Old 22nd October 2012, 19:32   #1
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Hi there,

I have a rather strange problem.. i think.

My sc_server.public is up and running and also the sc_trans.basic, i am YP connected.. and listed in Shoutcast. But when i try to listen too the channel.... nothing happends!

"Server is currently up and public (YP connected)"

So i think it's not the "Auth Key", cuz it's seems to work.
I have tested it on another computer on my localnetwork but through the internet ofcourse..
and i have tested it on 127.0.0.1:8000 and there i can listen to it, but not on the web.

I have also open ports 8000-8001 (tcp/udp) but nothing....

Im totally LOST and frustrated right now! but i don't give up that easy.
just need som advise from you guys. There must be something i've missed somewhere... but what?

You can check it out here: http://www.shoutcast.com/Internet-Radio/oobeemusic


I hope someone can help me.

Here is a massage from the server log that must be a part of the problem:

"2012-10-22 21:34:02 I msg:[DST 64.12.243.203:59327 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection accepted. SHOUTcast Metadata Puller
2012-10-22 21:34:02 E msg:[DST 64.12.243.203:59327 sid=1] Socket error while waiting to send data. err=Software caused connection abort.(10053)
2012-10-22 21:34:02 I msg:[DST 64.12.243.203:59327 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (0 seconds) [Bytes: 16384] Agent: `SHOUTcast Metadata Puller'
2012-10-22 21:34:17 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:63181] SHOUTcast 2 source connection.
2012-10-22 21:34:17 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:63181] Password accepted. Stream id is 1"
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 20:59   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
the first problem is your stream is using the MP3 format and you've then specified a streampath which tells clients that it's an AAC stream and i know with Winamp and a number of other players that will cause them to fail.

the second problem is i think there's an encoding issue with the audio as using the site player it just gives me a few seconds of garbage audio and then stops. also get the same using Winamp but not knowing what source software (including it's version), it could be anything that is causing that to happen.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:09   #3
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
thanks for a quick answer...

yeah, i have also begun to suspekt that codec.
im gonna see what i can find and be back for the results.
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:12   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
with the first part, if the stream is going to be mp3 then change the value for streampath to end with .mp3 instead of .aac

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:34   #5
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
okey, i've done some changes.

I run this in .aac now
bitrate: 96000

i also get that garbage sound :/

for the moment i use winamp V.5.63 (x86)
and use a usb soundcard to my setup (decks/mixer)
the sound is great when i listen to it here... but something is happening, somewehere.

the server is upp and running... so if u have the time please check it out.
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:40   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
so you're using Winamp and the Source DSP? if so what version of the Source DSP and is it in Winamp or Soundcard mode?

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:45   #7
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
DSP: shoutcast-dsp-2-3-1-windows
Soundcard Mode: Soundcard Input (44100Hz, Stereo)

The sound levels are good.



I also have Simplecast. But it won't work with the shoutcast services, or am I wrong?
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:50   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
check your personal messages - i think you're hitting an issue which some people have reported with the v2.3.x builds of the Source DSP when using it in Soundcard mode.

not sure on Simplecast, i would assume it can but as i found out today there is a disparity in the features i'd expect in the recent Spacial products, anything is possible.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:59   #9
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
okey, done that!

If we can solve this problem, we should tell people here about what it was.
It helps alot, I know
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 22:16   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
hmm, it's still dire (though it seemed to last longer than last time with the test build). if anything i'd be more tempted to think it's something to do with the input being fed than the Source DSP being at fault now. other than you checking (and re-checking) the settings from the device you're using that it's in a compatible sample rate, etc then i'm out of ideas for the moment (need to rack my brain as i remember something like this with someone else but cannot find my notes about it).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 22:29   #11
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
okey, i should try some stuff out.
but in the meantime maybe i could give you some info about the settings.

sc_trans_basic.conf (any fails?):

logfile=logs\sc_trans.log
screenlog=1
calendarrewrite=0
encoder=aac
bitrate=96000
outprotocol_1=3
serverip_1=127.0.0.1
serverport_1=8000
password_1=*********
streamid_1=1
endpointname_1=/Bob
streamtitle=LiveTEK | oobeemusic
streamurl=http://www.shoutcast.com
genre=House
playlistfile=playlists\main.lst
adminport=7999
adminuser=admin
adminpassword=************
;serverintrofile=<specify_intro_filepath>
;serverbackupfile=<specify_backup_filepath>


_______________________________________________



sc_server_basic.conf (any fails?):


logfile=logs\sc_serv.log
w3clog=logs\sc_w3c.log
banfile=control\sc_serv.ban
ripfile=control\sc_serv.rip
;publicserver=always
;portbase=8000
password=*********
adminpassword=***********
streamid=1
streampath=/oobeemusic.aac
;streamid_1=1
;streampath_1=/livetek_oobeemusic.aac
;streamid_2=2
;streampath_2=/test2.aac
streamauthhash_1=****************


___________________________________________________

This is the settings I use right now.

This is how the server log, looks like when i log on:


2012-10-23 00:31:07 I msg:[MAIN] Logger updating log file to use
2012-10-23 00:31:07 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_serv_basic.conf
2012-10-23 00:31:07 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 2
2012-10-23 00:31:07 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 2 network threads
2012-10-23 00:31:07 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2012-10-23 00:31:07 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8001
2012-10-23 00:31:12 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51218] SHOUTcast 2 source connection.
2012-10-23 00:31:12 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51218] Password accepted. Stream id is 1
2012-10-23 00:31:12 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51218 sid=1] stream configuration complete. [
type=SHOUTcast 2
mimeType=audio/aac
maxPayloadSize=16377
avgBitrate=96000
maxBitrate=96000
desiredBufferSize=240
minimumBufferSize=0
icyName=LiveTEK | oobeemusic
icyGenre=House
icyURL=http://www.shoutcast.com
icyPub=0
]
2012-10-23 00:31:30 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51221] SHOUTcast 2 source connection.
2012-10-23 00:31:30 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51221] Password accepted. Stream id is 1
2012-10-23 00:31:42 E msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51218 sid=1] Timeout waiting for data (1350945102 1350945072[30] )
2012-10-23 00:31:46 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51222] SHOUTcast 2 source connection.
2012-10-23 00:31:46 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51222] Password accepted. Stream id is 1
2012-10-23 00:31:47 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51222 sid=1] stream configuration complete. [
type=SHOUTcast 2
mimeType=audio/aacp
maxPayloadSize=16377
avgBitrate=96000
maxBitrate=96000
desiredBufferSize=240
minimumBufferSize=0
icyName=LiveTEK | oobeemusic
icyGenre=Misc
icyURL=
icyPub=1
]
2012-10-23 00:31:47 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2012-10-23 00:31:47 I msg:[SRC 127.0.0.1:51222 sid=1] Got complete metadata message type=3902 [375 bytes] id=8 span=1 content=
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<metadata><TIT2></TIT2><TENC>SHOUTcast Source DSP v2.3.2.186 TEST</TENC><TRSN>LiveTEK | oobeemusic</TRSN><WORS>http://www.shoutcast.com</WORS><extension><title seq="1"></title><title seq="2">[Ansluter] http://81.235.28.82:8000/oobeemusic.aac</title><soon>[Ansluter] http://81.235.28.82:8000/oobeemusic.aac</soon></extension></metadata>
2012-10-23 00:31:47 E msg:[DST 205.188.202.174:52583 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection rejected. Stream not available. SHOUTcast Directory Tester
2012-10-23 00:31:47 I msg:[DST 205.188.202.174:52583 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (0 seconds) [Bytes: 0] Agent: `SHOUTcast Directory Tester'
2012-10-23 00:31:47 I msg:[YP2] Connected to yp.shoutcast.com. The station should now be listed in the SHOUTcast Radio Directory (YP).




_________________________________

Listen here (if it works): http://www.shoutcast.com/Internet-Radio/oobeemusic
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 22:38   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
the DNAS server is fine (not sure why you've got a sc_trans config if you're doing DNAS + Source DSP).

only new thing that has come to mind now is to test it using Winamp input as that way we can then confirm that the encoding is good or not i.e. rule out one more thing. if it is ok in that state then either the Source DSP just cannot cope with what it's being fed or it's just being fed garbage and it's down to the input device.

only other question is what is the sample rate on the soundcard setting in the plug-ins configuration? and have you tried toggling it to one type and then back to what is wanted (that might re-set the internal values).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 22:45   #13
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
i don't know why i have a transcoder either... only too see if it's gonna work...i guess.

I have changed to winamp input now.. so u can try it out.
the input from my soundcard is 16bit, 44100Hz
It sounds great when i listen to it.. and the Vu-meters are in a good dB-level.

I have not toggled there...yet.
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 22:54   #14
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
i've just tried the stream with Winamp as the input and it plays but it's buffering horribly (get maybe a second or two of audio and then it has to buffer for around 3 seconds). so that points at the AAC encoder working ok (the buffering points at an issue / limitation with where you're hosting as no way can this connection cope with 32 listeners).

with the soundcard input, is it mono or stereo you've selected e.g. would shows as 44100 Hz, Stereo or 22050 Hz, Mono for example?

as for the VU meters, i wouldn't rely on them, they just respond to any sort of data being received from the selected source rather than implying that everything is ok.

ok, one more thing and then i'm about done for the night. on the Output -> Encoder tab, enable the option in the 'Save Encoded Output' and make sure that you set a location for the file which is valid before doing that. then once you've had it streaming for ~30 seconds with the soundcard input selected, playback the file in Winamp or something which can play raw aac files and see if that is garbage. if it is then it is pointing the finger at the capture device than the plug-in.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 23:10   #15
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
okey, yeah i know that the meters is'nt something you should only look at.
But i've done some testing before...and saving the streaming. And that sounds great.
But that was .mp3

I have always had 44100Hz, Stereo
only changed the bitrate...

tried the soundcard input with .aac
and it's fucked up!! ... hmmm and with the .mp3 format

when i use Simplecast the sound is perfect... :S

thats pretty strange.
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 23:21   #16
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
they're 2 different programs so if there is a fault in one then things would be different. at the moment, if Simplecast works for you then maybe it's going to be better to use that and just forget about the Source DSP (though that doesn't help determine what / why that is not working as expected but i don't see how i'm going to be able to replicate the issue as it could be something about your setup that is specifically breaking the Source DSP's handling - as i've never tried it with a USB soundcard).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2012, 23:28   #17
oobeemusic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
yeah, but i only want to broadcast live-sessions.. but i just wanna see what plugin/program works the best.
If you have questions about USB soundcards just hit a message and i'll see what i can do for you.
oobeemusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Technical Support

Tags
fail, internet, server, works

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump