Old 8th January 2004, 16:42   #1
The Mad Duke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
VP6 Updated

VP6 has been improved again. New version is 6.1.0.2 just out today. www.on2.com
The Mad Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 19:19   #2
The Mad Duke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
FYI:

Among the added features and improvements in the latest VP6 are:

* Greatly improved two-pass, variable bitrate-mode encoding (nearly 25%
improvement).

* Improved speed of "best quality" mode by nearly 20%.

* Produces output with Peak Signal-to-Noise Ratios (PSNR) that are better
than Real 10, Windows Media 9 and H.264 on a wide range of test
material at data rates ranging from dial-up (28.8 Kbps) to DVD and HD
(6 to 8 Mbps).

* Better allocation of bits.

* Better cut scene detection.

* Improved multiple platform support (Intel, Equator, Texas Instruments,
PowerPC)

* Compresses high-definition (HD) material with no restrictions on the
encoder. VP6 can play back 1920x1080 HD material on a 2.5 GHz PC and
1280x720 material on Equator's 400 MHz MAP BSP.

* Supports real-time encoding at full D1 resolution
The Mad Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 19:40   #3
AuralMoon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 104
Send a message via ICQ to AuralMoon
Thanks for the heads up.

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for my vp61 encodings I was having a little problem with.

I have a 230k stream at 30fps, 64k AAC vp61 at 320x240. The encoder is set to best quality, using the "medium bitrate" valuies in the On2 docs.

On the same connection (T1), my dual Athlon 2400+ displays the stream perfectly. A 1 gHz computer, though, buffers ever 1.5 seconds consistently.

Is there an encoder setting that would help the 1 GHz machine? I'm able to watch some other vp61 and vp31 stations just fine.

Any suggestions on the optial settings for a 230k vp61 stream?

Thanks in advance
AuralMoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 21:46   #4
AuralMoon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 104
Send a message via ICQ to AuralMoon
Another question...

The vp6 docs say "...set the keyframe frequency of 99999. The compressor will automatically detect and insert keyframes."

In the NSV encoder, does the keyframe frequency translate anywhere? Perhaps teh min/max sync frame interval?
AuralMoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 16:40   #5
Stosh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Do I have to install this in the NSVTools directory? I installed the new codec, but NSVTools doesnt see it.

What did I do wrong?
Stosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 16:59   #6
Stosh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Oh nevermind, I found the info
Stosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast TV / Nullsoft Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump