Old 9th March 2006, 15:33   #1
Pixelcraft
Wildly Confused
(Major Dude)
 
Pixelcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,204
Winamp stops after each song on a playlist

Hi. So when I'm playing songs on my playlist, winamp doesn't go on the next one when one song is done playing. It just stops. And I have it on shuffle, if that matters....

"It's like saying give a man a Les Paul guitar and he becomes Eric Clapton, and of course that's not true, give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer and he doesn't become...whoever; he doesn't become us." - Roger Waters
Pixelcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2006, 15:53   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Is manual playlist advance on?...
Ctrl+P > General Preferences > Playlist > uncheck 'Manual playlist advance'

-or-

Shift+R while main/player window is in focus to toggle MPA

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2006, 16:05   #3
Pixelcraft
Wildly Confused
(Major Dude)
 
Pixelcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,204
Hey thanks, it was on....which is strange because I didn't turn it on....and nobody else in my house would since they don't ever use winamp...whatev

thanks again


"It's like saying give a man a Les Paul guitar and he becomes Eric Clapton, and of course that's not true, give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer and he doesn't become...whoever; he doesn't become us." - Roger Waters
Pixelcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2008, 22:13   #4
skott311
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Definitive Source of Problem: Ctrl + v

If you accidentally press Ctrl + v while using Winamp, that automatically changes the playlist to stop after each song is played.

Right click on the title bar of Winamp, click Playback, and you'll see what I mean.

skott311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2008, 23:08   #5
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Why are so many people having this problem? That's like the 5th thread I've seen about this. Plus the guy that was in #winamptech asking about it.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2008, 23:58   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ skott311
Are you sure? Ctrl+V is 'Stop after Current Track', it does not affect the other tracks. As already mentioned in this ½ year old thread you revived, it is Ctrl+A SHIFT+R that toggles Manual Playlist Advance

(typo fixed with thanks to J_Darnley )

@ ryan
What problem? Uses accidentally enabling MPA?

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 02:25   #7
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Quote:
@ ryan
What problem? Uses accidentally enabling MPA?
Yeah. There was a thread in GD where someone was asking about this, and before that (a few hours, I think). Someone was in #winamptech asking the same question.

It's like the 8th time I've seen someone ask about this in a week. Just seems odd.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 02:34   #8
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Whoops, I spelled "users" wrong,

Anyways, I think it is just a coincidence that several users were having this issue within short time of each other. It is not too hard to accidentally press the Shift+R shortcut key.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 04:07   #9
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
Another one!

Quote:
[10:27:25pm] <Malygris> Is there any reason why, when I try to play a directory of MP3s in Winamp 5.32, it plays the first song and then stops dead?
[10:28:01pm] <Malygris> If I change tracks while the current track is playing, the track I change to will start playing normally. But if I let the current track stop and then change to another track, Winamp will change to that track but will not play it until I press play.
[10:28:56pm] <Malygris> This behaviour began this afternoon, and is the first time I've seen it happen. I've been using this particular installation of Winamp for quite a long time now, and have made no changes to any settings or added new plugins.
[10:40:51pm] <@ryan> No... way.
[10:40:53pm] <@ryan> Yes
[10:41:07pm] <@ryan> Ctrl P > Playlist > Uncheck manual advance.
[10:44:21pm] <Malygris> No way?
[10:44:42pm] <Malygris> Ah. I see.
[10:45:16pm] <Malygris> Not that I'm looking to shift the blame, but is there any way I could've accidentally turned that option on, through an odd key combo or something?
[10:46:52pm] <Malygris> Well. Gosh, do I feel stupid.
[10:48:05pm] <Malygris> Why would anyone include an option like that in the first place?
[10:48:18pm] <Malygris> Anyway, thanks. Much appreciated.
[10:48:23pm] <@ryan> shift r
[10:48:25pm] <@ryan> I'm not sure.
[10:48:31pm] <@ryan> I don't know
[10:48:34pm] <@ryan> It's kind of useless
[10:48:47pm] <@ryan> You're like the 40th person this week I've seen ask that question.
[10:49:00pm] <Malygris> That actually makes me feel better.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 12:32   #10
Alfador
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming to theaters near you!
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Alfador Send a message via Yahoo to Alfador
I've had friends ask me the very same question. It seems to me like the hotkey combo for it is a little too commonplace for other apps and a little to easy to accidentally hit. Maybe some kind of confirmation dialogue would be a good idea, with a "don't ask me again" box for people who would make use of it (not sure why anyone would but hey, to each his own).
Alfador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 20:30   #11
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,626
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
Well I can't get the Ctrl + V hotkey for "Stop after current" to work but that could be a conflict with my other plugins. Anyway, If I manually enable that setting it unchecks its self once the track has ended and playback was stoppped.

Ah, it seems to only work from in the playlist editor, which I found odd as "Stop after current" is a playback feature but it can already be done with the stop button.

Or are you talking about the Shift + R hotkey? I'll grant you that is an obscure one and it took me till a track change to notice what it was doing (adding tracks to the JTF queue). That could definitely confuse lots but then I have never managed to press Shift + R in the playlist till now.

I couldn't get this one to work in the main window either but then my same comment about using Shift + R still applies. Since the thread is a year old, was this removed?

As for Ctrl + A, when has that ever turned on Manual Playlist Advance? All it does in the main window is toggle always on top an then the PE it select all like it is supposed to do.

Sorry, what was this thread about again?

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 20:54   #12
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Whoops, my bad. That should have been Shift+R (not Ctrl+A). Anyways, with thanks to you I have edited my post.

As for the shortcuts not working in the main window, do you notice that with other shortcuts? What is your video card? That is a known issue with nVidia's nView. So, if that is the case with you. Go to JTF preferences, click on the Misc... tab and checkmark 'Attempt to fix compatibility issues with nView'
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 21:44   #13
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,626
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
I know of the nView issue and I am probably experiencing it, but I don't think it is a problem for me. However, for the sake of testing, I will try the fix and disabling nView to see if that changes the behaviour.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 02:04   #14
norman1nz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
I had the exact same problem...
I have no idea how this got ticked as nobody ticked it in preferences, and I can't see how i used the SHIRT+R shortcut.
The only thing i could see causing it was when i right clicked the stop button and selected 'on end of queue'...
I then spent AGES messing around with the right-click>stop menu to try get it off.
Hells bells i even resorted to using windows media player for an annoying 15 minutes after manually advancing my playlist all day for about 3days...

I also tried resetting my profile but think this is a global setting (im set to winamp settings for all users).

I agree with Alfador:
Some kind of confirmation dialogue would be a good idea, with a "don't ask me again" box for people who would make use of it (not sure why anyone would but hey, to each his own).
Amen
norman1nz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump