Old 18th September 2019, 20:20   #1
qcindie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Multiple incoming connections trying to connect to source

Hey guys,

I'm trying to upgrade my aging Shoutcast 1.9.8 server on my Windows VPS to 2.6 and I'm getting this really bizarre behaviour. There are thousands of connections trying to connect to
the DNAS in the 40000-50000 port range and it looks like this:



Obviously I can't just set SrcIP to 127.0.0.1, because the connections ARE coming from 127.0.0.1. How can I find what's causing this?
qcindie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2019, 00:45   #2
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,511
try changing the dnas portbase, you may have a local service querying the port you selected.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2019, 02:57   #3
qcindie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
I was testing on port 8000 and switched to port 80 (I had to use it with v1.9.8 so it could work properly on modern browsers). Obviously that's gonna bring in a few attempts, but it happens just as often on both ports. I went through Resource Monitor and saw a few ports being used by the system, but not nearly all of the ones that are being attempted to connect on. Blocking the range of ports in the firewall didn't change anything either. Thanks for your help!
qcindie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2019, 10:34   #4
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,511
the fact that the source ip is localhost, look to your source app. you can test this in your case by setting up the v2 to relay your v1 (if the v1 is still running) to see if the multi requests go away.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2019, 13:36   #5
qcindie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
The v1 server is no longer running, and I’ve confirmed the problem isn’t with Shoutcast. That being said, I can’t find any info about this anywhere. Thanks for your help!
qcindie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2019, 19:40   #6
NurLutix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 146
Looks more like they're trying to connect to ID 0. But the first stream starts at ID 1.
NurLutix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2019, 04:15   #7
qcindie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Just an update, I can determine this was a setting with the Reconnect on my streamer plugin. Once I set it to 0 everything worked fine. Thanks for your help!
qcindie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump