Old 20th December 2001, 23:01   #1
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
line in ------> mp3

I have been messing with recording a very large audio file from a line in directly to mp3. I can hear from the line in and record to a mp3 but not do both at the same time. any help??
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2001, 23:10   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,099
The only reason why you wouldn't be able to play and record at the same is if your soundcard is really old and is not full duplex.

To see if your card is full duplex, goto:
System CP -> Device Manager -> Sound...Controllers -> soundcard -> properties
In the settings tab, there should be an option to: enable full duplex operation.
If not, then you need to invest in a new soundcard.

Further tips on line-in to MP3 with Winamp:

From: TSGH -> Useful Links

RE: Recording to WAV or MP3 via the Line-in
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=31003 [mp3]
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=26533 [wav]

Alternatively, use CDex (latest beta)
Tools menu -> Record from analog linein
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2001, 23:13   #3
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
i don't think it is my sound card i have a sound blaster live.
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2001, 23:25   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,099
Where SBLive's are concerned, never say never.
Make sure you have the correct & latest drivers for your OS

SBLive/Audigy related issues:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=49692 (gen_nomad.dll)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=50447 (ctmp3.acm)
http://alive.singnet.com.sg/tech/click.htm

Latest drivers: 1 | 2 | 3
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2001, 23:32   #5
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
ok i have done all this already. i havce the latest driver and don't have any codec problems are far as i can tell. every thing works find by it self but when i test the line-in's file it is not there.
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2001, 23:37   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,099
...and you followed that link I posted above re: line-in to MP3 with Winamp?
Have you installed Jasper Gronde's Line plugin yet?
And if so, have you read the readme.txt which comes with it?
This explains how to use it, command line & options, etc etc.
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2001, 23:41   #7
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
yes i read all that yesterday. I've got the Jasper Gronde plug-in lastest versionhttp://home.hccnet.nl/th.v.d.gronde/...WA2/index.html
and i am using the Chun-Yu's MP3 writer plug-in. i have also tried the disk writer to test a .wav and another plug-in for .wma but it still doesn't work.

If it helps:
550 AMD K6-2
340 MB SD PC-100 Ram
SB Live
Win 2k Pro with all updates
Line in from Sony Receiver

Last edited by heezer7; 21st December 2001 at 00:04.
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2001, 01:07   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,099
Well, the line:// command should work ok, certainly does for me.
I've never heard of Chun-Yu's MP3 Output plugin, maybe try the Nullsoft one, or Peter's (PP) MP3Out instead?

Links here
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2001, 03:31   #9
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
ok this is just getting to be a pain in the butt. I got the Output plugin Nullsoft one doesn't work but would be bad becaus only encodes to 56kbps. Peter's (PP) MP3Out did nothing either. i can use all of them when not using line-in though. very weird. still cannot even write out a .wav.
any other crazy ideas??
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2001, 03:43   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,099
I'm still not sure why you can't get the line:// command to work with Jasper Gronde's plugin. You are using the line:// command (in the Open Location box - Ctrl+L) as explained in the accompanying txt file, not the linein:// command?

And the linein is selected in Windows Volume Control -> Recording properties?


ps. check your PM List
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2001, 03:53   #11
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
ok i am just stupid. i have been using the linein:// command and not the line:// command. all this trouble over my dumb mistake. LOL!!
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2001, 04:02   #12
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
ok new problem. winamp locks up when trying to stopping it. also the file comes out really fuzzy when there is talking but not when silent. the fun continues.
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2001, 04:33   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,099
oh bloody hell

which mp3 output are you using?
Have you configured it correctly?

Did you install the codec? (see PM I sent you)
Works beautifully with the Nullsoft plugin

Also, are you using a good quality input lead/cable?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2001, 06:19   #14
heezer7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, IL, USA
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to heezer7
Just thought i would let everyone know that everything went ok. i recorder the concert today. it ended up being 600mb and 7 hrs long. everything worked great. thanks for all the help.
heezer7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump