Old 13th November 2007, 00:12   #1
mernst2007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Burning to CD with WinAmp 5.5 Pro

When I boot my machine WinXP recognizes my (empty) DVD-burner as "DVD-RAM". After starting Winamp 5.5. Pro it also shows it as "CD-Recorder". Fine. Now it's easy to pick tracks and assign them to the CD to be created - everything seems to be just right.

BUT : As soon as I put in a definitely empty and brand new CD-R, Winamp calls it no longer "CD-Recorder" but "Empty CD" with 0 capacity. The burn button is still there, but of course it refuses to burn the CD, since it would exceed its 0-capacity.

After leaving WinAmp WinXP now shows the former "DVD-RAM" only as "CD-ROM".
Burning CD-R with any standard CD-Burning-Software as well as the Windows internal support for CD-Rs works just fine. How is it, that Winamp switches the "type of drive/Media" internally and externally just by inserting a CD-R ?

I also attached the requested files for your error analysis.

Looking forward to your feedback,

Michael Ernst
Attached Files
File Type: zip pluginlist_hjl.zip (5.7 KB, 92 views)
mernst2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2007, 16:00   #2
mernst2007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Hello !???

Why do I pay money for a PRO license of WinAmp 5.5 when I do not get ANY support !?

PLEASE try to follow up on the issue I brought up.

Thanks,
Michael
mernst2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2007, 17:46   #3
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
what kind of dvd burner do you have? (EXACT MAKE/MODEL and firmware revision)

have you tried updating your firmware?(please make sure if you do this you make sure your using the correct firmware for your burner, or you'll brick it)

we don't get paid to help you either so don't get mad at us, if we don't know the answer we can't help.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2007, 16:32   #4
mernst2007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Hello Rocker,
first I want to thank you very much for your reply.
I did not want to offend anybody here - it's just that I expect some kind of service level for customers like me, that officially pay good money for a Pro-Licencse. I had the impression that I wouldn't get any reply. It still surprises me, that YOU don't get paid - I think you should...

Now back to my problem and your question:
I use a PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-111 with Firmware 1.23.
Checking the Pioneer Support website ( http://www.pioneer.de/de/content/sup...tml#fdvdwriter ) it shows, that it is the most recent release.

Outside of Winamp 5.5 PRO the DVR-111 is working 100% fine (Nero, WinXP, Magic Goya burnR,...).

Do you have any other solution approach ?

Thanks once again,
Michael

mernst2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump