Old 9th February 2006, 23:29   #1
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
DirectSound Output Error

OK, I'll start off saying that I've checked my sound driver over and over. I'm on the third reinstall of the driver so its not that.
I've been getting the same error over and over and over... well, everytime I try to play any form of media file.

Here's the error:
Quote:
DirectSound output v2.42 (d) error
Bad DirectSound driver. Please install proper drivers or select another device in configuration.
Error code: 88780078
In DxDiag, everything for DirectSound and DirectMusic works. I dunno what past that I can really say...

Can anybody help me out any? Anything at all?

Sound Card: Dynex 5.1-Channel PCI (DX-SC5.1)
http://www.dynex*************/p-190-d...ound-card.aspx
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2006, 23:55   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
See the following post...
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....90#post1617490

If you continue to have troubles, please post a reply with additional system specs. If you need to reply please reply to your thread here and not to the one(s) linked to. Thanks and good luck.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 01:55   #3
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
No Dice

Well, I went through the Winamp prefs. My DirectSound settings are set to "Primary Sound Driver" (only option) -> From there, in the Windows CP, the sound settings all point to my sound card (Dynex 5.1 PCI) but my sfx card CP shows the sound card as an Envy24HF - The only company that I could find that had a card listed as the Envy24 was VIA Tech. (Vinyl ENVY Audio ControlPanel Software)

Quote:
PC Specs.
HP Pavilion 762c (been added to and modded)
Win XP Pro SP2
MSI MS-6507E (MicroATX)
Pentium4A 2.267Ghz (Northwood core)
512MB of PC2100 DDR (133Mhz clocked)
NVIDIA GeForce 6200OC AGP 8x (256MB)
Dynex 5.1 Surround PCI (ENVY24 Family Audio)
DirectX v9.0c
Winamp
Version 5.13 (Jan30 build)
Install Type: Full with that eMusic add-on

Sound Card shows up as "WDM Multimedia" device type...

When looking at my DirectX Sound in EVEREST Home Edition, it show my ENVY24HF and Primary Sound Driver as two seperate entities but they have the exact same stamps and stats. Not a difference... I completley dunno about that other than that could be just DirectX showing them as two seperate ones for no real reason.
If you need any more info, hopefull I can provide it promptly.

Yep, pretty much dunno. Exact same error still, no change. I'm resorting to WMP for my entertainment.. please help... for the sake of all things Open-Source.. please help...
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 02:06   #4
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
Oh, I'm having issues with my login. I'll stay logged in along as I use FireFox. Thank goodness for cookies...
"No Such User!" & "Invalid Password Provided!"
*sigh* Oh well...
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 19:27   #5
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
I know you have tried reinstalling the sound driver, However have you tried updating the soundcard driver?

Also, try a full uninstall > reinstall (AKA clean install) of Winamp.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 20:46   #6
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
I've done a reinstall of my sound driver twice Completely removed it, restarted pc, reinstalled. I did over-write it the first time through without a restart to see what that would do and didnt progress anywhere. *sigh*

I'm going to try a complete uninstall and reinstall to see if that makes any progress.... and damnit I hope it does...

Thanks for all your help so far. That's why I use Winamp, anything goes wrong, you guys help.

*edit* My mistake, I did not restart my PC after removing my sound driver. Durrr...

Last edited by SSEmpire; 10th February 2006 at 21:07.
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 21:08   #7
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
Awwwww.... Nuts

Well, the verdict is in. It's not Winamp. I did a complete uninstall and reinstall (no restart), ran Winamp without adding anything I backed up and it gave me the dreaded DirectSound output v2.42 (d) error.

*sigh* I'm going to try my sound driver once more, complete removal. Just to see if that will do anything. Bah, it's worth a shot. Here's hoping I can get back to my favorite media player.

SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 21:44   #8
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
Well, *cusses*

I removed my sound driver, restarted pc, and Windows found the audio hardware and installed the Windows base audio drivers. Ran Winamp and attempted to play the 'catch-phrase' audio file... same damn error.

My surround sound didnt work so I installed my audio drivers, did a restart, and tried Winamp again.... ERROR.

Bah, the last thing I could think of would be a key in the registry is screwing it up. I really dont want to tamper with the Registry incase one key gets altered or deleted that shouldnt have.

If you have anything past that, I'll gladly attempt it within reason.
Thanks for the help none the less, WMP will just have to do for now.
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 19:44   #9
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
I am running out of ideas. Please provide a Hijack This log. Download links for HjT and posting instructions are provided in the system specs link. It may take awhile before someone has a chance to evaluate the HjT log and make the proper recommendations.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 02:55   #10
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
Wdf?

Well, I havent been on the computer for a few days but today I decided to try something. I still dont have HiJackThis installed though.... But I did install the old version of Winamp (v5.12 KornRadioEdit bundle).
Well, it worked. My sound card showed up in the DirectSound settings, everything that should be there.. was.
Thinking I might get lucky with updating v5.13... I installed it over v5.12. Well, that didnt work so good.
I rolled v5.12 over v5.13 and it worked.

I'm just going to install v5.12 again for now and see if a new download of v5.13 helps any.


DirectSound output settings
Device Info box
"Certified: yes, emulated: no
Supports sample rates from 5000 Hz to 96000 Hz (continuous)
Hardware memory: N/A
Hardware mixing: supported, 62 free streams (64 max)
Speaker setup: 5.1"
checkedAllow Hardware Acceleration
not checked Create Primary Buffer

Bout all I got right now. Best Wishes.
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2006, 22:28   #11
jeffy777
Major Dude
 
jeffy777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 632
Crap, I'm having this same problem on my Windows 2003 box.

I installed the lastest drivers for the onboard sound, and the sound device shows up properly in Device Manager (C-Media AC97 Audio), but when I go to the Control Panel >> Sounds & Audio Devices >> Audio Tab, The only thing that's there is the "Microsoft RDP Audio Device" and that doesn't have DirectSound. However, when I click on the Hardware tab, I can see the C-Media there.

If I go into Winamp >> Plug-ins >> Output >> double click 'DirectSound output' it shows "Primary Sound Driver" in the drop down, but then below in the Device Info is says:

"error getting device info
(device in use ?)"


Please help!
jeffy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 03:36   #12
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
Well, I installed v5.2 and I no longer get the error.

But I did have the same error
Quote:
"error getting device info
(device in use ?)"
Hopefully any of what was posted can help you.
Best of Luck,
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 03:44   #13
jeffy777
Major Dude
 
jeffy777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 632
It's resolved now, a different driver was what I needed
jeffy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2006, 03:45   #14
SSEmpire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Within six feet of the computer
Posts: 9
glad to hear
Thank goodness for all those freakn drivers out there.

Go Winamp!
SSEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2008, 00:16   #15
BluffLess
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by SSEmpire
Well, I installed v5.2 and I no longer get the error.

But I did have the same error


Hopefully any of what was posted can help you.
Best of Luck,
Hi
I've got the same problem as well. Been trying to fix it for almost 2 weeks now going through forum to forum.

What driver did you install and where did you obtain it from?
BluffLess is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump