Old 17th September 2003, 03:32   #1
UltraZelda64
Senior Member
 
UltraZelda64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Posts: 390
ASAPI or no ASAPI?

I have Windows XP Professional, and haven't used ASAPI as my CD reading method for years (since I upgraded from 9x). I was on a site earlier that says that even on NT/XP, ASAPI is the recommended method for ripping CDs. I don't have ASAPI installed (a pain trying to find a newer version without file conflicts). Is there really a difference in quality when ripping audio? Or what? What I do know, though, is that it's just an alternate way of reading CDs. But is it anything major? A site I was at earlier made me wonder, a site that explains the best ways to use EAC. I use EAC, and so far haven't noticed any problems with my files without the ASAPI files.
UltraZelda64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2003, 06:30   #2
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
I've been wondering the same thing for quite some time too.
I don't have ASAPI installed, and I use Winamp to rip, and it rips awsome copys. Although it does take 3 minutes to rip a song, for me anyways, which sucks. I could download at least 10 songs with K++ in that ammount of time, lol.
Lately I did install the newest version of ASAPI to see if there was a difference, but ended up not being able to rip anymore, so I uninstalled it.
So basicly, I've been wondering if it is important or better, etc. etc. Or if it's better without it.
net-cruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2003, 19:41   #3
UltraZelda64
Senior Member
 
UltraZelda64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Posts: 390
"So basicly, I've been wondering if it is important or better, etc. etc. Or if it's better without it."

Yep, same here. I've always used CDex or EAC in secure mode, with what I think are the best options, and just now wonder if ASAPI really is any better since I read that page.
UltraZelda64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2003, 01:13   #4
TypicalSloan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maine
Posts: 11
I was wondering that very same thing today.

My question is does it matter if the aspi u use is somewhat old? I just used the one from nero5 cause i couldnt get any of the newer ones to work.
TypicalSloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2003, 02:15   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,074
The Adaptec ASPI layer should only be installed on Win9x/ME systems, not on Win2k/XP.
On Win2k/XP, you can place the wnaspi32.dll file in the System32 dir
and tell the relevant program to use it instead of the Native WinNT SPTI Library (eg. in CDex options, uncheck "Use Native WinNT Library").
afaik, Winamp will use wnaspi32.dll by default if present.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2003, 23:51   #6
UltraZelda64
Senior Member
 
UltraZelda64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Posts: 390
Okay, thanks. I've had the ASAPI install file for a long time now, never really used it, and I'll probably just delete it.
UltraZelda64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump