Old 30th December 2007, 14:29   #1
klaudyuxxx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
winamp excesive memory usage

posting again hoping that somebody will notice me, and the real problem which winamp has...

with every song i change, memory usage for winamp increseases with 2-3 MB NOT stopping at a specific limit....in that print screen winamp was running for 3 hours....In 6 hours i suppose it will get to 1 GB of ram usage. Do you think this is normal?! I discovered that the media library is causing this. I have over 16000 songs in it. When i remove them, winamp runs normally with 30-35 mb of ram usage constantly..
wtf!?i am not running some sort of video editing software, 3D shit, or the latest game on the market. I AM RUNNING A MP3 PLAYER. and NO, it is not my fault, it is not the plug-ing, the fresh or unfresh install, the GOD, or my mother
klaudyuxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2007, 16:18   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
We can't reproduce this.
Please post your List Of Plugins.
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#specs
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins

[Moved from Bug Reports to Tech Support]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 14:06   #3
karl.ranseier
Junior Member
 
karl.ranseier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
I had the same problem. I used winamp on a MSI S270 Laptop (AMD Athlon 64) with 500MB RAM, Windows XP Pro SP 2.
Same on a normal PC with 1GB Ram, windows XP Pro SP2, direct X 9.

The laptop was not connected to the internet, but the PC.

I had that problem on a party, very bad, because the memory usage was about 500MB and my PC than was too slow, so that there were gaps of 10 s between the songs.

The problem is not always reproducable. It may be a problem with long playlists, but i`m not sure. After a restart the laptop used tu work for the rest of the party, but sometimes the memory usage raised up to 300 MB, but suddenly decreased.

karl.ranseier
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (6.4 KB, 389 views)
karl.ranseier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 15:00   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
@karl.ranseier

Does it still happen after disabling all 3rd-party plugins?

WinampCOM [gen_com.dll]
Drag 'n drop from Playlist Editor v0.8 [gen_dragndrop.dll]
LeosLyrics Plugin [Gen_LeosLyrics.dll]
gUSB v1 build 005 [ml_gusb_us.dll]
MLFind v0.2 [ml_plsfind.dll]
xerces-c_2_5_0.dll (2488kb) [loaded] <-- ???

Find out/tell us which of those was to blame....

gen_com.dll would be my guess, but it could be one of the others.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 16:00   #5
karl.ranseier
Junior Member
 
karl.ranseier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
Hi,
at first i foudn out, that the memory usage increases much more when i use to search in my 40k songs library. In 20 s i was able to increase the memory to 180 MB. When i add songs to the list, most time about 0.5 MB are added. But these small values are going back, the 180 stay now for some minutes. I will now try to disable third party plugins (but at first iu wanted to be sure how to reproduce the error / problem).

karl.ranseier
karl.ranseier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 16:23   #6
karl.ranseier
Junior Member
 
karl.ranseier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
After a while without playing anything the memory usage decreases. (this happened while i was writing the last message).

Now i uninstalled all the plugins you listed. I don`t know what xerces-c_2_5_0.dll (2488kb) [loaded] <-- ??? did, i even wasn`t able to find it in the preferences, so i deleted the dll file.

But still my winamp uses 166 MB after i did some searches, played some mp3s, searched again, searched in an other view in the ML.
------------------
Now i know how to reproduce it:
Add many songs in the ML, go to any view in the ML, search something. While it searches, add something to the searchstring. 200 MB in one minute :-)
Deleting the searchstring does not have any effect. I hope that you can reproduce it now, too.

Is there any place where i can download an older version of winamp on winamp.com? I found old versions in the www, but i would feel better to find old versions on winamp.com

Thanks for helping us. Winamp is still one of the main reasons why i do not use a linux system!

karl.ranseier

edit: i can not reproduce it with winamp 5.35 with imported settings from the 5.51

Last edited by karl.ranseier; 31st December 2007 at 18:03.
karl.ranseier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 18:48   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
Quote:
Originally posted by karl.ranseier
edit: i can not reproduce it with winamp 5.35 with imported settings from the 5.51
I can't reproduce it with a clean install of 5.51
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2007, 20:31   #8
Zero2FiftyIn4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In my head....the voices there are nice
Posts: 170
Could it be the skin you are using.

"It is, in the end, whatever the Hell I want it to be,
And when I'm through with it, it's gonna blow a hole,
This wide, straight through the worlds own idea of itself.
They're throwing bottles at your house.
Come on, lets go break their arms."
Zero2FiftyIn4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2008, 13:07   #9
karl.ranseier
Junior Member
 
karl.ranseier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
@DJ Egg:
I cannot reproduce it with a clean install, too.
Now i installed most plugins i need, uninstalled those who treat my nerves, imprted all the media (all the "never played" and so on are lost), included my playlists and so on.

But how can i easily import my old smart views? I think in older versions i was able to copy an ml....ini file, where the smart views where in plaintext.

xerces-c_2_5_0.dll is again in my winampdirectory. I think it belongs to leoslyrics.


@Zero2FiftyIn4:

I use the winamp modern skin, color theme good old winamp. Changing does not help.

karl.ranseier
karl.ranseier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2008, 14:54   #10
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
You can copy the ml folder back to it's place in Winamp\Plugins and then gen_ml.ini into Winamp\Plugins as well. If you have problems please say what files you backed up.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2008, 15:04   #11
karl.ranseier
Junior Member
 
karl.ranseier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
After i wrote a new smart view there is still no gen_ml.ini.

I did what you said (copy subfolder ml and .ini to plugins), but nothing happens. There is still the newer library. There was no .ini and no subfolder ml before i copied them. Normal?

karl.ranseier
karl.ranseier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2008, 15:16   #12
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
If you made a clean install of 5.5+ then it defaults to the multi-user settings so the media library and all other settings are saved in %appdata%\Winamp. Look there for gen_ml.ini and the ml folder. If you want to revert back to the good ol' Winamp way then delete paths.ini from the Winamp installation folder.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2008, 16:06   #13
karl.ranseier
Junior Member
 
karl.ranseier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
thank you. that works. but now i have that old problem again. So i deleted ml but not the gen_ml.dll. It works again, but of course without my old statistics on my files.

sad but i can live with that :-)
karl.ranseier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2008, 16:29   #14
whizzo962c
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
winamp memory useage goes up and up

I have this same problem, memory useage increases every time i search in Media Library until I get "Winamp has encountered a problem and needs to close etc......." Machine is an Acer Aspire 7520 on XP SP2 with 1Gb RAM. My media library is about 52000 tracks. Attached is plugin list.

The only 2 plugins that I have installed are MP3+G gen_cdg.dll and Pacemaker dsp_pacemaker.dll

Thanks in advance, I really hope you have an answer for this. Dave. I
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (8.4 KB, 290 views)
whizzo962c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2008, 18:51   #15
ruster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Extensive Memory

I'v got the same problem. I perfrormed a memory cleaning with RAM cleaner software and Winamp mem_usage dropped from 200 mb to 29 mb.
Hope this will solve your problems too.
ruster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 15:51   #16
lilcech
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
I have the same problem. This is a serious issue. I tried doing the RAM Cleaner, but that didn't do anything. If it keep doing this I'm going to have to switch to another player. I rally don't want to do that.
Please if anyone knows how to fix it please...
lilcech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2008, 12:50   #17
munich-radio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to munich-radio
Hi all,

I also have the same problem using 5.54. Creating a playlist with around 4000 songs...and during playback of these songs...the memory rises extreme during the days.....after around 1 week of continuous playback the memory rose up to around 700 mb on a win XP machine with 2GB installed....

the system becomes so slow, that winamp needs to be shut down and restarted.

it seems that some mp3's aren't unloaded from memory....or similar...

regards christian

PS: maybe winamp could create a " LITE-Version " where the main focus would be, having the core functions back of a MP3 player. --> stable playback in very good quality. this used to work once !

please don't overload the player with functions nobody really needs or wants....the more functions you integrate the more unsecure it gets for users....

Last edited by munich-radio; 11th December 2008 at 13:10.
munich-radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump