Old 25th January 2004, 18:28   #81
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
How is everyone doing? I have just finished rebuilding my system which is why I have been gone.

QuadHeliX, I looked at your matrix trilogy skin (which looks great), I admit that all I know is to bring it into photoshop and fill>with some color>blending mode>hue that type of thing. If that will help, what parts of the skin and what colors?
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 21:28   #82
QuadHeliX
Major Dude
 
QuadHeliX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,133
http://frisbeemonkey.com/winamp3/tut...ammaworker.php
this is how you use color themes go ahead and post any other stuff in the matrix forum, I havent done anything to the GDO yet. is it going to be the main part of the skin or is the Stargate itself going to be the main?
QuadHeliX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 00:50   #83
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
The stargate is the main.
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 01:34   #84
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
Yeah, it was my understanding that the Gate & Dhd were the main player. The GDO was the shade mode.

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 01:37   #85
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
yep. really can't have the gate without the DHD.
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 01:40   #86
Icegod
Senior Member
 
Icegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 260
Naturally how are you going to control the gate otherwise

And for the GDO button functions here's an idea

Minimize Main Close
Prev Play/Pause Next
ML Stop Playlist

I know the open button is missing but with only 9 buttons there will have to be made some choices
Icegod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 04:57   #87
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
well, given as the GDO design has that left side cover that I recommeded be used to slide off as a draw to have the ML / PL inside it, it wouldn't be hard to code it so that thier's one button with Additional functions which also lives in the draw. that way you could have all the major features but only put the die hard requirements on there.

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 11:45   #88
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
After all the shade mode is all about minimum functionaltiy.
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 17:21   #89
FANTACMET
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 22
Send a message via ICQ to FANTACMET Send a message via AIM to FANTACMET Send a message via Yahoo to FANTACMET
In that case

Well since nobody could see the resemblence of my graphic to the actual stargate, whatsoever. Despite the fact of proper textures, lighting, etc. in the drafts, and the draft quality of it, I've decided to bail out on this one. This was my first attempt to try and help out in a request and community project, and if this is indicative of the kind of stuff, I can expect, then I suspect this will also be my LAST time attempting to help or honor a request. I may just forget all about posting any of my obviously substandard artwork as well, and just be a troll through the forums. Anyway, good luck with your skin.

Michael
FANTACMET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2004, 20:29   #90
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
FANTACMET, your drafts were fine. It's just that someone else had a better design so we went with that. I am also new to the forums and will take anything I can get for the sake of this skin. Thanks for your help!
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 15:33   #91
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
Hey Vice. Just a update on my end.

I've started on the DHD, (found some great schematics of it). I'll post a shot when i have anything worthy of showing.

The Gate is done, i won't slice it up untill we have a coder so i know exactly what they need.

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 16:10   #92
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
Foxw, thanks for the update.

Should I post asking for a coder in any certain forum yet or should I wait? This undoubtedly will be the hardest part.
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 16:13   #93
UUL
Winamp Addict
(Major Dude)
 
UUL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winamp Modern Skinning Forum!
Posts: 868
Send a message via ICQ to UUL Send a message via AIM to UUL Send a message via Yahoo to UUL
any new pics?
UUL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 20:23   #94
Icegod
Senior Member
 
Icegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 260
You could try to make a new thread with a title that shows you ask for a coder like: Stargate skin - coder needed or just coder needed.
Icegod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2004, 21:00   #95
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
Icegod: OK, I'll do that then.

UUL: Just this rendition I worked for a day on. Accuracy is that important thing here. We should have some pics soon. Hey...can you code?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stargate7.jpg (32.5 KB, 527 views)
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 02:06   #96
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
hehe Guess it's a good thing I'm doing the main graphics huh Vice

Oh I had this idea for a nice little easter egg.

Set up one or two hidden things that if they say punch in Earth's address on the DHD in a set time (then hit the enter globe) it opens some easter egg like .. say a list of the teams top 10 Stargate websites.

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 02:14   #97
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
Foxw, great idea the skin needs things like that.
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 10:32   #98
Icegod
Senior Member
 
Icegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 260
very good idea. But that will make the DHD very difficult to make. Because you should have 6 glyphs and a point of origin. And as I believed we where using the point of origins for the control of winamp.

But it should be possible to do there are enough glyphs not yet used on the DHD.

You could also make one for sg1's GDO code.
Icegod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 15:16   #99
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
Actually

IF what Frisbee monkey's told me it shouldn't be much harder, you'd just have to set it up to catch the call's, set a timer and if there are two Glyphs hit within say.. 2 seconds all actions are suspended and it goes into "easter egg" mode (where it catchs the glyphs and matchs it to the hidden strings)

ANd now you see why i've suggested why we get a non newb coder. Might i suggest we ask Rontz. he's fairly good, has experience and already has shown interest in the project.

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 15:31   #100
UUL
Winamp Addict
(Major Dude)
 
UUL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winamp Modern Skinning Forum!
Posts: 868
Send a message via ICQ to UUL Send a message via AIM to UUL Send a message via Yahoo to UUL
i now the basic things, don't know that much could help tough, nut can't do the entire skin i guess

btw just ask in this thread for a coder, no need for a new thread i guess
UUL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 16:24   #101
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
Foxw, I agree with you view on a non newb coder. It seems that we are pushing the limits of what is possible and not possible with this skin. Also, what is the plan with the iris? Should we just leave it out?

Rontz, are you intrested in the coding???

UUL, Yeah...it probably wasn't necessary to do the other post, but it's kind of a summary of what we need and an alternate source of advertisment. Which is quickly falling to the bottom of the forum
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 17:01   #102
Icegod
Senior Member
 
Icegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 260
This skin is really getting something very special.
And we indeed need a experienced coder for the thing we want to add. Already seen some nice work that Rontz did. If he is interested it would be great.

As for the coding of the easter eggs. I don't think that it is possible. I was talking about the glyphs that will be needed. you shou have the 6 glyphs and the point of origin. That last one could be left out or you use earths own point of origin
Icegod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 17:19   #103
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
Lightbulb

What if during the "play mode" the DHD shows only glyphs and if you hover over them you see the prev|play/pause|stop|next. And perhaps there could be a "gate address mode" designed specifically for easter eggs related to the show. In this mode the gate symbols are just symbols. Just an idea that might allow us to use a correct number of glyphs.
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 17:37   #104
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
ofcourse the coding of easter eggs is possible..
The only "problem" is deciding which way to do it, since there are several different ways it can be done..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 17:55   #105
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
Well, If as I'll initially be doing the DHD graphics so they are first completly show accurate *then I'll add in Over states with cb functions for some of them*

But as I said, if we set in code that it catches the button calls, sets a timer, and if no other glyphs are pressed within say.. 2-3 seconds then it exicutes that buttons "player" function, otherwise if it detects another glyph hit it switchs to "dialing" mode and then sits there untill the red activation globe is pressed (to "dial out").

TBH, that wouldn't be all that hard, least not the logic, it would just be have each button on the dhd call the same function (and passing player functions if thier is any)

it then would look lke this

DhdCommand(buttonnum,playerfunction)
check if timer exists,
if timer exists,
call Gatedialcode;
clear timer
else
call playerfunction
clear timer
endif
;


Yes that Very sketcy but the logic is still basic.

We know you can catch calls from buttons. So i don't see a problem between catching the calls and what not.

Oh but if we do use "dialing" we should pick a PoOrigin to be unanimouse (as earth doesn't use a dhd).. I recommend using earth's beta site (I got the address somewhere on my hdd).

That and if we use the beta site say they punch up the earth gate then the egg could be like, the iris closing.

But we do need to decide that soon (which PoOrigin this will be as that will be symbol i sub earth's symbol for (as the point of origin never apears on that worlds dhd)

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 18:20   #106
vicecitysoap
Member
 
vicecitysoap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA, FL
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to vicecitysoap Send a message via Yahoo to vicecitysoap
Thumbs up

Foxw: OK, I see what you mean. beta site sounds like the logical choice. I really like the iris closing if earth is dialed, idea.
vicecitysoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 23:13   #107
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
or say if they Punch in say.. Chulak, ummmmm Tul appears in the gate?...

hehe making easter egg's I suck at.. hidding em i'm good at

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 23:37   #108
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
heh, make punching in Abydos give an error with locking the 7th chevron..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 23:43   #109
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
That's a Season 7 reference isn't it Plauge (still waiting for 7 to be shown here)

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 23:44   #110
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Hmm... Can't wait for Stargate Atlantis... (the spin-off series, should start running side-by-side with season 8 at some point). Fun.

YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2004, 23:52   #111
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
yeah.. unless they push it back since SG1 is supposed to set up for movie 2 which inturn set's up for Atlantis..

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 01:10   #112
Icegod
Senior Member
 
Icegod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 260
If you are going to use dailing for easter eggs. You could also use othala's adress (try finding that 8 symbols instead of 7 ) that will show Thor or the O'Neill or Tor's chariot.

And the Goa'uld planet/ship for Apophis(don't know how to spell it, don't like him )

There are several adress that are quite easy to intergate.

As the PoO is unique to each planet it will diificult to chose one that will not interfear with the easter eggs.
I myself prefer the earth's second gate PoO. But the beta site is a good alternative none the less
Icegod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 01:34   #113
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
Well the reason IceGod were going to go with earths "beta" site is because it has a common Symbol which i can slip in for earth.

Basically every dhd lists all the glyphs for the local systems stargates. So thier's 39 glyphs which coraspond to 39 PoO. (and infinate combitations betwen them).

the only PoO not listed on the DHD is the planet your on (as you can't dial yourself)

and we've seen 24 addresses Dialed. (including Othella the asguard homeworld.

So that's a potential 24 eggs we can do with the dhd for the really obsessed SG fan

and I don't even want to think about the possible codes for the GDO as they are hardly ever shown clearly (now if we can get someone to go nuts watching the 2nd Ashen ep, we might get sg1's iris code as she's hanging and it was clear so might be able to spot what code she punched in.

But if we can get that code then we could make the easter egg with the iris, ie if someone hits gdo buttons (using same catch method as the dhd) randomly the iris will lock closed and not reopen untill the sg1 code is entered.

course maybe that's just getting a little crazy.

Oh btw the Stargate address for Othella is
Scutum,Taurus,Triangulum,Pisces Austrinus,Gemini,Virgo,Scorpio,+PoO

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 02:06   #114
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
too bad Atlantis probably won't air (or leak) before this skin is finished, otherwise we could possibly use the 8 symbol address for the Atlantis site as an easter egg aswell..

damn I'm looking forward to that show..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 02:24   #115
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
You and every other Rabid SG fan Plauge

But hey, we can always add it later. That's the best part of this idea, is we can add it at a later date.

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 02:43   #116
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
yea, that's true...

We could even make a secondary set of graphics for it later, with the Atlantis gate (it's supposedly gonna be pretty different).

A new type of gate would also mean a new set of easter egg possibilities..

heh

Another gate could possibly be the one the Nox and Tollans built on Tollana.

Quote:
Sam: But here wasn't a gate on Tollana?
Narim: The Nox and the Tollan were able to devise a way to get us there.
Jack: Of course you were.
Daniel: Way smarter then we are.
(team goes through stargate)
Sam: So you built this stargate?
Narim: Yes.
Daniel: Way smarter then we are.
Jack: Ours is bigger...


-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 04:11   #117
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
LOLROF-LMAO

Oh yeah, that scene was just SOOOO Good.

And I guess we'll have to see, after all, lord know's where Atlantis will fit into the timeline. If they do overlap seasons it'll have to be a fair bet in the future (i think there was like 1 or maybe 2 years between movie 1 and sg1), and likly were talking at LEAST 10 years and more likly lots more. since the movie 2 is intended to go between the two series.

But yeah, Say Plauge.. so what's your winamp specialty (since you seem to be hanging around alot and stalking this project ), maybe we can use you ^_^

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 04:27   #118
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
Atlantis is in production as we speak.
There won't be a second movie before Atlantis, the proposed second movie will instead be the two final episodes in season 7 (there will be a season 8 aswell).
Atlantis will pick up where season 7 ends, so SG-1 and Atlantis will overlap a little..

edit
uber teaser
/edit

about my winamp specialty.. well, I'm a coder.
I've been coding XML and Maki since the Winamp3 alphas and I've recently started coding C++ for Wasabi..

edit2
I've found the GDO code for SG-1, it's: 7062957 0282002
/edit2

-Plague

Last edited by Plague; 30th January 2004 at 04:45.
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 04:49   #119
Foxw
Senior Member
 
Foxw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: In my lab working on Assasin Droid 2.0
Posts: 409
Well I'll be... Well.. Lord know's how this new show will go. (mgm REALLY needs to update thier official page more -_-).

I just beg that they don't so totally F it up (like the cartoon did). I mean i'm not saying I want a replica, but i've watch good franchises go from great to ok to "oh sweet god i want off", specially with spin offs since it's not always easy specially in sci-fi to recreate the ... thing.. that made the first one so endeared.

hehe course love how RDA has it so he can come waltzing onto the show if he ever want's to work more (given as it's his company filming it)

You know Plauge.. Why don't you join the project as coder. (why do i have a feeling if you do i'll be adding 2 more ppl to my IM list for daily banter sessions over this project heh)

~Fox
Skins in dev | Prime | Untitled | STARGATE
My Deviantness
Foxw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 05:04   #120
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
well, the cartoon isn't an "official" stargate show, it's a damn rip-off, not exactly the same as a spin-off.
I'm pretty sure Atlantis will be a sweet show.
There's a rumor that Adam Baldwin will be a regular in the show, he's gonna guest star in some episodes in SG-1 season 7, so who knows, it might be true.. I hope it is.
We'll know this summer (airdate), if not sooner


Yea, I probably could join as coder..
I'm not completely sure how often I'll be able to work on it tho..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump