Old 11th December 2003, 23:57   #361
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
[off topic]
woot, page 10
[/off topic]

knew that's the case (reminder is always good though) but i can see why people may stick with earlier versions and where possible i'll ensure the plugins will run under older versions even if there's limited support - features disabled, etc (as jtfe already does)

all so far have been tested on a 2.91 base and beta2 with an occasional test on 2.81. so for what i'm doing, supporting of older versions is built in anyway so it's not a problem for me though unless it's a major issue i'm unlikely to deal with it.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2003, 02:31   #362
jro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 8
Wow! I'm sitting here enjoying the sights and sounds of winamp 5. And the latest plugin is working perfectly.

Since I did not see a link saying, "Download Winamp 5", I assumed it had not been released yet, or you needed special permission to get it. I did some seaching and I found it finally! I really like the stats features, but that's another thread.

DrO, the main plugin I am using is the SqrSoft Advanced Crossfader. I really like the way I can control the crossfade compared to the crossfader in winamp 3.

Keep up the good work and thanks for the nudge to winamp 5!
jro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2003, 03:07   #363
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
jro...

I'm glad that you're enjoying Winamp 5.0

btw... the LATEST release candidate (rc666) can be found here...
Winamp 5.0rc666 here

That's the same version currently available to beta testers.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2003, 04:22   #364
Mmusicman
Senior Member
 
Mmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 142
Hey DrO: Just thought of another request for your awsome JTFE plugin...

How about "Delete Song" or "Delete Selection" as a right-click option. Sometimes I've stuck music or something in a playlist I want to remove later, and I have to manually scroll through a long list to find it and remove it.

Just to let you know, I work with your JTFE plugin every week, and it has really made my job alot easier...Thanks again!

PS: Congratulations to everyone on 10 pages!!!
Mmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2003, 18:40   #365
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@jro: glad it's working for you and welcome to the Winamp 5 world

@Mmusicman: i'm glad it's making it easier for you with the job!

i'll consider it, i'm thinking of extending the right-click mode to add some more information about the enqueued file, etc so there's a chance it'll get in as an extra option.


just run it under rc666 and it's working well!
whatever the devs have done, reloading a skin will now not put the skinned window contents into the main player window (was still happening in rc10). the windowshade issue still happens but that can be worked on i think.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 03:23   #366
Q3aiml
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 19
No big deal but possibly an option to not open jump on winamp open?
Don't open/close winamp all that much but when I do I usually just have it open and auto start playing, use enqueuing later.

Great plugin btw
Q3aiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 03:40   #367
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
No big deal but possibly an option to not open jump on winamp open?
Errrr... that doesn't happen with me at all.
Maybe something went amiss. Try uninstalling the plugin, then closing Winamp 5.0, then reinstalling the plugin, and then reopening Winamp 5.0.

If that doesn't work then there is another thing to consider. By chance, did you ever upgrade "over-the-top" from any of the older Winamp 5.0 Beta builds directly to a Winamp 5.0 Release Candidate? If so, that's a no-no and may be causing problems with the plugin.

Partially quoted from the Put ALL Winamp 5.0 RC Bugs In HERE! Sticky thread...
Quote:
UNINSTALL ALL OLD BETA BUILDS BEFORE UPGRADING TO RC and FINAL!!!
If you had done that, then uninstall Winamp 5.0 and then perform a new clean install of the latest release candidate.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 04:35   #368
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Or . . .

Prefs -> Jump To File Extra -> Display tab
Uncheck: reload jtf when winamp is starting up

DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 05:20   #369
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
DOH!! Nope... DOUBLE DOH!!
Egg... I'm a jerk. Sheesh! ...



OK.. that's it. It's after midnight in my part of the world, I've had a few too many beers, and I need to go to bed.

See ya tomorrow, when my brain is semi-hardened and not the mess of sloosh it is now.
I knew that.. I knew that. Why the hell I posted the response I did is beyond me. Sheesh. DrO will never forgive me. Aaaack!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 06:18   #370
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Wow, the enqueing in the playlist is awesome! Thanks Dr. O.
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 06:20   #371
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
It's after midnight in my part of the world...
On the Tharsis Ridge?
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 06:40   #372
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
After using JTFE for a while, may I suggest that pressing Q should enque the currently selected file in the Jump dialog, just as it does in the playlist? Only seems logical to me....
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 07:55   #373
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@Q3aiml: thanks

@Nunzio: you should sleep more mate

@badrad: (did you see DJ Egg's response to it when it came out? lmao when i saw it )

as for the 'q' in the dialog option i can see where you're coming from but that would break the handling of keypresses already in the dialog. maybe 'alt+q' in the dialog?

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 18:31   #374
Mmusicman
Senior Member
 
Mmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 142
@Nunzio390: You reeeaally made me laugh outloud!! Too funny!!(thanks for the humor and the most exellent screenshot...ha!)

(PS: Homer...#1 American! yea!)
Mmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 19:37   #375
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
@ badrad...
Quote:
Originally posted by badrad
On the Tharsis Ridge?
Yes. Exactly. Since May 1998 (after an alien abduction), I have been living in the Tharsis Ridge (part of the Martian lowlands), where many of the largest volcanoes of Mars are located.

@ DrO...

I feel much better now after having slept and I'm happy to report that my brain is no longer liquified. It's more like a gelatinous substance right now, and I can think much more clearly.

@ Mmusicman...

Well I'm glad I made you laugh.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 19:59   #376
Q3aiml
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 19
I swear that option wasn't there the last 20 times I looked lol
Q3aiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 20:23   #377
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Nahh. It was always there. I even UNchecked it myself initially. But when I posted my first response to you last night, it was late, I'd had too many brewskies, and my brain-stem was malfunctioning. LOL!

Egg had to come to my rescue, probably thinking to himself, "WTF is up with Nunzio tonight?? I'd better bail him out".

Anyway, now you and I both have a splendid screenshot as a reminder.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 02:35   #378
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
Nunzio: Wow... your lag must be incredibly huge from Tharsis Ridge. Mind if i come visit you some day? i'd love to see the place. Those volcanoes aren't active, are they? I think Mars is pretty geologically dormant.

WHEREamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 05:08   #379
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
LOL !!
Yes... there is an appreciable lag (I have to rely on satellites you know, and sometimes it takes forever to post in these forums ) and yeah... it's pretty much geologically dormant. But you are welcome to come visit anytime you like.

You'll love it. It's breathtaking (literally - thin atmosphere ) when looking from the Tharsis Ridge out across the deep and sweeping vista of the Valles Marineris canyons - deep blues and emerald greens. An awareness of not only the vast range of mountains and canyons, but also of time and events long goneby.

ROTFLMAO!!!
* Come find out more about my history starting at the very "beginning" and then leading up to the present day.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 05:44   #380
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
Come find out more about my history starting
Awesome. Your site crashed my firebird and made me lose all my active tabs...
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 05:57   #381
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
Awesome. Your site crashed my firebird and made me lose all my active tabs...
That should never have happened.
I use Mozilla Firebird myself. What do you have? A Pentium II and a 56k dialup connection? Most bizarre.
* The HTML and scripting is hand-coded and flawless at my site btw

But we are getting seriously off-topic here. My bad.
Sorry! Take this thread back now, DrO!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 06:26   #382
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
But we are getting seriously off-topic here. My bad.
Sorry! Take this thread back now, DrO!
Its his fault for not giving us any new toys to play with (j/k).

Anyway, I wasnt pointing blame, was just kinda pissed and felt like venting. It crashed when I clicked stop on the midi or whatever was playing. Meh. Gotta run.
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 06:27   #383
Supremacey
Senior Member
 
Supremacey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 441
Is there any way to display a song's que position in the playlist, instead of the "Jump to File" window?

GO CANUCKS GO
Supremacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 07:21   #384
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
no, not yet.
not even sure if it's possible...

we're talkin' Winamp 2.x pledit here, not Winamp3 wasabi pledit.wac

/waits for DrO to step in and say, "sure it is"...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 12:59   #385
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@Nunzio390: offtopic?!? never saw a thing

Quote:
not even sure if it's possible...
all title formatting is done by Winamp internally from the input plugins and so there's no way afaik at the moment to work around it.

@Supremacey: i'm going to do the best i can to work around this by adding some info to the playlist right-click menu and making it a bit more customisable. as things stand with the player that's the best i can offer.

Quote:
Its his fault for not giving us any new toys to play with
@badrad: bad badrad, bad

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 07:07   #386
EdgeOfEpsilon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mother, with love.
Posts: 345
Send a message via ICQ to EdgeOfEpsilon Send a message via AIM to EdgeOfEpsilon
I have just one request for the JTFE plugin. In the options it would be cool to be able to select which buttons you want. For example, I don't want to have the "Jump to File" button, I just use it for enqueueing.

It would also be nice to be able to rename the title on the JTF dialogue, because a lot of people don't use it for that purpose.

Oh, and another thing. It would be good if, when skinned, the dialogue would be locked in the correct size for that skin (don't know if it could be made skin specific).

Ok, well, three requests... er, sorry about that.

[EDIT oh, and there's that fourth request, that of being able to enqueue a Winamp shutdown. Probably that would take the form of an additional button, or a virtual "track" in the list. Depends on what's possible I guess]

[EDIT EDIT I'm greedy, I'm sorry. Winamp 5.0 set my standards high ]

Last edited by EdgeOfEpsilon; 15th December 2003 at 08:07.
EdgeOfEpsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 11:14   #387
Chris Diack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 124
Now that starts an entirely new train of thought...

Our radio station switches from a playlist audio item to an internet stream in the Playlist Editor at (near to) a specific time and simultaneously (not really cos we can't) we switch an audio source using http://www.ptpart.co.uk/quickmix/

Can an .exe file (or similar) be executed from an item in the Winamp Playlist..

I guess this post needs to be in the Extended Playlist forum, (or maybe not)...

Chris
Chris Diack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 19:00   #388
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@EdgeOfEpsilon: i like the button config option. eventually i think i'll add it in + i'm looking at increasing the customisability of the right-click menus in the playlist so this may make more sense to do.

the title will stay the same, sorry but i'm sticking to my guns on that one

the skin sizing will be fixed for the next version i hope (that's why i've allowed the window to be sized for the time being as a work around).

ah the shut down after a specified track option... you never know

@Chris: i think that could be done as an input plugin which is called for say *.exe. seen this mentioned before but never thought it was quite right considering what Winamp is meant to do

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 19:14   #389
sinistergfx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 8
Is it possible to implement right-click queueing in the ML?

Rock on DrO.
sinistergfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 22:52   #390
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@sinistergfx: that should be possible to implement but it will not be in the v1.0 release (though you never quite now how a developer's mind changes )


as the Winamp5 release draws near, so does the birth of development energy on my part - active development of the plugin is back on!

already fixed a major crash bug that was related to the keyboard code and added one or two little suggestions to some of the features.

the main thing at the moment is updating the config code to not crash on WinME systems (have to be kind to them ) and increasing the playlist editor enhancements ('m' shortcut for move after current, config over the added menu for placement, items, etc).

@Chris: timed queuing will be started in a few days and there will be a test release a bit after that to check the code is correct and what/how it can be improved upon from what i knock up initially

and as a note, roll on the official birth of Winamp 5

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 23:09   #391
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Great that development is back to JTFE

Hmm, is the shuffle logic already fixed, or isn't it high on your todo list anymore?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 23:15   #392
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's still high on the list, just was taking longer to get sorted out plus when i tidied up the code i badly broke what i had but that was good since i really need to develop code that will track forward and backward movement when shuffle is on.

it will come, just taking longer than i hoped for, but when it is i doubt anyone will notice it (well that's how tight i intend to make it )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 23:39   #393
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Can we expect these things in the new version?

- jtf dialog skinning code moved from jtfe to skinned preferences plugin

- Jump to track code (from the jump to track plugin?) merged into jtfe

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 00:33   #394
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i think there's a good chance of it

just finishing off the 'move after current' code for the playlist window for tonight.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 06:28   #395
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
just finishing off the 'move after current' code for the playlist window for tonight.
Cool.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 10:48   #396
Rudel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: GRONINGEN !!
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
just finishing off the 'move after current' code for the playlist window for tonight.
Yeah cool indeed

Another suggestion (suggested it before, but im not sure if you read it in this pile of messages):
Is it possible to implement the function "Move Currently Playing Above Selected Song" or something like it (to let winamp continue playing on another place in the playlist, another album for example). Would be really appreciated by, at least, me.
Multiple thanks for offering the plugin as it is now, and i'm looking forward to the new version
Rudel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 13:24   #397
Stratyon
Senior Member
 
Stratyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 132
Something that kinda annoys me about the JTF dialog when used for enqueuing is that the songs are displayed alphabetically instead of the order they are in the playlist. Is it possible to add an option to decide which sorting you want?
Stratyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 15:45   #398
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
@Stratyon:

Well, the JTF dialog isn't meant to replace the PL. Use it additionally. You see the PL order in the PL and the alphbetic order in the JTF dialog. I think that is ok so. And it is much easier to find a song if the songs are displayed alphabetically. So it is perfect now as it is (IMHO).

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 18:05   #399
Stratyon
Senior Member
 
Stratyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 132
Well I don't agree because my playlists usually have very spesific sorting, and I would actually prefer to use the JTF dialog completely instead of the playlist because you can see the enqueued songs there. Even if sorting the songs like in the playlist would mean having to stay away from the "search for text" function it would still be worth it as an option for me. But it was just an idea. nothing to get worked up over.
Stratyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 18:19   #400
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally posted by Stratyon
Well I don't agree because my playlists usually have very spesific sorting,
But turning on shuffle makes them play randomly, without eny specific sorting. And using the enqueue option without shuffle on, doesn't make too much sense. Use "Move after current" for this case. Then U can see the enqueued songs in the PL (actually the whole rest of the PL is "enqueued")

Quote:
Originally posted by Stratyon
and I would actually prefer to use the JTF dialog completely instead of the playlist because you can see the enqueued songs there.
If you use "MOve after current", you see in the PL, which song is to be playes next. If you use "Shuffle" and use "enqueing", you just have to press "J" to see the enqueued songs.

Quote:
Originally posted by Stratyon
But it was just an idea. nothing to get worked up over. [/B]
Well, we just have to avoid to having too many options. There are already quite a lot of options in the preferences.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump