Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th December 2002, 08:13   #1
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Arrow Keep NSIS Updated! Bleeding Edge Installer Development.

I just wanted to let you hardcore NSIS fans I have wrote a program to keep NSIS updated and it was written with NSIS its self. I hope that you will find it as useful as I do. It has automated backups, sheduled updates and a builtin updatecheck to make sure that the updated says update.



Check out the NSIS Update website for more information:
http://nsisupdate.phpinr.com/
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2002, 11:38   #2
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
It downloads nightly build....
Too bad, I hoped it will do CVS of newest files and not redownload non-updated ones.
But, anyway.... Nice idea.

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2002, 14:42   #3
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
It's much better to download a CVS client like TortoiseCVS. This will make sure that you download only the updated parts of the files and you always get the latest stuff.
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2002, 20:47   #4
Dick4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 85
I like it...easier than going through the trouble of setting up the CVS program...thanks!
Dick4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2002, 21:04   #5
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
TortoiseCVS is completely Windows integrated. You don't need to know any CVS commands. You only have to set the name of the server once and everything is set up.
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2002, 21:53   #6
Dick4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 85
I set it up, wasn't too bad...but gives me this error:

In C:\NSIS2: cvs -q checkout -P CVSROOT
CVSROOT=server:anonymous@cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/nsis

cvs checkout: in directory .:
cvs [checkout aborted]: *PANIC* administration files missing

Error, CVS operation failed



This is my setup:




Don't really care enough to fight with it...I think it worked the first time and hasnt' worked since


As far as this program, works ok except I'd ask that it allow me to choose the NSIS path I wish (I keep 2 copies of NSIS installed, one B0 and one a7). This defaults and overwrites my a7 one because that's the one that is "installed" and not just "unzipped"
Dick4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2002, 22:30   #7
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
The CVS Server is cvs.nsis.sourceforge.net

The final version of beta 0 has been released, so I recommend you to use that version. You can download it from http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/n...0.exe?download
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 00:36   #8
Dick4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 85
I plan to update to b0 but I have to finish converting my scripts that use the new interface over to reflect the changes made


And thanks for the info on CVS Checkout...I'll try that.

*edit* maybe someone can edit kichik's post or make an updated "how to" for the CVS? Its linked from the FAQ post to here:http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=102204
Dick4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 01:34   #9
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Exclamation New Version Soon!

Quote:
Originally posted by Joost Verburg
It's much better to download a CVS client like TortoiseCVS. This will make sure that you download only the updated parts of the files and you always get the latest stuff.
The new version will use CVS to get the newest files. I am working on it now and it should be released within the next day. You will be able to run UpdateCheck and update if NSISUpdate is installed.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 15:41   #10
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Dick4, you forgot to specify the module as NSIS... It's in the screen shot that is linked to from the FAQ. The text box only moved down in the new version.

Techkid, it's a really nice idea.

A few problems I have noticed are:
  • You use at.exe to sechdule a task which only works with Windows NT.
  • You are using the zlib/libpng license even though your program isn't open-source.
  • You didn't mention anywhere that the NSIS version it is downloading is a development version

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 15:41   #11
Dick4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 85
Joost, is there still something wrong with my settings becuase even after changing the server I can't get CVS Checkout to work
Dick4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 15:42   #12
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
The server was right, the module was wrong.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 16:02   #13
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Both servers work. So with the good module name, it should be fine.
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 16:04   #14
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Both cvs.nsis.sf.net and cvs.sf.net work.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 16:41   #15
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Exclamation NSIS Update v1.1 Released

I just released version 1.1 it uses the cvs server and does a cvs update at cvs.nsis.sourceforge.net. It is smaller than the orginal package. I also fixed a few bugs. I think that you will find this a better release.

You can go to http://nsisupdate.phpinr.com and update or if you have NSIS Update install just go to Update Check on the start menu under NSIS Update.

Let me know what you think!
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 19:10   #16
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
Works nice! Thanks!
Wow...
This program maybe should be on NSIS Development page.

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 19:20   #17
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
Spoke to soon.
It doesn't update it rigth.
It compiles downloaded, then setup doesn't start.

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 00:35   #18
Dick4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 85
yup, changed the module and it works perfectly now...thanks!
Dick4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 09:02   #19
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Quote:
Originally posted by kichik
Dick4, you forgot to specify the module as NSIS... It's in the screen shot that is linked to from the FAQ. The text box only moved down in the new version.

Techkid, it's a really nice idea.

A few problems I have noticed are:
  • You use at.exe to sechdule a task which only works with Windows NT.
  • You are using the zlib/libpng license even though your program isn't open-source.
  • You didn't mention anywhere that the NSIS version it is downloading is a development version
Kichik,
I pretty sure that at.exe is install with ie5 with win98 because that is when the schedule tasks appeared on my computer. I use windows xp and it works fine but it was build on NT. I am going to check on my dads computer this morning to see if it exists. if you have better ideals let me know.

Where am i using the zlib/libpng license at? and the src is availible to the public per request until i get my cvs server up.

The last not no it doesnt say that is downloading the last dev version. That was kinda implied 'Keep NSIS Updated! Bleeding Edge Installer Development' but i will make it known that you are about to download a dev version.

Please if you have more question comments let me know or if you want to help let me that too.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 09:05   #20
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Quote:
Originally posted by RIV@NVX
Spoke to soon.
It doesn't update it rigth.
It compiles downloaded, then setup doesn't start.
RIV@NVX,
I fixed it slipped in when i was fixing another bug.
download version 1.2 and it works just fine!

http://nsisupdate.phpinr.com/downloads.html
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 09:22   #21
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Exclamation NSIS Update version 1.2

Okay NSIS Update v1.2 is out it is 177k and it is a required update if you plan to use it since there was a cripling bug in v1.1. This bug is fixed and now downloads CVS, Builds, and Installs NSIS CVS Build.

You can also add this is the nsisconfig.ini under [Configuration]:
ClearCache=1

This will delete the CVS folder after install is complete.

Please update and post your thoughts and ideals they do count.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 09:25   #22
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Exclamation NSIS Update v1.2 Released

Okay NSIS Update v1.2 is out it is 177k and it is a required update if you plan to use it since there was a cripling bug in v1.1. This bug is fixed and now downloads CVS, Builds, and Installs NSIS CVS Build.

You can also add this is the nsisconfig.ini under [Configuration]:
ClearCache=1

This will delete the CVS folder after install is complete.

Please update and post your thoughts and ideals they do count.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 11:05   #23
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
I would like rather to leave cache
But, when you update from CVS, and update later in the same cache, does it update only older files or downloads everything?

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 11:15   #24
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
RIV@NVX

It does do a CVS Update this means it doesnt change the files unless they have been updated.

ClearCache=1 allow the people that have fast connects and dont want to waste space a why to automatic delete the files.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 12:31   #25
AndiG
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 36
Unhappy

NSIS Update 1.2 says "You have the current version", although I don't have NSIS installed at all.

Installer crashed at the end, while downloading TCVS

Cheers,
Andi
AndiG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 13:20   #26
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Quote:
Originally posted by AndiG
NSIS Update 1.2 says "You have the current version", although I don't have NSIS installed at all.

Installer crashed at the end, while downloading TCVS

Cheers,
Andi
Hello AndiG,

I havent had any problems with it crashing but if it did i need to know what OS, programs running, was it downloading TVCS or was it waiting for you to install TCVS, have you reboot and then reinstalled what the message was when it crashed.

if you got the message "You have the current version' you where runing UpdateCheck this checks to see if there are any new updates to the program hints NSIS Update v1.3 so the software was installed.

If you are trying to update NSIS then you need to run NSIS Update.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 16:26   #27
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Quote:
I pretty sure that at.exe is install with ie5 with win98 because that is when the schedule tasks appeared on my computer. I use windows xp and it works fine but it was build on NT. I am going to check on my dads computer this morning to see if it exists. if you have better ideals let me know.
Both of my Windows 98 machines with Internet Explorer 6 have no at command.

Quote:
Where am i using the zlib/libpng license at? and the src is availible to the public per request until i get my cvs server up.
You copied the license from NSIS and changed the copyright name. The license NSIS uses is zlib/libpng. All of the 3 points at the bottom of the license is about open source... Just made me wonder

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 17:20   #28
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
RE: kichik

Thanks for the info on the AT command. If you know what the command line scheduler is it would be apprecated.

I am interested in what you think of the program version 1.2 is out and it if fixes the install bug.

If you have any ideals or suggestions I would like to know.

I did find a bug with MUI if you check both RUN and Show readme it doesnt show the readme. thoguht someone should know.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 18:07   #29
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Thanks. I will fix that MUI bug very soon.
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 18:45   #30
mcgarrah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mcgarrah
Is source included with NSIS Update?
mcgarrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 20:03   #31
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
CVS updating works strange - it doesn't skip older files, but it redownloads them adding ? to their icon...
Strange.

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 01:18   #32
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Quote:
Originally posted by RIV@NVX
CVS updating works strange - it doesn't skip older files, but it redownloads them adding ? to their icon...
Strange.
Yes that was a technical flaw in version 1.1 - 1.2 to make TortoiseCVS update files i have to create the Root, Repository, Entries File.

With me so far, the Entries has a list of Files & Directories and there status. those files where need to be in the NSIS folder under CVS. the old version 1.1 and 1.2 copied a blank Entries file over everytime. this is before I knew was i was doing as if i know now!

In the new version that will be release real soon maybe as soon as tomorrow features a lot of new checks as with the CVS Entries file. This check detect if the file exists and if not it creates it.

Now back to the ? mark problem, the Entries was overwritten everytime so the CVS thought that there was a error and moved and download a new version everytime. this means that everytime NSIS Update was ran it update the file in the root NSIS directory.

With the new version the check detect the file and doesnt override the Entries and it just does a cvs update. This mean if you ran NSIS Update 2 times in a row on the second time it wouldnt update any files because the Entries file was correct and the version matched.

I hope I didnt Confuse you!

I am really sorry about doing that I am trying to intergrate my program into a program I new nothing about until yesterday. I have spend the last 14hours working on fixing all the little bugs that bugged me including that one. I guess I thought no one would see that. I just that doesnt make me less of a person. Just foolish

Check the website or check the Forum on news about the 1.3 release!
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 09:17   #33
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
OK...
Looking foward to see new version...

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 14:53   #34
mcgarrah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mcgarrah
I found the original post that said to ask for the source code and you'd forward it to folks who ask.

I'm kind of interested in how you've done this.
mcgarrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 22:09   #35
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Quote:
Originally posted by mcgarrah
I found the original post that said to ask for the source code and you'd forward it to folks who ask.

I'm kind of interested in how you've done this.
Yes mcgarrah, I plan to have the source online soon, well it is online but you will beable to get to the cvs when I release version 1.3 which will be released tonight or tommorrow. depends on if i go party tonight or not. chances if i party it wont be tonight.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 22:57   #36
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
You will have to write a plug-in that will use ITaskScheduler to schedule tasks on Windows 9x.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 19:09   #37
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Arrow NSIS Update v1.3 Released

Okay NSIS Update v1.3 is ready and it has a whole slew of features. I fixed all the bugs that I know of and I have been in the forums everyday looking at things people where have problems with. I this is a must update release!

Check out the NSIS Update Website for more details on the new featues and bug fixes. I hope you enjoy this release and please, please tell me what you think.

http://nsisupdate.phpinr.com/

Please use this thread as this on was accident!
The Offical Thread of NSIS Update is here
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 19:11   #38
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
NSIS Update v1.3 Released

Okay NSIS Update v1.3 is ready and it has a whole slew of features. I fixed all the bugs that I know of and I have been in the forums everyday looking at things people where have problems with. I this is a must update release!

Check out the NSIS Update Website for more details on the new featues and bug fixes. I hope you enjoy this release and please, please tell me what you think.

http://nsisupdate.phpinr.com/
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 19:52   #39
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
Filesize: 177 bytes
In downloads section - typo.
Testing, will report soon.

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 21:58   #40
Techkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Techkid Send a message via Yahoo to Techkid
Arrow Important NoteAbout Release v1.3

If you downloaded version 1.3 between 12am-4pm today you need to uninstall NSIS and NSIS Update. Download the new 1.3 from the website and install. There is no need to remove TortoiseCVS this is just a issue with the installer that happened to slip in.

The is from NSIS Update creating the NSIS install path key. so NSIS is installed on top of NSIS Update script make break and the cause panic!

I am sorry about this but it has been fixed.
Techkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump