value to the XML-tag nocolheader but still, this should be as big as those ones in the Media Library. Also the scroll bars are too small. Please compare with Media Library.

3) I cannot change the size of the font. The font used here should either be dpi-aware or the same like in Playlist Editor.

4) Do we need the Color Themes option in the main context menu while there is (always) a Color Themes window?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	color themes list.png
Views:	321
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	54096  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 15:53   #4
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
A similar candidate is the Playlist Directory list:

1) I cannot change the font size.

2) The column header and scroll bars are too small.

3) Clicking on different entries leaves multiple background colors on depending on the background color (see attached screenshot).

4) the columns are never properly aligned after fresh start. I have to resize the entire window in order to have them under the corresponding tab.

5) Weird! Double click on an entry in the Color Themes window makes the colums in the Playlist Directory window jump into the proper locations beneath the tabs! (Those two lists seem to be somehow linked to each other - so I was told).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	playlist-directory.png
Views:	198
Size:	90.4 KB
ID:	54097  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2018, 19:12   #5
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Another request from my "bucket list".

I had this idea to add shadows to my skin. I started with components like Main Player, Equalizer, Spectrum Analyzer, etc ... and ended up having all six of them "shadowed". Everything went fine until I decided to move on and added alphabackground XML-tag to Winamp's standard windows: Playlist Editor, Media Library, Video and Visualization. And this is were things got ... complicated.

As soon as I added alphabackground to the layout of those windows the content vanished. But wait! It gets worse. Once the option Enable desktop alpha blending is unchecked, those windows get real holes: you can see the content of your folder or the desktop wallpaper beneath them.

Would it be possible to make those windows "alphabackground-compatible"?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	empty.png
Views:	213
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	54098   Click image for larger version

Name:	empty2.png
Views:	147
Size:	19.4 KB
ID:	54099  

Last edited by PeterK.; 20th October 2018 at 20:43.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2018, 07:18   #6
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Would you please add font() and fontsize() to edit box.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2018, 05:10   #7
Tohno_Neil
Senior Member
 
Tohno_Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 123
There are something trouble me,
double click maximize
maximize-on-top-drag

In other software, like windows explorer,
I need this function.
Tohno_Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2018, 06:14   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
I hope all of Peters excellently documented bugs get addressed, good work!

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2018, 08:20   #9
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
I hope all of Peters excellently documented bugs get addressed, good work!
I bet they all roll their eyes seeing another post from me like this:

Well, the relationship between programmer and tester was never meant to be a love story. The more they "hate" each other the better the end product. No, it is not my intention to spread hatred among us ...

... I just keep posting.

Now this was a tough cookie! For weeks I was trying to get rid of this one and failed. I am afraid the knowledge of an insider is needed here.

When I close/open a component or change color a message is sent to Main Player's display. Also when I turn Equalizer on or off. The problem is, Winamp does show the text "Equalizer On" but does not show the text "Equalizer Off". Instead I see the Preamp value. Exactly the same happens when choosing a preset: on the display the Preamp value appears.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	equalizer issue.png
Views:	100
Size:	237.2 KB
ID:	54149   Click image for larger version

Name:	equalizer issue2.png
Views:	86
Size:	231.2 KB
ID:	54150   Click image for larger version

Name:	equalizer issue3.png
Views:	88
Size:	109.3 KB
ID:	54151  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2018, 09:28   #10
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
The EasyMove option in the main context menu should be grayed out while running a Modern Skin because according to DJ Egg: "afaik, that feature/option only applies to classic skins, not modern skins. "
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	easy move.png
Views:	87
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	54153  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2018, 20:52   #11
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Here's the mapping used in classic skin.
code:
switch (ic)
{
case L'\u00B0': /*¡*/ ic = L'0'; break;
case L'\u00C6':/*®*/ case '\u00C1':/*ç*/ case '\u00C2': ic = L'A'; break;
case L'\u00C7': /*‚*/ ic = L'C'; break;
case L'\u00C9':/*ƒ*/ ic = L'E'; break;
case L'\u00E0': /*ˆ*/ case L'\u00E1': /*‡*/ case L'\u00E2': /*‰*/ ic = L'a'; break;
case L'\u00E6':/*¾*/ ic = L'a'; break;
case L'\u00E7': /**/ ic = L'c'; break;
case L'\u00E8': /**/ case L'\u00E9': /*Ž*/ case L'\u00EB': /*‘*/case L'\u00EA':/**/ ic = L'e'; break;
case L'\u00EC':/*“*/ case L'\u00ED':/*’*/ case L'\u00EE':/*”*/ case L'\u00EF':/*•*/ ic = L'i'; break;
case L'—':/*—*/ case L'˜':/*˜*/ case L'™':/*™*/ ic = L'o'; break;
case L'œ':/*œ*/ case L'':/**/ case L'ž':/*ž*/ ic = L'u'; break;
case L'Ø':/*Ø*/ ic = L'y'; break;
case L'†':/*†*/ ic = L'U'; break;
case L'\u00D1':/*„*/ ic = L'N'; break;
case L'\u00F1':/*–*/ ic = L'n'; break;
case L'\u00FC': /*Ÿ*/ ic = L'u'; break;
case L'\u0192':/*Ä*/ ic = L'f'; break;
default: break;
} // quick relocations


Perhaps an XML tag that turns on attempts to use this mapping? I will also explore using built-in win32 functions to do the conversion.

EDIT: some of these don't make sense. not sure if the symbols pasted wrong or something.
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2018, 21:03   #12
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
How can I download your skin to test these? I wasn't able to find a link in the thread in your signature.
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 06:45   #13
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benski View Post
How can I download your skin to test these? I wasn't able to find a link in the thread in your signature.
Here.

P.S. Just visit Modern Skins section.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 19:15   #14
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
According to the Winamp WIKI regarding multistate audio visualization display <vis> we actually could have two separate displays on Spectrum Analyzer, because:

"channel - (int) One of three values for which channel to monitor: "1" is left channel, "2" is right channel, "3" is stereo. Default is stereo. "

What a pity there is ALWAYS one channel. Creating two displays show: left bars movement = right bars movement => the same channel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	one channel.png
Views:	90
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	54166  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 19:29   #15
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Maybe I'm confused, but it sounds like there is always one display, not one channel. Stereo is two channels.

It would be cool to support two or more displays at once, so u could have for example one VU type meter display for each channel of sound.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 19:39   #16
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
.. Stereo is two channels.
Yes but you cannot split it into two (differently playing) channels. Either way you always end up with one channel, hence one display. Setting the channel tag to "1" (left channel) or "2" (right channel) "produce" the same bar movement = they are the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
It would be cool to support two or more displays at once, so u could have for example one VU type meter display for each channel of sound.
Exactly: left display for left channel and right display for right channel. Again, since there is only one channel creating two displays is hereby useless.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 20:12   #17
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Equalizer sliders are numbered from 0 to 9 and their values range from -127 to +127. But the range for the balance slider goes from -127 to +255. So the center is not at 0 but at 127.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 20:22   #18
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Is this just a display artifact, or does it actually affect the audio?

Also, if the range is -127 to +255, isn't 64 the center?

Total range = 127 + 255 = 382

382 ÷ 2 = 191

191 - 127 = 64

(In my view, the ranges should all be consistent, so either use 127 everywhere, or 255 everywhere, not some wacky combo. Idk if 127 or 255 is "better" or even represents actual user definable granularity in actual practical use, but mixing the numbers for ranges is sloppy and potentially damaging in practice if it actually affects channel bias without visual indication this is so)

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 20:43   #19
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Is this just a display artifact, or does it actually affect the audio?
It does not affect the audio. It just took me an evening to find out why the slider is not in the middle after setting newpos=0. And the reason is:



The center position of the balance slider has the value 127.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	balance slider.png
Views:	1071
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	54167  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2018, 20:49   #20
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Glad to hear it's only a visual issue. However, 127 mathematically speaking isn't the center of a total range of -127 to +255 nor is it even exactly half of 255, so I don't dispute the behavior u are observing, but rather I don't understand the behavior, bc it doesn't make sense on any level.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2018, 18:45   #21
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
When I assign the same y coordinate to both Songticker and Infoticker the latter one is some pixels deeper on the display.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	songticker vs infoticker.png
Views:	765
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	54170  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2018, 00:10   #22
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=398822

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 17:44   #23
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
It would be nice if we could see Album Cover while listening to a stream. There are Online Radios, which provide such service and there are players which are capable of showing those covers. Many fans "abandoned" Winamp and switched to another player just because of this feature.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 18:01   #24
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
If it's a shoutcast stream, and the broadcaster provides it, u can see artwork.

If it isn't coming from a shoutcast source tho, hard to see how winamp could do this.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 18:24   #25
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
If it's a shoutcast stream, and the broadcaster provides it, u can see artwork.
Please provide some stream links so I can see the Album Cover. Because according to this post it is not possible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
If it isn't coming from a shoutcast source tho, hard to see how winamp could do this.
On the other side if Winamp is going to be the ultimate media playing machine and state-of-the-art app the ability of showing ALL album covers from Online Radios is paramount, do you not think? It cannot be that AIMP can show them and Winamp cannot.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 18:57   #26
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
Please provide some stream links so I can see the Album Cover. Because according to this post it is not possible.
that post is from 2010.

i don't listen to many streams, but i did run one, and i worked with DrO on this feature, (i did testing and feedback).

http://wiki.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcas...-_Picture_Data

that ^ ...is bc the DSP itself, will grab the local artwork if the broadcaster has artwork to go with whatever files they are streaming out/broadcasting. thats what is meant by "in stream packet."

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=372044

Quote:
3) This version includes artwork support but requires a v2.2.x or newer version of the v2.x SHOUTcast DNAS in order to be able to use it.
& note this in the winamp 5.64 release notes:

Quote:
* Improved: [in_mp3] Shoutcast v2 in-stream artwork support (and other misc fixes)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
On the other side if Winamp is going to be the ultimate media playing machine and state-of-the-art app the ability of showing ALL album covers from Online Radios is paramount, do you not think? It cannot be that AIMP can show them and Winamp cannot.
i don't use AIMP, what is the source of the streams?

i'm just saying that depending on who is using what to broadcast, (protocol, metadata provided, etc) winamp will have a hard time figuring out what is being played and getting the right art for it. as of right now, winamp has no metadata lookups AT ALL, so i would think that has a priority. if they figure out audio-fingerprinting, maybe they could apply that to any stream as well.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 18:47   #27
PeterK.
Quinto Black CT Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 564
Please remember running a decent update on those internal icons. 70% of them are not bigger than 32x32 at 256 colors. It is 2019 in two months, Winamp desperately needs a nice series of modern icons in the range of 16x16 up to 512x512 pixel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
... i don't use AIMP, what is the source of the streams
This one for example: Radio Paradise. And a screenshot showing Album Cover while streaming. I got the picture from an ex-Winamp fan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIMP.png
Views:	155
Size:	52.9 KB
ID:	54200  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2018, 23:42   #28
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,438
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Just linking:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=453790

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2019, 10:46   #29
bgd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
My list is short:

Do not change/remove the Winamp Classic skin
Do not change the Winamp layout in any way
Refresh the icons and GUI only minimally so that they don't look blocky on 4K screens but don't change their look
Add the ability to change playback speed (e.g. something similar to the PaceMaker plugin)
Vastly improve the buit-in Winamp equalizer in terms of features and performance (iZotope Ozone for Winamp, released in 2001, is still the gold standard for me)
bgd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2019, 17:17   #30
Thermaltake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
It would be great to see again that autotag for unknown songs if that could be possible.
Thermaltake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump