Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

View Poll Results: Do you like the InputBox plugin?
Yes! 2 22.22%
Yes, but please make it smaller 1 11.11%
No, I'll stick with InstallOptions 6 66.67%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th September 2003, 13:27   #1
lzandman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Groningen, NL
Posts: 36
Arrow InputBox plugin

Hi,

I've created a plugin for NSIS that can display an InputBox. This is very handy for quickly asking for a password, serial etc., without using the whole InstallOptions stuff.

I always wanted NSIS to include such a function (hint, hint ) and since I wanted to practice writing plugins for NSIS I created this. It's merely a wrapper for Delphi's InputBox-function.

It should be very easy to use. You just push three strings (caption, prompt and default value) onto the stack and call the function 'ShowInputBox'. The plugin will return the input from the user onto the stack.

There are some problems though...
  • The DLL is about 377 kB, which is rather large compared to other plugins. That's because it is created using Delphi functions and not plain WinAPI. Maybe I'll do a rewrite some time.
  • In order to let the NSIS window be the parent of the InputBox I had to do a quick 'n dirty hack into Delphi's 'Dialogs'-unit. And as far as I know it's not permitted to distribute the source code of this unit. So I can't include the full source code of the plugin. But maybe I'll figure a way around this.
You can download the plugin from this location:

http://home.studenten.net/~wowleon/InputBox.zip

I hope you like it...

Greetings,

Leon Zandman
lzandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2003, 03:44   #2
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,918
Why not create, with IO DLL, a textbox with password and stuff?
Although that feature can be handy in IO itself.


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.

Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2003, 19:16   #3
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Good work.
I'm sure a Win32 call with the System dll would have done the same job?

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2003, 19:29   #4
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
Yes, using the System plug-in would be a better solution (and it saves 300 KB).
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2003, 19:37   #5
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
I doubt that's possible but brainsucker would probably know better.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump