Old 2nd August 2005, 22:54   #1
Adam Reyher

Copyright Issues

I've got a question concerning copyright that someone here may be able to answer. I've created somewhat of a "music video" which includes a track as the background music, and then a combination of video and photos that I've taken myself. I didn't author the music (It's "I Dare You to Move" by Switchfoot). I do, however, own the CD where I got the song from.

As I'm not an expert, what issues of copyright violation am I looking at here if I were to redistribute CDs with this video of mine to friends (free of charge)? I have credited Switchfoot in the video if that makes any difference. Are there any kind of royalties I would need to pay in order to legally distribute this CD, or is the credit in the video enough?

Any guidance is appreciated.

- Adam
Adam Reyher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2005, 23:05   #2
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter

you are using copyrighted material , so you need to pay the royalties for using it, it doesn't matter if you own the cd or not.

most cd's have a line stating that you cannot use this material and copy it or stream it or make it public in any other way than in your own home.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2005, 03:27   #3
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian

Spaceplay's right, except before you can even charge royalties you have to get permission to distribute the music from the owner of the music (generally the record label). If they grant permission, they'll decide whether you'd have to pay royalties or could distribute it free.

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2005, 02:48   #4
Phyltre
Forum King

Send a message via AIM to Phyltre Send a message via Yahoo to Phyltre