Old 3rd March 2009, 19:13   #1
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
DSL modem crash?

My modem has been crashing and restarting by itself all morning. It does it more if I try to watch a show at Hulu.com. I already called ATT and they said they'll send a new modem for free.

What would cause one to crash(other than being faulty)?

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2009, 19:53   #2
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
Mine went goofy today. It's obviously fine now. Sometimess, here in NY, I know Verizon has had hub crashes and maybe so did my cable co.
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2009, 22:18   #3
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,252
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
Probably faulty. My Bellsouth modem went out sometime last year. It crashed and wouldn't reconnect afterwards. The "new" ATT gave me a new one after the technician checked the lines and such.
Omega X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 08:30   #4
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
It seems as my modem is now working normally now. A new modem still sounds cool though.

Could a faulty CAT5 cable between modem and router cause the modem to crash?

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 09:17   #5
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
^ It's probably The Flux Capacitor! Actually, whenever
my modem goes hinky, I unplug, then replug everything. Sometimes it works. I would think a faulty cable could screw it up.
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 16:15   #6
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Faulty cabling is the culprit a surprising amount of the time. A rule I use (stolen shamelessly from a great network book) is "when troubleshooting, physical layer first!"

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 18:30   #7
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
It's back to messing up already. I'm sure it's not the cable either. I tried another cable and then I connected my xbox directly to the modem and it still crashed within a couple of minutes.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 20:51   #8
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
^ Do you have a Center, like Cablevision(IO) has, where you can walk in and pick up a modem?
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 02:51   #9
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Routers and modems are toasters. Place them in well ventilated places where they won't get hot.

Quote:
It does it more if I try to watch a show at Hulu.com.
Yep. That would be in keeping with my experience of them getting too hot. The temptation is to stick them someplace in a cranny of your desk. Nope get em out in the air.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 04:54   #10
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,990
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
I used to stack the router on top of the modem... You likely could put bread between and make toast. Now they're side-by-side, with a little space between.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 21:20   #11
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I've always had my modem on top of the router.

Anybody know what ATM PVC is and what it does? And how does it affect DSL connectivity?

I looked it up but I'm not getting a great idea of what its general usage is.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2009, 01:58   #12
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Where did you see that? ATM stands for asynchronous transfer mode and PVC stands for permanent virtual circuit.

As far as I know with DSL (which admittedly isn't a ton), it's essentially what the telco sees on its end of a DSL connection.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2009, 03:38   #13
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
My DSL modem connection information page is where I saw that. I'm not sure if it's an essential thing but my modem couldn't find it or something like that.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2009, 05:54   #14
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,990
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
Quote:
Originally posted by k_rock923
Where did you see that? ATM stands for asynchronous transfer mode and PVC stands for permanent virtual circuit.
No, ATM stands for "automated teller machine" and PVC stands for "polyvinyl chloride", a plastic used for plumbing pipe.

Get it right.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2009, 13:10   #15
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
My modem has done this before, I just unplugged it for a few hours and it's been fine ever since.

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2009, 15:09   #16
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Sometimes routers and modems will just go stupid. About once a month, I'll have to do a software or "unplug" reset. A couple times the problem has been someone pinging the shit out of my computer. I'd assume they were looking for holes in the firewall.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 18:20   #17
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I have the new modem now. It's the same as the old one. So far so good.

Only time I think someone is trying to get to my computer is when there is activity when I'm not using the internet.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 19:03   #18
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
In the old days, you could just look at the bandwidth monitor, but these days so many thing use the web unattended.... like update programs, email polling etc.

Fortunately (or unfortunately) malware usually gives other indications of being present.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 19:31   #19
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
Usually it's the modem that blinks when the router isn't.

I guess it's good I put XP on it's own partition(easier to format and start fresh).

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 19:45   #20
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
Speaking of malware, [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conficker Conficker] is pretty impressive... Just figured out what it was doing on my parents' machine and managed to remove it....
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 11:59   #21
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
Why do people bother making malware?

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 12:25   #22
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
Quote:
Originally posted by cooky560
Why do people bother making malware?
Absence of life or getting laid perhaps?
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2009, 13:35   #23
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Quote:
Originally posted by cooky560
Why do people bother making malware?
Because it can be profitable.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump