Old 18th April 2007, 21:53   #1
boarderbas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Dual layer drawer

Hi people. Hebe been reding this forum for 2 days and started skinning. My talents lie in de graphic part. I am an ok programmer, but the documentation on maki is kinda unorganised as it seems, so after trying for a night i thought I'd bug you people with a q.

I want to make a drawer that splits the skin in half and reveals another part containing buttons i think shouldn't take up screen room and the eq.

Now for the good'ol 3d effect, id like to throw a shade on that (animated) drawer.

i'll try to explain by this. If we'd look at the layers from the side:

tttttt being the top layers
ssssss being the shade
bbbbbb being the hidden background that's revealed with the drawer
PHP Code:
closed:

ttttttttttttttt ttttttttttttttttt
               ss
bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

Open
:

ttttttttttttttt                ttttttttttttttttt
               ss
               bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb 
So i need two layers to move simultaneously. I have been trying this by modifying drawer scripts posted here, but no succes yet..
boarderbas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 19:55   #2
TheElusiveMelon
Senior Member
 
TheElusiveMelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 350
Surely if the background layer is smaller than the right hand half of the skin, you could just make it so that the background image is in a set position behind the right hand side, and then the right hand side moves like a drawer to the right, revealing the background layers underneath.
TheElusiveMelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 14:09   #3
boarderbas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Yes is could, but that's not what i am trying to say. Look at the layers i drew bfore, te background has to be moving, as it contains the buttons i want to show.


Bas
boarderbas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 15:42   #4
TheElusiveMelon
Senior Member
 
TheElusiveMelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 350
The background doesnt have to move if the part of the top layer that moves is bigger than the background layer. That way, the background layer (and its shadow) can always be behind the right side of the top layer, then when you want to show the buttons, simply slide the top layer to the right...
TheElusiveMelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 19:00   #5
boarderbas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
You reallya are a melon eh

Offcoarse i fugures that ot, but is just isn't big enough and doesn't fit the design.

Maybe i should ditch the animation and do it like they did in the sandard skin (see the eq button)
boarderbas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 20:45   #6
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
checkout my old abducted skin stick mode, it has what your after for the draw, feel free to nab the code from it
its on wincustomizedotcom
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2007, 00:26   #7
TheElusiveMelon
Senior Member
 
TheElusiveMelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 350
The one thing i've learn't in life is never assume anything about peoples intelligence . I'm pleased to see that you had thought of it :P
TheElusiveMelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump