Old 25th February 2004, 17:57   #1
ErkDog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ErkDog Send a message via AIM to ErkDog
Lower Bitrate Relay...

I have 2 shoutcast servers
1 for Broadband 96Kpbs and 1 for Dialup users.

However SC_Trans_Linux currently *sigh* does not support the downrate encoding.

Does anyone know of any linux utilities that will allow me to stream from the 96Kbps server reduce the bitrate, and spit it back out to the Dialup Server.....

right now I have two seperate sc_trans_linux running with a playlist for when no DJ is online.

And then when a DJ comes online he has to transmit to BOTH servers instead of just to the 96Kbps server.....

any ideas ??
ErkDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2004, 18:08   #2
FesterHead
Alumni
 
FesterHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 14,108
Check out Oddsock's stream transcoder.

FesterHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2004, 23:43   #3
ErkDog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ErkDog Send a message via AIM to ErkDog
Yeah...

Swis army knife of broadcasting is about right

frigging "Transcoder" keeps disconnecting from the frigging source... and it REFUSES to connect back

it has an option for reconnecting to destination server

why not source ??

anyway....

what I need is a Leatherman Tool type Transcoder

not some piece of shit Swiss Army Knife...

any ideas ??
ErkDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2004, 23:51   #4
djmastermind
Forum King
 
djmastermind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,813
I wouldn't suggest complaining about someone's suggestion that did the research for you. (Not to mention the fact that we're all unpaid volunteers here). We need some appreciative people around here, but some piece of shit complainer.

I'm sorry, but it needed to be said.

-- Michael
djmastermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2004, 23:54   #5
ErkDog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ErkDog Send a message via AIM to ErkDog
by the way

my source is 96Kbps 44100 Sample

and I'm going to 32Kbps 44100 Output

I initially tried 32Kbps 22050 Output

since that's what that bitrate is supposed to have as a sample rate, but I had the same problems
so I figured maybe my sample rates needed to match

so I changed it to the 32Kbps 44100

the lowest 44Khz Rate is 48Kbps which is not acceptable....

The problem seems to stem from when the source on the 96K 44K shoutcast server changes a few times within X period....

at that point the Transcoder just drops the Listen and Output connections ......

any ideas on how to accomplish a Bitrate under 40Kbps with this transcoder without it nerfing on me ?

or a better Transcoder.....
ErkDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2004, 23:56   #6
ErkDog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ErkDog Send a message via AIM to ErkDog
I doubt he did research, he proabably already knew....

and I'm not complaining about the fact that what he found doesn't work like it's supposed to

I'm just saying it DOESNT work .. and asking for more suggestions.....

and the Swiss Army references was from Odd's Webpage.....
ErkDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2004, 00:47   #7
Jonas_Heath
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Posts: 60
Hey Erk,

I'm running the Oddsock Transcoder at 24kbps/22000 and I am not having any issues downsampling from my 96kbps/44000 stream. Are you getting any kind of errors when the connection drops?

Trust me when I say I looked long and hard before choosing the OddSock transcoder. It is the only one I have found that is worth a damn.

Also, What platform are you running all this stuff under? Mine is all FreeBSD based which made it a pain in the ass to configure, but it is rock solid once you get it done.

-Jonas
SonicRaider.com the home of Kick Ass Unsigned Electronic
Winamp Hi-Fi (Cable/DSL/T1) ____Winamp Lo-Fi (Modem)
Jonas_Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2004, 03:42   #8
ErkDog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ErkDog Send a message via AIM to ErkDog
Well there are no errors

it just --stops working--

nothing in the log file or anything.... I posted on the Trans website
ErkDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump