Old 13th October 2007, 22:52   #1
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
No Burn button!

Hi everybody,

I am getting a little bit fustrated with this button. I have spent many hours reading about this problem and I tried lots of things but nothing worked.

Please help!

First of all I do not have a burning/ripping option on the left pane. If I insert a music cd, I can rip it fine, and when I insert a blank CD is the rip button is there and no burn button.

I attached a jpg to show all the option I have on the pane.

Thank you in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg winamp.jpg (80.9 KB, 914 views)
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2007, 23:43   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
That usually means the Sonic Burning Engine wasn't installed.

Information Required: 1. HJT log, plus 2. List Of Plugins
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 03:24   #3
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
No Burn button!

I just purchased and installed Winamp version 5.5.
I attached two files with all the system information. I try to output the plugins into a text file but it won't do it. I made a jpg instead.

Thank for your fast response.

Warm regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg plugins.jpg (91.7 KB, 685 views)
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 03:26   #4
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
No Burn button!

For some reason it did not load the DxDiag.txt file the first time. Please see attached!

Warm regards
Attached Files
File Type: txt dxdiag.txt (43.6 KB, 642 views)
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 04:32   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Please follow the instructions and attach 1) a HijackThis.log, and 2) a "List Of Plugins" (my_plugin_list.txt) as generated by the One For Nunz plugin, with both of the two logs in one zip file.

Thanks for the dxdiag log, but I didn't need to see it....

Basically, my_plugins_list.txt will show us if the Sonic Engine is installed/loaded, or not, and the HJT log will show us if there's any other burning software running that may be causing a conflict and preventing Winamp's Sonic Engine from installing/loading.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 04:51   #6
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
It does not write the file. I looked in C:\Program Files\Winamp and C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins and it is not there. I did a search on my computer for my_plugin_list.txt and it did not find it. Did you see the plugins.jpg above though?

Thank a lot for your time and help!
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 09:39   #7
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,626
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
I'm sure DJ Egg did look at the picture that doesn't show anything about the rest of the Winamp setup. You can make the One For Nunz plugin open the text file once it has been generated and that should tell you where it is plus you can just copy and paste it then if you still can't find it.

Unless you post what DJ Egg has asked you for we will not be able to help.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 13:34   #8
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
No Burn Button!

I finally got it! See attached!

Thank you guys!
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (6.1 KB, 949 views)
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 13:47   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Still no HijackThis log?

The list of plugins shows that primosdk.dll is present but no loaded.
This means that you need to reinstall Winamp 5.5 and make sure "Sonic Ripping/Burning Support" is checkmarked in the Installer Options.

Make sure you close other programs first, especially any that might manage/control CD Drives, including any in the system tray (I can't be more specific without seeing the HJT log).

Then reboot.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 14:39   #10
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
No Burn button!

Please see attached a hijackthis log file.

Warm regards,
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (7.8 KB, 713 views)
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 14:43   #11
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Byt the way, I forgot to mention that I uninstalled it then reinstalled it and restarted. Still the same.
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 14:45   #12
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
When you uninstalled, reinstalled, and restarted, did you make sure "Sonic Ripping/Burning Support" was checkmarked in the Installer Options, as Egg asked you to do above?

btw... I'm sure that Egg or someone else will look at your HijackThis log shortly.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 14:54   #13
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
No Burn button!

Please see attached!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img1.jpg (85.2 KB, 582 views)
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 14:56   #14
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
No Burn button!

And another one!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img2.jpg (86.9 KB, 539 views)
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:01   #15
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
OK. Very good. Someone should be along to examine your HijackThis log shortly to determine if there's any other burning software running that may be causing a conflict and preventing Winamp's Sonic Engine from installing/loading (as Egg mentioned above).
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:14   #16
Liviu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Thank you!
Liviu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 17:05   #17
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmm, everything looks ok...

And the problem persists even after a reboot?

[Edit]

I'm really not sure what could be causing the problem.
Still, this does not mean that it won't be looked into...
it could be a system-specific ml_disc related bug, heh.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 19:25   #18
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
I'm having this exact same problem. When I insert a blank CD, Winamp 5.5 reports that there is "No CD", and I cannot burn anything to a blank disc.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 21:27   #19
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
I'm getting headway on this.

Luckily, I always keep a backup directory of my Winamp folder from Program Files before I do any type of installation. This means I have a backup of all plugins.

The problem is stemming from the Nullsoft Rip & Burn plugin (ml_disc.dll). The new one is version 1.2. I deleted that and replaced it with the old one, ml_disc.dll version 1.14, and restarted Winamp. The burn button now comes back, but it won't burn and throws an error.
So, again, there is a problem or conflict with the ml_disc.dll on the new Winamp.

Ironically, I tried Winamp 5.5 on another computer, and it works fine (without replacing any of the ml_disc.dll)!!!

So there is most likely a conflict somewhere.

Hope this helps.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 01:41   #20
kazooba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
I am having these same problems, I tried rebooting, reinstalling and a clean uninstall and then reinstalling, but still have no option to burn anything, just ripping. Please help.
kazooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 01:48   #21
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
I myself tried everything; uninstalling, rebooting, messing around in the registry, EVERYTHING. I got sick and tired of it and reverted back to the previous version, where everything works perfectly.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 01:51   #22
kazooba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
How can I revert back to the previous version?
kazooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 01:52   #23
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
By uninstalling the new one, of course, and then reinstalling the old one.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 02:16   #24
kazooba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Where can I get a copy of 5.35, it seems the only download available is 5.5, unfortunately I did not save 5.35
kazooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 02:19   #25
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Google is your friend.

http://filehippo.com/download_winamp/?2672
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 02:28   #26
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Please can we see a screenshot of the root Rip & Burn view, when a blank disc is in?

If the drive(s) isn't/aren't grouped under the Rip & Burn parent node, then go to:

Winamp 5.5 > Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Media Library (on left) > Tree Options tab (on right)
and checkmark "Group CD/DVD drives under the 'Rip & Burn' parent".

Then close Prefs, go back to the Media Library window,
click the 'Rip & Burn' item in the ML tree,
click the icon for the Available Drive with the blank CD in,
and take a screenshot of it (the info in the right pane)
and attach it to your post (see my attached example).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rip_burn_root_info.jpg (95.3 KB, 678 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 02:32   #27
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Please can we see a screenshot of the root Rip & Burn view, when a blank disc is in?

If the drive(s) isn't/aren't grouped under the Rip & Burn parent node, then go to:

Winamp 5.5 > Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Media Library (on left) > Tree Options tab (on right)
and checkmark "Group CD/DVD drives under the 'Rip & Burn' parent".

Then close Prefs, go back to the Media Library window,
click the 'Rip & Burn' item in the ML tree,
click the icon for the Available Drive with the blank CD in,
and take a screenshot of it (the info in the right pane)
and attach it to your post (see my attached example).
I uninstalled 5.5, but I can tell you this with an absolute certainty. I'm assuming in your screenshot that you are running 5.5. Well, in my case, and the same with all these users, The little tab that you have there that says "Rip & Burn" doesn't exist at all. The drives are just listed there.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 02:36   #28
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yes, that's because the option I referred to is unchecked by default, heh.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 02:43   #29
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Yes, that's because the option I referred to is unchecked by default, heh.
Heh. Saw that after I posted.

Here's what you asked for.
Attached Images
File Type: gif drives.gif (17.6 KB, 537 views)
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 04:10   #30
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Just for your information, I did more research on this.

I thought it was probably a rogue component of the Sonic engine. I went here, which shows all the file names of the Sonic Runtime engine included with the Winamp install.

http://www.winamp.com/support/help/5...namp.htm#sonic

Here's what I did. I painstakingly replaced all the files, one by one, with the exact same files from a computer that is KNOWN WORKING FINE with Winamp 5.5 (CD Burn option is available). This made no difference.

This rules out the problem being something in the Sonic engine. This further reinforces my belief that there is a bug within the ml_disc.dll.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 16:25   #31
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Any update on this? I just tried installing Winamp 5.5 on my computer at work, and CD burning with Winamp works fine.

I saw in one of Winamp's previous releases that there was something called "improved compatibility between other software that are running Sonic burning engine". Might this be something along the same problems?

Last edited by ajm786; 15th October 2007 at 17:29.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 17:27   #32
JogaBaer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Same problem here!

Burning in 5.35 worked fine for me.

Like ajm786 mentioned it's definitely something wrong with the sonic engine not working with some recorders.
JogaBaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 23:24   #33
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
It'll be an ml_disc bug if anything, not Sonic.

The Sonic Engine hasn't been touched in 5.5 and is exactly the same as the one in 5.35.

We're looking into it.

ml_disc is greatly in need of some major optimizations anyway...


(thread moved from Tech Support to Bug Reports)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2007, 00:21   #34
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Usually, how long before something like this is fixed?
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 14:12   #35
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yes, the problem certainly is being looked into, but we need to eliminate a couple of potential causes first....

Can everyone who's got the "No 'Burn' button" problem please confirm the following:


1) Whether you are using the default English language in Winamp, or if you are using one of the WLZ Language Pack translations (German, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, Swedish, Polish). If the latter, then confirm whether the problem also exists when using English.


2) Under XP/Vista, that the "IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service" is not set to 'Disabled'.

Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services
IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service > Properties > StartUp Type = Automatic

If set to Disabled, please change it to Automatic
then click the Start button to start the service.

I think the default setting is actually 'Manual', but for the purpose of this troubleshooter, let's try 'Automatic' and starting the service.

Now open Winamp and test to see if the Burn button appears.


I reckon it's related to #2, not #1
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 14:20   #36
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
1. I am using English (default).
2. It has nothing to do with the IMAPI CD burning service. Historically, I have always disabled that service because it is, frankly, annoying and substandard. Winamp 5.35 works perfectly without it. And, just for kicks, I enabled it, restarted, and Winamp 5.5 still has no Burn button.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 15:03   #37
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Winamp 5.35 never used the IMAPI Service, but 5.5 does, if it's available.

If it's not available, then Winamp is supposed to fallback to Sonic (5.35 behaviour).

The reason why 5.5 attempts to use IMAPI first is for the new features where it reads the type of disc and displays it in the tree, eg. CD Recorder (for empty drive), Audio CD, Blank Disk, etc.

We also attempt to use IMAPI if just sending files to the burner via:
Select Playlist/ML item(s) > Send To > CD Burner on X:

So please confirm again that you definitely enabled IMAPI Service (set to Automatic, and Started the Service), then restarted Winamp, and there's still no Burn button.

Our logic here is that maybe the fallback to Sonic function is failing when IMAPI is disabled.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 15:08   #38
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Winamp 5.35 never used the IMAPI Service, but 5.5 does, if it's available.

If it's not available, then Winamp is supposed to fallback to Sonic (5.35 behaviour).

The reason why 5.5 attempts to use IMAPI first is for the new features where it reads the type of disc and displays it in the tree, eg. CD Recorder (for empty drive), Audio CD, Blank Disk, etc.

We also attempt to use IMAPI if just sending files to the burner via:
Select Playlist/ML item(s) > Send To > CD Burner on X:

So please confirm again that you definitely enabled IMAPI Service (set to Automatic, and Started the Service), then restarted Winamp, and there's still no Burn button.

Our logic here is that maybe the fallback to Sonic function is failing when IMAPI is disabled.
100% confirmed. I spent over 3 hours on just the IMAPI service last Sunday when I first discovered the problems.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 15:17   #39
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
DJ Egg, you may be on to something.

See, listen. My computer at work does not have any Sonic products installed other than Winamp (Roxio Easy CD Creator). Therefore, it's easier to discern these types of issues.

I went and disabled IMAPI, and, lo and behold, the Burn button disappeared!!! I closed Winamp, re-enabled IMAPI, restarted Winamp, and, guess what, it reappeared!!!

So yes, you are half correct. But this still does not cover for the fact of why on my home system, which happens to have other Sonic products installed, that no matter if I enable or disable the IMAPI service, the Burn button never shows. Falling back to Winamp 5.35 allows full functionality.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 15:59   #40
JogaBaer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
It's working for me with IMAPI enabled!

Does it mean the sonic plugin is no longer needed?

Thanks for your help!

PS: Strange to say, the IMAPI-service needn't to be running and it's still possible to burn a CD. Perhaps it's then falling back to the sonic engine?

Last edited by JogaBaer; 17th October 2007 at 16:16.
JogaBaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump