Old 31st July 2011, 19:59   #1
amill

Manual Playlist Advance Behavior

I have been using Winamp as a primary player since the stone age - .88 or .91 I think.

I sat on a very early build of Winamp 5 forever and "Manual Playlist Advance"(MPA) would ignore the queue on "next" and select a track on as if the queue was empty.

I upgraded recently to 5.621 and MPA honors the queue but does not manually advance, it simply plays the entire queue and then loops the last track if you have Repeat on or stops playback if you don't.

I think we need a bit more control; I would like to see an option to loop the entire queue on MPA as well as an option to loop the current track and then honor the queue on "Next"

I am a programmer and I find it disturbing sometimes when a track changes and prefer (admittedly, to the annoyance of everyone in ear shot) that a track loop for awhile (until I notice it repeating and hit "Next") and then it move on to the next track in the queue.

LONG LIVE FUSION AMPDECK 2!
amill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2011, 20:06   #2
DrO

when you say 'queue' are you referring to the queue from pressing 'q' on an item (or via the jump to file dialog) or the general contents of the playlist editor?

if it's the first then something will be done to rectify that at some point as people wanted it to ignore MPA (hence the change) but now a few people like yourself (if i'm right) want it to follow MPA. it just means i need to sort out adding an extra option to to the jtfe plug-in to allow for toggling between the two desired modes.

Quote:
I have been using Winamp as a primary player since the stone age - .88 or .91 I think.
btw, that might be tricky since Winamp didn't appear until 1997

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2011, 20:20   #3
amill

I am speaking of Winamp Version .88 or thereabouts; well before AOL and a playlist editor, MPA, doublesize or EQ