Old 25th March 2003, 17:55   #1
Ros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
How to loop a MP3 on a Website?

Hello there,

I have written this synthax <bgsound src="test.mp3" loop="infinite"> in the HTML code. It works, but at the end of the music, there is a small break to hear. In this case everyone notice that the music has started again...

Its hard to describe, but is there a way to encode in MP3 without the tiny break at the end (only by looping) ?

Thanks
Ros
Ros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 18:07   #2
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,238
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
play the mp3 in winamp. make it the only sogn in the playlist. turn off shuf/cross fade, ahev repteat on. if it still has the loop, my guess would be that the mp3 has the break at the end, and you'll need to find a proam to chop that part off.
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 18:10   #3
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,003
Please dont, I hate sites that put up music, slows you down, and is rarly of any point.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 18:32   #4
Ros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by dlinkwit27
play the mp3 in winamp. make it the only sogn in the playlist. turn off shuf/cross fade, ahev repteat on. if it still has the loop, my guess would be that the mp3 has the break at the end, and you'll need to find a proam to chop that part off.
hmm do you know a good MP3 Editor?

Ros
Ros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 18:35   #5
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,238
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
i think this is the one i use...

http://download.com.com/3000-2248-27...ml?tag=lst-4-2

but i do agree with vie. music on sites is kinda annoying, so i woudl defidently make an option to turn the music off
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 18:48   #6
Ros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
I am just a noob testing around.
Ros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 20:07   #7
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,399
http://www.world-voices.com/resources/addaud.html gives plenty of info.

Personally, i'd reccomend using a .mid file instead of an mp3 or wav so people on dialup dont have to sit and wait 10 minutes for the file to load.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 20:24   #8
Ros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by Atmo
http://www.world-voices.com/resources/addaud.html gives plenty of info.

Personally, i'd reccomend using a .mid file instead of an mp3 or wav so people on dialup dont have to sit and wait 10 minutes for the file to load.
Its just 84.6 KB. Its small isn't it?
Ros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 20:29   #9
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,399
Yeh, that should be ok. It would add 15-20 seconds to the page loading time for dialup users, but just as long as the rest of the page doesnt contain too many images it should be acceptable.

Just remember most people will give up and close the window if a page takes too long to load.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 21:26   #10
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
Or if it's got a green and pink colourscheme.

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 21:34   #11
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,918
There's no way you can play, as background, an MP3 ...
maybe on Windows 2003 Server

Like prev post doing this always prompt ...

1) The Default Media Player for your MP3
2) Download the MP3
3) Get Virus


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.

Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 22:00   #12
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,399
Quote:
Originally posted by Dark Boy
There's no way you can play, as background, an MP3 ...
maybe on Windows 2003 Server



If you dont believe me, take a look here:

http://www.atmodigitaldesign.com/intro/

Just a simple page with an embedded mp3 that loops (i'll remove the page later, it's just a demonstration on how to do it).
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 22:14   #13
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,918


Does only works an IE?

Cool


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.

Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2003, 22:20   #14
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,399
I think it'll only work with IE. I tried it with mozilla, the file downloads but wont play (im guessing thats because it doesnt know what to play it with).
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2003, 10:20   #15
Kalervo Manni
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 241
Please don't use any background sound. There's still somebody using not so fast connection (I'm now connected with GPRS phone, about 5 KB/s only). And many people are playing some music with their Winamps and they don't want to hear anything annoying background musics.
Kalervo Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump