Old 3rd September 2001, 23:29   #1
DIatomaceous
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2
Transparent WIndows

I realize this message probably belongs in AVS Discussion, but I think the general public should know about this awesome feature of winamp's AVS. If you don't understand any of what I'm saying, just reply back and someone will answer you I'm sure ;-)

I use Windows 98 se and this works really well..

Here are my steps for making "Transparent Windows" using Winamp's AVS Plugin.

WARNING!!!! THIS TECHNIQUE COULD EASILY RESULT IN EPILEPTIC SIEZURES!

1. Activate AVS (Advanced Visualization Studio) in Winamp
2. Check both "Overlay Mode" and "Set Desktop to Color" under Settings-Display in AVS Settings

--Background should now be AVS plugin--

3. Go to display properties (right click on desktop-properties) and select Appearance.
4. Click on the Background or choose "background" from the Item dropdown menu and click on the
down arrow next to color, then on other.
5. In this screen make sure the background (AVS) is still going where you see "Color/Solid" and
then click on "Add to Custom Colors"
6. Almost there... go back and select any item you wish (I recommend 3D buttons, window, both
window title bars, and of course the background) and for its color go to 'other' and choose the
custom color you made earlier.
7. You'll probably have to make your fonts white or some other bright color, because most
presets are dark in color. I also make mine bold for greater visibility.

PLAY WITH THIS! It is extremely fun to mess around with it to create more suble effects or more drastic ones. You can't have too much fun!

I've included a real photo of my desktop with this effect on- note the start menu and windows explorer--

ENJOY!!

-Diatomaceous
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cooldesktop2.jpg (79.4 KB, 174 views)
DIatomaceous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2001, 23:48   #2
WolfieD
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i was fooling with it earlier this week, and never woulda thought to make both the background and the other stuff the same color.

good call!
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 00:30   #3
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Blech. I did that once. It looks nifty as long as AVS is on, but once you turn it off everything is the same color. . . and ugly.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 00:45   #4
s1138
Alumni?
 
s1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: joja
Posts: 6,936
Send a message via ICQ to s1138 Send a message via AIM to s1138 Send a message via Yahoo to s1138
hehe thats sweet

s1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 03:05   #5
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,331
heh i foud that out a couple weeks ago when i started making 3d presets. it is cool
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 05:27   #6
mr_sax
Major Dude
 
mr_sax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: pabuk.com/forums :)
Posts: 1,907
Send a message via ICQ to mr_sax
Quote:
Originally posted by Curi0us_George
Blech. I did that once. It looks nifty as long as AVS is on, but once you turn it off everything is the same color. . . and ugly.

then again u could probably just set the color of the AVS to the same as the color you have set for 3d objects then it would do it when on and it wouldn't look bad when off

mr_sax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 06:43   #7
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Yeah, but then you can't read your windows when it's on because the text is dark. I tried that, too. If you want to set your 3d objects as dark by default, it'll work, though, and work great.

Of course, I prefer to just leave it all alone, so I can see my nice background, which is much better looking than any preset.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 13:28   #8
Someonebutnotme
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
around the same thing happens with Milkdrop too no?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 14:12   #9
NeoRenegade
Banned
 
NeoRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada, eh?
Posts: 4,083
Send a message via ICQ to NeoRenegade Send a message via AIM to NeoRenegade
Bleh. Overlay. Big deal. It's just how it works... using a certain colour. My ATI TV Tuner Wonder uses something like this for its overlay colour.
NeoRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2001, 14:28   #10
mark e
Major Dude
 
mark e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,117
Cool
mark e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2001, 22:27   #11
DIatomaceous
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 2
Color when off..

Just in response to some of the messages about it looking bad when winamp is off... I took off winamp shwoing up in the taskbar and system try, so it's almost invisible, and just keep it running all the time, whether a song is playing or not. Like this, I just have a very subtble preset that looks really cool even when no music is playing. Just thought I'd throw in my two cents. Also worth trying--

Just make your fonts this color, nothing else.. very cool effect there too..

Keep Tweaking!

-Diatomaceous
DIatomaceous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 00:38   #12
n_ick2000
Forum King
 
n_ick2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: -
Posts: 2,501
Send a message via AIM to n_ick2000 Send a message via Yahoo to n_ick2000
It is cool to do that but if you want to restore your original settings, its a pain in the ass.

|
n_ick2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 01:33   #13
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
n_ick, just save the original scheme first. Then, just apply it when you are through with the overlay thing.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump