Old 26th August 2005, 06:22   #1
cobhc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Winamp Volume linked to Windows Wave

I just formatted my harddrive and installed winamp, but now whenever I turn up or down the volume on winamp the wave volume for my whole computer goes up and down, and it was never like that before the format...

thanks for your help
cobhc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2005, 09:21   #2
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 15,858
check your output plugin in the preferences of the player.

could it be it's on wave output?

change to directsound output

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2005, 18:22   #3
jgradydead
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to jgradydead
i've got a similar problem. whenever i open realplayer, its volume and winamp's volume are correlated, with realplayer taking precedence. in other words, when i increase or decreases the volume in realplayer, winamp's volume increases or decreases, but when i increase or decrease winamp's volume, nothing happens to realplayer's volume. this is annoying when i want to have both open, but want to have realplayer muted--when i do this, winamp also has to be muted, which i don't want. i have the direct sound output plugin checked. thanks alot.
jgradydead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2005, 18:27   #4
cobhc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
alright, I got the out_ds.dll plugin for my winamp and it works now, thanks so much!
cobhc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2005, 18:57   #5
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
@ jgradydead

That is a RealPlayer issue and not a Winamp issue. RealPlayer alters Window's Wave volume not Winamp's volume. Other media players will also appear to have their volume altered.

If you clicked on the Wave volume slider button in the Windows mixer (double click on the little speaker icon in the systray), the volume will be restored.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump