Old 5th September 2001, 10:43   #1
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Anyone heard about Motorola's 70 GHz chip??

/me wants one...



http://www.usatoday.com/life/cyber/t...orola-chip.htm



A nice 100 TB HDD, and a fast FMD-ROM drive would rox..., guess we gotta wait a wile for thoes...

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 11:19   #2
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
70ghz is that all??????
ibm have been making faster chips out of sand

and how about a 100petabyte HD
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 12:32   #3
mark e
Major Dude
 
mark e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,117
stranggee
mark e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 13:23   #4
NeoRenegade
Banned
 
NeoRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada, eh?
Posts: 4,083
Send a message via ICQ to NeoRenegade Send a message via AIM to NeoRenegade
/me looks at new processor and drive.
/me shits pants.
NeoRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 14:44   #5
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
fmd was promised last year btw, i just checked an old paper i had. but fuck that, its only 100gb, to small, how about 150gb using hollographic technology, check news reports from ECTS
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 15:18   #6
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Quote:
Originally posted by }}Killer Wombat{{
how about 150gb
Current stadards limit drive size to 137GB. Until ATA133 becomes popular, don't expect to see anything larger than 137GB for sale.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 17:01   #7
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
dude i was on about cd's. though i didn't make that clear.

and i belive that 180gig disc's are out, though 100gb ATA100 7,200rpm are now £249. its all good. also you heard of serial ATA, 600mb a sec
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 17:02   #8
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
please note 180gb discs meant HD's rather than CD's this time
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 17:11   #9
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
SerialATA won't be available for a while. ATA133 is already available, though. Ther might be larger SCSI drives, but right now, the largest ATA drive is still only 100GB. (I think)

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 17:16   #10
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
i'll have to check my sources. i think you may be right on the SCSI front but i'll check
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 17:24   #11
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
It sort of dissappoints me that serialATA will only debut at only ~150 mbytes. That's not a great increase, and it means they expect me to upgrade when they release the ~300 mbyte serialATA, and again for the ~600mbyte. It seems like bad planning, since we can already run it at 600.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 19:33   #12
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
nope, my contacts disagree with you, biggest ATA IDE HD is 180gb at the moment.
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 19:55   #13
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
Quote:
Originally posted by }}Killer Wombat{{
my contacts disagree with you
Take out your contacts, clean them, then re-apply them to your eyes
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 20:15   #14
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432


are those real people?
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 20:58   #15
Thor
Major Dude
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Gent, Belgium (Europe)
Posts: 968
Send a message via ICQ to Thor Send a message via AIM to Thor
Quote:
Originally posted by SNYder


are those real people?
They look fun&happy
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 21:12   #16
fish
Pretty Cool Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cle, OH, USA
Posts: 4,847
Send a message via AIM to fish
You guys are so in the dark... Don't you know that Nullsoft's been developing 60Terrahertz processors?











Pfft I wish
fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 21:57   #17
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
man you all aim way to low. 70ghz, 60 terrahertz, man get something real, 100petaflop pc with a 300petabyte HD
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 00:45   #18
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Quote:
Originally posted by }}Killer Wombat{{
nope, my contacts disagree with you, biggest ATA IDE HD is 180gb at the moment.
It can't be. Not unless it goes against standards, which means it couldn't be used. Perhaps if it is using the new ATA133 standard, and is involved in the Big Drive Initiative.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 04:22   #19
Nofx Guy
Major Dude
 
Nofx Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: under a rock
Posts: 998
Send a message via ICQ to Nofx Guy
motorola hasnt made a 70ghrz chip, they just made the technology that is capable of achieving speeds that high.
Quote:
direct quote from motorola.com "One of our next goals is to complete the task of growing indium phosphide on silicon. This technology should support chip clock speeds of more than 70GHz and long-wavelength lasers that are critical to fiber-optic communications."
read the article on the motorola website.
motorola article

www.audioflo.ath.cx
All music, All the Time
Nofx Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 08:54   #20
}}Killer Wombat{{
Banned
 
}}Killer Wombat{{'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England, currently residing in Wales, soon to be Arizona
Posts: 495
curious george, maybe my contacts are wrong, theyre preety reliable considering they work for dell and are all tech gods. check for yourself but i will stand by the fact that there is a 180gb ide ATA drive out there
}}Killer Wombat{{ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 09:17   #21
Thor
Major Dude
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Gent, Belgium (Europe)
Posts: 968
Send a message via ICQ to Thor Send a message via AIM to Thor
Quote:
Originally posted by }}Killer Wombat{{
but i will stand by the fact that there is a 180gb ide ATA drive out there
This IS true ! It's the Seagate Barracuda 180.
Look here : http://www.planethardware.com/featur.../barracuda180/
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 09:19   #22
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
The seagate Barracuda 180 holds 180GB, but it is a SCSI drive. Toomshardware says it is the largest in the world, but I don't know. Maybe there is an ATA133 drive I haven't heard about that has the same storage capacity.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 09:23   #23
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally posted by }}Killer Wombat{{
curious george, maybe my contacts are wrong, theyre preety reliable considering they work for dell and are all tech gods. check for yourself but i will stand by the fact that there is a 180gb ide ATA drive out there
Barracuda 180

181.6 GB



code:
ST1181677FCV Barracuda 180 181.6 GB Fibre Channel 7200 RPM 7.4 ms avg MSS&W $1820.00
ST1181677LCV Barracuda 180 181.6 GB Ultra160 SCSI 7200 RPM 7.4 ms avg MSS&W $1800.00
ST1181677LWV Barracuda 180 181.6 GB Ultra160 SCSI 7200 RPM 7.4 ms avg MSS&W $1800.00




*prices are $1820, $1800, and $1800... the $ wont show up in the [code] for some reason...

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 09:42   #24
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Like I said, those aren't ATA.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 09:56   #25
s1138
Alumni?
 
s1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: joja
Posts: 6,936
Send a message via ICQ to s1138 Send a message via AIM to s1138 Send a message via Yahoo to s1138
what the hell would you do with that big a hard drive?

s1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 10:01   #26
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally posted by Curi0us_George
Like I said, those aren't ATA.
Look at the post times... I was typing that and editing it when you posted it...

Sowwy...

And what would I do with a HDD that big??


FILL IT UP OF COURSE!!!

Damn... i have 35 CDs full of Anime, 20 CDs full of MP3's, 49 Cds full of movies, and 5 CDs full of music vids...

I think that'd do it..


SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 10:39   #27
eleet-2k2
Forum King
 
eleet-2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Mobil Ave.
Posts: 5,381
Who cares whether its ATA100 or ATA133, it's best if harddrives of such tremendous proportions were of SCSI make. That way you can transfer data on your HDD faster. It also gives you a faster boot up time if all you got is SCSI.

"Welcome to the Island of people who know too much."..."Did you really think balloons would stop him?!"
See what I'm listening too.
eleet-2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 11:22   #28
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
31337, I don't think you can actually buy a motherboard without ATA support, so you might as well use it.

Gogitta, sorry, I didn't realize you'd posted right after me. I didn't mean to sound rude. I just didn't feel like posting with a smiley.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 20:01   #29
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
WHAT?!?! 70ghz 300THZ?

/me looks at his pooter..... 450mhz
WHAT THE HELL!!!


/me not sure if this is all real
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2001, 03:41   #30
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally posted by Scarface2k1
WHAT?!?! 70ghz 300THZ?

/me looks at his pooter..... 450mhz
WHAT THE HELL!!!


/me not sure if this is all real
yes.. the 70 GHz one is real... according to the 2001 Guinness book,

Quote:
The world supercomputing speed recrd was set in Dec. 1994 by a team of scientists from Sandia National Laboratories and Intel Corporation, who linked together two of that largest Intel Paragon parallel-processing machines. The massivly parallel machine acheived a performance of 281 gigaflops on the Linpack benchmark. It also achieved 328 gigaflops when running a program used for radar signature calculations. The supercomputer made use of a total of 6,768 processors working in parallel
Also in the 2k1 Guinness Book:

Quote:
Intel installed an even faster supercomputer at Sandia, Texas, USA, in 1996. Using 9,072 Intel Pentium Pro processors, each running at about 200 MHz, and 608 gigabytes of memory, it will eventually perform at around 1.8 teraflops (1.8 trillion floating point operations per second).

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2001, 22:04   #31
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 01:29   #32
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally Posted by s1138 View Post
what the hell would you do with that big a hard drive?
*snorts and snickers*

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump