Old 25th November 2003, 23:08   #281
Mmusicman
Senior Member
 
Mmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 142
How about:

"Enquing" box stay open?

"Move to next" box close?

Or an option to choose?

(It's all good!)
Mmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 23:16   #282
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
It closes the dialog, only if "Leave dialog open" is not checked. you will have to check this box and make "enqueue" the default option in preferences. now it will enqueue by double clicking and leave the dialog open.

This works for me. If it doesn't try to uninstall the other plugin.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 23:27   #283
nifti
Senior Member
 
nifti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally posted by Mmusicman
How about:

"Enquing" box stay open?

"Move to next" box close?

Or an option to choose?

(It's all good!)
What are you talking about, are those your wishes or are they in the plugin? well I sure as hell can't find em'
nifti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2003, 09:00   #284
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@amano: thought so, nice bit of culture brought to the thread

@Chris: it's all to be finalised at the moment, just working on how to integrate it all into the existing code base. i'll probably drop down to the second for it.

at the moment i've just added in the basic dialog, etc needed. as of last night i've put a feature hold in place so it's only bug fixing that will happen now before the next version. the timed option will probably be in the version after that (with any bug fixes for the next released version).

@Mmusicman: he he, internal i'm now at 0.91 since i've got the alt+click and playlist enqueuing fully working!

@nifti: there's a few issues with the current release with double-clicking. the one-click plugin doesn't affect any of the features of the jump to file dialog.

what Mmusicman posted are options on the first tab of the preferences pages for the plugin.

to work around your problem you need to set enqueue as the default double-click option and check the "Leave dialog open when using 'added' buttons" as amano said. That way it will work for this version.

I've almost reworked the existing code for that so it will work (i part broke it in the last release )


Ok today's progress:
* alt+click and playist enqueuing is fully working and all lists are updated on the change
(only issue is that if the same file is duplicated then the first one will be used in the queue - that's a limitation of the way i can get at the playlist items)

* fixed a few more issues with queuemarking so it will correctly work in all cases now (just multi-enqueued indicator handling to complete)



as a side note, with the playlist enqueuing i've checked last night to see if it is possible to add the queuemarking indicating to the playlist. unfortunately it's not possible to do since the titles are read from the input plugins so there's no way i can intercept and alter them as things currently stand. there may be a way but i'm not looking into this for a while now.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2003, 17:58   #285
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO


Ok today's progress:
* alt+click and playist enqueuing is fully working and all lists are updated on the change
(only issue is that if the same file is duplicated then the first one will be used in the queue - that's a limitation of the way i can get at the playlist items)

* fixed a few more issues with queuemarking so it will correctly work in all cases now (just multi-enqueued indicator handling to complete)
that's great news.

Quote:
Originally posted by DrO

as a side note, with the playlist enqueuing i've checked last night to see if it is possible to add the queuemarking indicating to the playlist. unfortunately it's not possible to do since the titles are read from the input plugins so there's no way i can intercept and alter them as things currently stand. there may be a way but i'm not looking into this for a while now.
that's indeed bad news

perhaps you should not try to intercept and alter the titles, but alter the playlist numbers instead?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2003, 18:07   #286
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
perhaps you should not try to intercept and alter the titles, but alter the playlist numbers instead?
not possible it seems. all title drawing is done internally by winamp and i can't see how to get around the issue.

i was jumping around the flat when i got it fully working (i think that's another point on the winamp5 wish list dealt with by one of my plugins )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2003, 21:05   #287
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
Uhm... sorry to mention this now, but I just installed jtfe .9j (was using an older version of the .9 series) and when i try to access the prefs for the Jump to File winamp crashes with comctl32.dll error.

WinME 866 pIII
DirectX 4.08.01.0901 (8.1)
Wa5rc8
Modern Skin or Classic (doesn't matter)

That should be enough info i think.

Also, on a side note, I just got an error with gen_play_remove.dll as reported in the proper thread (just to lazy to make two posts ).

Good work, I'd love to see some of the config options . Any chance on .91 seeing some daylight?
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2003, 08:43   #288
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@lunarboy1: thanks for the info. that's two reported issues now on the config code (only seems to be a WinMe that the issue is happening though some machines work ).

it looks like i'll need to re-code the prefs to be friendlier so that's going to put things back a bit more

it'll be .92 or .93 that'll come out now i think.

i'm likely to put out a saturday/sunday (as that build stands with a note on what is/isn't working correctly so i can get a few new parts/fixes tested out).

it looks like i've fixed the double-click/enter issues on the dialog (just to ensure a few unwanted messages are blocked). so enter will do as the menu says and double-clicking will do as per the setting in the prefs - should be more sensible that way

just need to re-fix a few parts since i've moved the code around to make it easier to manage which has fudged a few bits but the error handling is working so that's not too bad

have found a few weird bugs, etc that may occur in weird cases but that should be all ironed out soon

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2003, 21:48   #289
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
COMCTL error

I run WinME and get a similar error to Lunarboy.

SPECs:
WinME
DirectX 9.0b
Only tried with classic skins
WinampRC8, but also present in beta2

Otherwise, excellent program DrO!
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2003, 08:28   #290
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@jmatthews112: cheers for that. it's too late for the next release to get the preferences code reworked. i will try to do a quick hack around for the WinME users so preferences can be altered though they won't be integrated in winamp's preferences

otherwise tonight is the night of fun when i'll do a few final bits of coding to buddle up a new release for tomorrow.

the new version should be a bit more reliable with skinning, etc though not all features will be complete (at the moment) - there will be a readme with it to indicate the known features (not too many now)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 13:16   #291
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
here's the current build i have. there's a few issues (which the readme with it says but useability is there).

also this should be more stable than the previous v0.9j release

enjoy

-daz
Attached Files
File Type: zip gen_jumpex_v0_92a.zip (17.3 KB, 14598 views)
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 13:48   #292
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Yes, yeesss, yeeeesssss! w00t

"Enqueue selected" in playlist


The 'ghost' bug is still there, but I honestly don't care, lol.
Actually, it only happens if JTFE is open and then putting pledit in winshade,
but it doesn't happen if pledit is already in winshade...
(using modern skin with jtfe skinned).
Not something that will ever bother me anyway.

Truly awesome!
multiple w00ts again!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 14:13   #293
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
easy there

i've not managed to reproduce the winshade issue (makes it hard to fix that one )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 14:30   #294
quentin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: austria
Posts: 43
just tested those basic functions that i need and it works! thumbs up DrO!
quentin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 14:38   #295
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yay glad they are working again - involved a lot of message trawling to work out what was being sent so i could get it to do the 'enter' mode correctly without lnking it to the double-click mode (as happened in the last release)

well that's a confirm it's working correctly so i'm happy, yay (not as happy as a certain moderator though )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 15:28   #296
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
cool!
Beginning to look REALLY good now.
Oh, and cool idea with the third enqueue option

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 15:43   #297
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
before i forget, there's a few extra features i've added from previous versions to save having to read all the updates in this thread
  • playlist enqueue (of course)
  • save search to playlist (mentioned earlier on)
  • right-click menu / ctrl+click on the enqueued text indicator on the dialog ()
  • previous search restore option
  • auto open of jtfe when winamp starts
  • lots of fixes and internal changes (to make things a lot more reliable)
  • more is coming for the next few verisons (jump to time will be in the next release )
-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 16:01   #298
mark e
Major Dude
 
mark e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,117
When closing JTFE diolog, wa5 crashes and gives me this::
WINAMP caused a stack fault in module KERNEL32.DLL at 0167:bff7429f.
Registers:
EAX=816f89bc CS=0167 EIP=bff7429f EFLGS=00000283
EBX=00640010 SS=016f ESP=00649e7c EBP=00008e74
ECX=c168fbb0 DS=016f ESI=00000000 FS=517f
EDX=000263a4 ES=016f EDI=0000ffff GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
eb 95 8b 54 24 04 50 e8 04 00 00 00 58 c2 04 00
Stack dump:
bff71547 00000000 0064a04a 0064a026 00649fcc 10014cc7 4b4815d8 00000004 00000388 00000000 00000000 0064a04a 0064a026 00000000 00000000 00000000


Using wa5rc8, jtfe 0.92a, default-modern skin. winshade mode + plylist. win98!
mark e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 16:05   #299
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
does it happen if you are not using windowshade? also does it happen if skinning is disabled?

(already trying to figure out in my head what's going on with the code on closing that could be causing that... )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 18:43   #300
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
DrO...

I have to repeat myself, and BELIEVE me when I say it is well-deserved. So, I now quote myself from another post...
Quote:
Sheesh! I've never seen anyone develop as many plugins as you have in such a short period of time, and MAINLY in response to member's requests / wishes. Unbelievable. Absolutely unbelievable and mind-boggling.

DrO is the Magical Genie of Winamp plugins / enhancement!! Ask once and your wish is granted!!

Forums member: "Hello. Can somebody make this or do that for Winamp?"
DrO: "Hmmm. I don't see why not."

DrO: "Your wish has been granted!"
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 18:59   #301
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Just to confirm Dr0, WinME systems (at least mine does) crashes when I try to load the preferences for JTFE. Good luck trying to fix it, but otherwise, great plugin.
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 19:02   #302
Chris Diack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 124
Superb Darren...

This update has obviously taken considerable effort and time and it's very much appreciated...

We're using Winamp 2.91 for our tests...

We're delighted with the graphics... too cool...

So, yet again... Thank you!!

Chris in New Zealand

Last edited by Chris Diack; 30th November 2003 at 20:28.
Chris Diack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 20:23   #303
Dipso
Senior Member
 
Dipso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 379
Great stuff. Positioning of the dialog still bugs up if i go from windowshademode to normal mode with the main window, other than that, perfect.

Phear the headbanging llama!!!

http://dipso.deviantart.com <- Art, Graphics, Photography.
Dipso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 21:04   #304
mark e
Major Dude
 
mark e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
does it happen if you are not using windowshade? also does it happen if skinning is disabled?

(already trying to figure out in my head what's going on with the code on closing that could be causing that... )

-daz
Yes it happens in non-winshade mode too. But when I disabled that skinning stuff then theres no crash
mark e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 23:25   #305
Stratyon
Senior Member
 
Stratyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 132
Speaking of windowshade modes... can you add a windowshade feature to the Jump to file window as well?
Stratyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2003, 00:41   #306
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
Nullsoft definitely needs DrO on the team, if he isn't already, lol.
That JumpToFile Extension is absolutely perfect now. I love it.
net-cruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2003, 01:22   #307
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
I had a look at the shuffle logic again with my seven song test PL. it didn't improve yet:

it played
4562356|4...
again with the bold ones being enqueued beforehand.

song 5 and 6 were repeated, song 1 and song 7 were skipped. ideally it should be 4562317|4... or 4562371|4...


Well, the .txt file told me that the logic code is being rewritten, and threrefore buggy, so I didn't do any further testing.

Other than that (a bit nitpicking, I know), I didn't like the name of one of the new right click entries in the PL. The new entries are "Jump to file (J)" and "Enqueue Selected (Q)". "Enqueue selected" is totally OK, but "Jump to File (J)" somehow hints that pressing "J" or clicking on the entry would make winamp jump to this song directly. I would call it "Open Jump to File dialog", or simply "Jump to file dialog". That would better explain, what winamp would do when pressing "J".

Btw, did I say, that I like the new full skinned dialog? Not?

EDIT: m3u saving! is wOOt! *amano likes it*

EDIT2: I can reproduce the "ghost bug" really easy.
celeron 800, 256mb ram, winxp sp1, rc8, modern base skin.
1) open the PL. 2)just press "j" (opens the jtf dialog) and 3) then double click the PL title to minimize the PL. there will be a lot of garbage in the main window.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8

Last edited by amano; 1st December 2003 at 02:42.
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2003, 12:37   #308
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@Nunzio390: your too kind

@jmatthews112: i'm starting work on re doing the code for it to be less of a major windows hack (i guess that's why only WinME systems have had that problem)

@Stratyon: not sure on that one but i would like it myself

@net-cruizer: careful there or you'll do yourself a DJ Egg mischeif

@amano: it all got broken when i tied up the source files. i'm working on handling forward/backward moves in the shuffle list.

the menu thing is understandable - just put it in but will change that

ah it's modern skins that it happens with - that explains why i failed to find it (forgot to test it with a modern skin, doh!)


@Chris: cheers, you'll like the new version in a week or two (at the max) when the 'jump to time' mode will be in place


no comments on the ctrl+click in the text option, oh well...

well it looks like this release has gone down well, yay (was a bit disheartened by the previous one) so taking the extra time has worked

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2003, 12:10   #309
GqSkrub
Major Dude
 
GqSkrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lancaster Pennsylvania
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to GqSkrub
never be disheartened drO, we love you!!! (screams)

No sig here folks.
GqSkrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2003, 12:55   #310
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by GqSkrub
never be disheartened drO, we love you!!! (screams)
and you're a lovely user

was a good thing that the previous version was a bit ropey since the new one came on a long way from it which is good for everyone.


i've reproduced the 'ghost' thing. in fact it's the same issue when a skin switch happens with the skinned dialog. for whatever reason the parent of the jtf dialog is altered when that happens which i'm still tracking down. don't understand why putting a window into windowshade will affect jtfe...hmmm.

i'm having a break from the code for a few days while i work out what still needs to be done + i want to give a few more of the other plugins a bit of love (already got three updated and waiting to go after a few final tests - best one is timerestore which doesn't screw up when i really hammer it now )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2003, 17:27   #311
Rudel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: GRONINGEN !!
Posts: 14
Hey, could you implement a move-after-playing function in the playlist? That would really finish the plugin IMO. I hope I don't suggest something other people already did, but the thread is too long to check
Keep up te good work!
Rudel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2003, 17:30   #312
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
no one has suggested it so you can get the credit for it. i was thinking about it but one request is enough to swing it to a definite addition.

it will be in for the next version

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2003, 19:11   #313
quentin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: austria
Posts: 43
Quote:
i was thinking about it but one request is enough to swing it to a definite addition.
man i love your attitude
quentin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2003, 19:15   #314
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well it makes sense to have it in there and it'll only take a few minutes to add it in.

i'm just too nice at times

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2003, 01:04   #315
Scumm_Boy
Junior Member
 
Scumm_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
This plugin is just too good!
Having an almost 8000 song long playlist, I havn't run into any shuffle issues.
Scumm_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2003, 01:26   #316
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Well, actually there are some shuffle issues currently. the more songs you enqueue, the more songs are skipped from the shuffle table. that won't be noticeable in a 8000 songs PL, though

and some inner voice tells me that DrO will have sorted out these shuffle glitches very soon.

Darren rulez!

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2003, 03:01   #317
Scumm_Boy
Junior Member
 
Scumm_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Ahh... Is the shuffle issue cumulative, or just excluding the last x that were enqueued? Or is it all the tracks that have been enqueued this session? or since the plugin has been installed?
Scumm_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2003, 03:34   #318
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Nope. when turning shuffle on Winamp 2/5 creates an invisible shuffled PL (called "shuffle table". when enqueueing let's say 5 songs, then the next 5 songs in the shuffle table are overwritten and thus not played afterwards anymore. enqueueing 300 songs will overwrite 300 songs in the table.

But as I said, the fix is to come soon. I got the impression that DrO wants the shuffle logic to be done carefully.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2003, 03:43   #319
Scumm_Boy
Junior Member
 
Scumm_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 30
Ah! I understand. I have no doubts that DrO will fix this shortly
Scumm_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2003, 06:56   #320
Stratyon
Senior Member
 
Stratyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 132
There's a feature I've been thinking of but haven't figured out how it could be implemented exactly... but I think it could be done this way... basically it could be possible to add a marker of sorts to the playlist, and the enqueuing would be triggered by it.
Picture this... you have all albums by a artist in one playlist, and you decide you want to queue up some songs, but since it's already half way through an album it would be just as well to keep playing it out. So either you'd have to wait with the enqueuing until it finished, or you'd have to enqueue maybe ten songs one after another just to make them play in the order they would if you hadn't done anything before it would start playing the other songs you enqueued.
What would be better is if when you enqueued songs you could place a marker, for instance at the end of the album, and then queue up all the songs. Then winamp would keep playing down the playlist as normal until it hit the marker and then the enqueue function would be activated.
It could even be taken further by having the ability to add more markers while enqueuing (in the right order) so that you could enqueue one song, put a marker 5 songs down, and then enqueue another song, and then it would play the songs that way.
Might be hard to pull off, but it's something I've wanted ever since Winamp3.
Stratyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump