Old 24th August 2003, 09:45   #1
GaryW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 69
Confused with server status script

Hello, i am new to hosting a shoutcast radio, and i just got the radio to work through my netgear router. i am told my radio can be heard through the shoutcast listing link at http://yp.shoutcast.com/sbin/shoutca...e=filename.pls but im not sure if others can view the actual site where im streaming at http://192.168.0.3:8000

i dont know if this is why i cant do this or not, but i am very frustrated because i cant figure out a simple script that will tell the website visitor if my station (192.168.0.3:8000) is online or not. can anybody help my confused mind?
GaryW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2003, 09:50   #2
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That is an internal network IP and is limited to you own network. It is not a valid IP address on the open network. Try finding your actual IP address:

http://www.ipchicken.com/
http://www.whatismyipaddress.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2003, 10:37   #3
GaryW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 69
i tried using my actual ip from that site and came up with
Event log:
<08/24/03@03:45:53> [SHOUTcast] DNAS/win32 v1.9.2 (Nov 25 2002) starting up...
<08/24/03@03:45:53> [main] loaded config from C:\Program Files\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.ini
<08/24/03@03:45:53> [main] initializing (usermax:32 portbase:8000)...
<08/24/03@03:45:53> [main] No ban file found (sc_serv.ban)
<08/24/03@03:45:53> [main] No rip file found (sc_serv.rip)
<08/24/03@03:45:53> [main] opening source socket
<08/24/03@03:45:53> [main] error opening source socket! FATAL ERROR! Some other process is using this port!
GaryW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2003, 18:20   #4
FesterHead
Alumni
 
FesterHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 14,108
Revert any changes you made to the DNAS and ONLY change the link you use to launch the stream.

Note:
If your router doesn't support local loopback then machines on the same lan as the DNAS (you) need to use the lan ip of the DNAS to connect/listen.
Machines not on the same lan as the DNAS (the rest of the world) need to use the real, world-visible ip of the DNAS to connect/listen.

****************************

Check out the Sticky post titled...
SHOUTcast: Important Info & Answers to FAQs. READ ME!

Scroll down a bit and look for the section titled...
General SHOUTcast Information -> SHOUTcast ToolBox (All sorts of nifty add-ons for SHOUTcast)

1. The PHP based XML parser is a complete solution and comes ready for you to customize.

2. The Javascript parser (actually ASP) is another complete solution and comes ready for you to customize.
Note: Apparently this link isn't working anymore.
Try this thread for other ASP options.

Also, for an html implementation, check out:
KXRM's RadioToolbox
Oddsock's Do Something DSP plugin

*************

Check out the results from a SHOUTcast forum search on 'status script'.


Note: Other search criteria may yield more results.

FesterHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2003, 20:08   #5
GaryW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 69
im sorry but im still confused, how do i change the link i broadcast with, and am i supposed to change it with the ip on whatismyip.com?
GaryW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump