Old 31st May 2020, 23:16   #1
TV1991

Saving winamp history

I recently rebuild my PC, throwing out all of my old parts - and that included a fresh install of a new Windows OS. Now, before, I had been using Winamp on this machine for at least 5 years. However, upon re-installing Winamp on my new PC, I realized that in the progress I lost all of my play history - which songs I'd played the most, rated the highest, playlists, that sort of things. Is this data (like the amount a song is played, which songs were never played, etc) saved anywhere? If so, can it be moved over to a new installation of winamp to save this data?
TV1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2020, 08:39   #2
NJK
FRISIAN

yes that data was saved on your HD in the winamp folder
if you installed a new OS it means all was lost that was on the HD.
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2020, 13:22   #3
TV1991

I installed Windows on a new SSD, and still have the old HDD with the old OS. Where would the info be stored?
Old 1st June 2020, 14:05   #4
NJK
FRISIAN

you could try to copy the winamp folder from the old HD to the new HD.

it should be in the program files.
Old 1st June 2020, 14:45   #5
TV1991

Merci. I'll take a look!
Old 1st June 2020, 15:24   #6
The1_Freeman

Do also have a look in %APPDATA%\Winamp on that old HDD, that's where some other info like bookmarks, ML data is stored iirc.
The1_Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2020, 19:17   #7
TV1991

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1_Freeman View Post
Do also have a look in %APPDATA%\Winamp on that old HDD, that's where some other info like bookmarks, ML data is stored iirc.
This worked! Replacing the new Winamp folder in the appdata with the old one brought everything back, from top rated to times played. Thank you so much!
Old 1st June 2020, 19:26   #8
TV1991

Ah, maybe I spoke too soon. While the entire history, ratings and play count is now saved, Winamp can no longer find the song paths.