Old 2nd November 2005, 00:03   #1
guts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Freezing computer

sometimes when i click winamp on the quicklaunch it freezes my entire computer and i have to restart. ive tried a clean install with minimum and it still freezes.. Theres no error writen in the event viewer so now im stuck. oh yeah im using the 5.11 winamp
guts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2005, 07:23   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Maybe try a clean install of Winamp 5.111. That version fixes some 5.11-specific issues.

If that doesn't help, please read this.

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2005, 07:03   #3
guts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
hey looks like its working ill report back if the problem occurs again
guts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 02:19   #4
Rickeh69
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Magical World Of 69.
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Rickeh69 Send a message via Yahoo to Rickeh69
Yeah, I'm getting the same thing. It just freezes, and I can't dl, HJT, my Avast! Virus scanner goes off. I've tried Full, Bundle, and Light. It's just not working.
Rickeh69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 03:52   #5
guts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
yeah it still didnt work...keep on freezing and worst is that nothing appears in the event viewer...
guts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2005, 04:30   #6
guts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
no spyware found with adaware or spybot...
the problem comes and go so i cant really replicate the problem at will...oh yeah no viruses too scaned with symantec antivirus v10
Attached Files
File Type: zip hijackthis.zip (2.2 KB, 104 views)
guts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2005, 05:52   #7
guts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
...i still got the problem i did a complete uninstall and install with only audio play in mind and it still freeze when i launch winamp. even if i double click mp3s or click on the icon it sometime freezes the whole computer and no error is written in the even viewer is there any way for me to fix this? it never happen before i updated to winamp 5
guts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2005, 22:17   #8
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Not sure what's happening for you...

You could try a clean install without Sonic Ripping/Burning support. That component has caused problems for other users in the past.

Another thing you could do is disabling the MS Machine Debug Manager (see here).

Some general suggestions/tips to test your system can be found here.

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 06:54   #9
guts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
ive decided to just leave winamp on and hope for a fix in the future.... i have done the cleanest install so winamp only plays audio and with classic skin the minimum...is there any way to make winamp close to system try cause sometimes i click the x instead of the minimize button
guts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 07:40   #10
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
Close to Tray

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump