Old 31st January 2006, 17:46   #201
reedermw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to reedermw
There appears to be a lot of interest in a single window UI. It would be great to have 'WinAmp5 Modern' and 'WinAmp5 Modern Single Window' as the default skin options at install time. Of course someone would have to port Nullsoft_Media_Player_10 to a new WinAmp5 Single UI skin with the default look of WinAmp5. Or just finish the work that IPTS started on the WinAmp5 Single UI skin. I think there would be a lot of value in this. I personally like the separate windows but have found that it can be a problem for some. It's easy to say that they can just find a suitable skin but providing one would help promote the product. As it stands, WinAmp5 will be the only product to support the iPod and 'MS Plays For Sure' devices at the same time. This puts WinAmp in a unique position to grab market share. Great work guys !!!
reedermw is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 17:52   #202
Wooden
Junior Member
 
Wooden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
* Fixes in_mp3 security hole.
???
the one fixed in 5.13?
if the hole was there in the previous build then it worked an other way as i tried to trigger it on my winamp 5.2 365 and it just added the entry to the playlist with no troubles. or maybe the exploits written for 5.12 didnt worked with 5.2?
Wooden is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 17:58   #203
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it should be the same fix but since the in_mp3 in the beta was a different branch of things it would work differently potentially depending on what had changed, etc in it.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 17:59   #204
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Yes, Egg should indeed notify us of the other changes...

YtseJam is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 18:12   #205
Ðårkeñ®
Junior Member
 
Ðårkeñ®'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Build 393 posted

* Fixes a memory leak when using playlist winshade mode in the modern skin.
* Fixes in_mp3 security hole.
* Added experimental skin-colored icons to media library tree - let us know what you think.
* Changed the "Devices" parent node (in media library) to "Rip & Burn". The dialog on this page is still in the experimental phase.
* Portable Media Player fixes
* Miscellaneous fixes (I'm sure Egg will remind us what they are, but I forgot
Good job! thanx for the update. This new buid works fine!
Ðårkeñ® is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 18:18   #206
DM.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Re: MTP playback

I know that MTP doesn't support byte-by-byte streaming, but how about just transfering over the entire song to the computer's temp folder and playing it that way?

It obviously has to be a song without DRM encoding, but I know this is possible. Real Player 10.5 does such a thing, so perhaps you can consider this type of playback?
DM. is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 18:29   #207
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Quote:
Originally posted by pinterpeti
OK, you said that now every tag-displaying happens through ATF and if ATF turned off, nothing shows up in the PlayList Editor. That's very bad because ATF does NOT support mp3 files with Lyrics3 v2.00 tags (length(title or artist or album)>30) so my files with such tags shows up with trimmed info. That was the reason why I haven't used ATF for ages. But now I have to, and it behaves like it not should. Now what? Do I need to re-tag my files with ID3v2 tags which I HATE because of the double filesize it needs and it copies my hard drive apart for nothing when I change one letter... Or is there a chance that sometime it gets supported by WinAMP finally (fully). PLZ I beg you add (at least) reading capability of such tags. Thanks for your support.
Please can you provide a link to a zipped sample file with Lyrics3 tags.

[edit]

Ok, We managed to get hold of an mp3 with lyrics3 tags.
Basically, ATF breaks lyrics3 tag support in all 5.x builds
(in_mp3 internal title formatting handled lyrics3 tags in 5.12 and previous, with ATF disabled).
Thanks.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 19:17   #208
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Build 393 changelog updated
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....65#post1855665
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 19:31   #209
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Looks like msvcr71.dll has been added to my Winamp directory, what is it for?
Also, why is unicows.dll still being installed for systems that don't need it? Such as, XP...

YtseJam is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 19:35   #210
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,411
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
* Added experimental skin-colored icons to media library tree - let us know what you think.
They're not always skin-coloured, eg. in this skin (and a couple more).
Attached Images
File Type: png ugly_ml_icons.png (12.4 KB, 403 views)
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 20:13   #211
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
bug with japanese title remain
bug in the media library that i select the next sond and the media library not see it... remain
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 20:25   #212
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
@djsolidsnake
Sorry, but we can't reproduce either of those.

@gaekwad2
I guess those skins will need updating then, heh.

@YtseJam
msvcr71.dll has been linked dynamically since 5.12
(instead of being linked statically inside all the plugins, which knocks a fair few kb off all of the dll filesizes)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 20:33   #213
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Well, I've removed it... Looks like no harm was done.
What about the 2nd .dll file?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 20:36   #214
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by YtseJam
Looks like msvcr71.dll has been added to my Winamp directory, what is it for?
Also, why is unicows.dll still being installed for systems that don't need it? Such as, XP...
MSVCR71.dll is the C runtime library.

unicows.dll isn't necessary on XP, as you say. You're right that it shouldn't install on NT. Just have to add the logic to the installer.
Benski is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 20:42   #215
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Hopefully that will be done for the next build.
(BTW, Benski, what about that RTL detection bit we conversed shortly about a few pages ago?)

And... What does this mean, exactly, MSVCR71.dll is the C runtime library ?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:15   #216
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
msvcr71 is the msvc7 (microsoft visual studio c++) runtime library, and is required for winamp/plugins to load/work.
If you remove msvcr71.dll from the Winamp dir, then Windows will look for and use another copy if found (ie. it will look in the %system% dir first, etc). If not found, then you'll get an error message and winamp will fail to load.
(I already explained that msvcr71.dll used to be linked statically inside every plugin in my previous post. Prior to 5.09x, Winamp was coded/built with MSVC6, and msvcp60.dll used to be linked statically inside winamp.exe and all plugins).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:22   #217
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
You assume people understand.
Well anyway, since Winamp and the plug-ins still function, I assume Windows has found another copy. Maybe this could be added as well to the installer logic?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:26   #218
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,411
To save 340KB of precious harddisk space?
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:28   #219
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Every bit counts.
So I'm a pedant, so what...!

YtseJam is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:29   #220
Blaubaer
Junior Member
 
Blaubaer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Blaubaer Send a message via AIM to Blaubaer Send a message via Yahoo to Blaubaer
the media library icons are not completely transparent. you can still see the "box" around them. even if you are using the standart modern skin with the default color theme.
Blaubaer is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:37   #221
wookietv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1
i too am getting this error message everytime i open/close winamp...

Motherboard=Abit NF7(-S) v2.0
CPU=AMD Athlon Mobile Barton 2500
RAM=1.5gb
SoundCard=Onboard Nvidia nForce Audio
Videocard=NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700 (DNA-Force 2.2.8185 Quality)
Windows OS=XP Home SP2
DirectX version=9.0c
Winamp version=5.2, build 393
Winamp installation type=clean, Full with portable plugin
Attached Images
File Type: jpg clipboard02.jpg (11.8 KB, 365 views)

Last edited by wookietv; 31st January 2006 at 21:53.
wookietv is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:44   #222
reedermw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to reedermw
WinAmp error at launch

I get this error every time I launch WinAmp. I have done a uninstall,reboot,delete c:\program files\winamp, clean install and I still get it. See attached screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg winamp_err.jpg (17.5 KB, 420 views)
reedermw is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:55   #223
reedermw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to reedermw
DRMCLIEN.DLL part 2

I found the files on my system in the following locations. I am running XP SP2 with all hotfixes.

Directory of C:\WINDOWS\RegisteredPackages\{C5B8FBE9-645E-4484-A7AA-E8DA9A70DD77}
08/11/2004 03:45 AM 253,688 drmclien.dll

Directory of C:\WINDOWS\RegisteredPackages\{C5B8FBE9-645E-4484-A7AA-E8DA9A70DD77}$BACKUP$\System
08/04/2004 07:00 AM 299,520 drmclien.dll

Directory of C:\WINDOWS\system32
08/04/2004 06:00 AM 299,520 drmclien.dll

Directory of C:\WINDOWS\system32\dllcache
08/04/2004 06:00 AM 299,520 drmclien.dll
reedermw is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:55   #224
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,062
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
They're not always skin-coloured, eg. in this skin (and a couple more).
I disagree with eggs comment about having to update them.

Some skins work fine with the new icons, others appear to use random colours that are used nowhere else in the skin for the icons, I've had some bright green on yellow, neither of those colours appear elsewhere in the skin.

If the colours are being picked off gen_ex.bmp, along with all the other ml colours, then where is it getting these from?

And how can two identically created gen_ex.bmp's, albeit with differing colour schemes produce differing results where one works and the other produces some wild variant?

Unless yet another colour pixel has been introduced that isn't documented?
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:57   #225
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i bet it's not handling one of the gen_ex.bmp implementations correctly (probably the 2.90/2.91 one)

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 21:58   #226
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr Jones
I disagree with eggs comment about having to update them.

Some skins work fine with the new icons, others appear to use random colours that are used nowhere else in the skin for the icons, I've had some bright green on yellow, neither of those colours appear elsewhere in the skin.

If the colours are being picked off gen_ex.bmp, along with all the other ml colours, then where is it getting these from?

And how can two identically created gen_ex.bmp's, albeit with differing colour schemes produce differing results where one works and the other produces some wild variant?

Unless yet another colour pixel has been introduced that isn't documented?
It's just a bug it's been fixed internally and will be OK in the next public beta
Benski is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 22:02   #227
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,062
Thank christ for that, was driving me mad trying to figure out how it was coming up with random colours
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 22:23   #228
Ryokurin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to Ryokurin
Quote:
Originally posted by djsolidsnake86
bug with japanese title remain
bug in the media library that i select the next sond and the media library not see it... remain
is the file coming from a network folder? if so its the same problem I've been having. The only way it will work is if you map folder to a drive letter.
Ryokurin is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 22:54   #229
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
a visual bug when i stretch quickly the playlist tab. That's the first time i saw it with winamp (and with this beta!

here is the screenshot

(for information
winamp 5.2 b393 clean install, windows XP SP2 Pro , nvidia GeForce 7800GTX drivers updated

screenshot:
http://skeksess.free.fr/nini/winamp/library_ug.jpg
glop is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 23:03   #230
dhead998
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 56
Very strange thing... I ripped a cd in m4a on 5.12 and added all files on the library... ok
In this beta 365 media library only shows 8 tracks in this album, but it has 19, and I tried to remove the files and then add again but it still show only 8.
Winamp can play the 19 files well, but in my ml I only have 8
I use win98
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Fixed.

Are you sure? Media Library still show only 8 tracks, I even tried to clear all the media library and then add it again and only show 8!

5.2.393
Win98SE

393 is great, just crash sometimes (beta, what xcan I expect)
dhead998 is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 23:10   #231
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by dhead998
Are you sure? Media Library still show only 8 tracks, I even tried to clear all the media library and then add it again and only show 8!

5.2.393
Win98SE

393 is great, just crash sometimes (beta, what xcan I expect) [/B]
Out of curiousity, do they show under the main "Local Media" view (that lists all files in your media library)
Benski is offline  
Old 31st January 2006, 23:57   #232
Ðårkeñ®
Junior Member
 
Ðårkeñ®'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 16
Winamp 5.2 build 393:

code:
Application popup:
winamp.exe - Application Error :
The instruction at "0x7c80979d" referenced memory at "0x01340024".
The memory could not be "written".

Click on OK to terminate the program

For more information, see Help and Support Center at
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


This error appear when I close Winamp.
Ðårkeñ® is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 00:52   #233
lifer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Out of curiousity, do they show under the main "Local Media" view (that lists all files in your media library)
I have a similar situation. I have only one CD ripped as m4a files and the songs are in a subfolder of my main music directory. Previous releases of Winamp (e.g. 5.12) displayed this correctly in the Audio section of the Media Library, but the current beta (v5.2 build 393 beta) does not. All the tracks do show up, however, in the Local Media view. I don't know why m4a files should be excluded from the Audio view, but that's the way it is. Sounds like a minor bug to me.

Details:
Clean install of v5.12 build 393 beta
WinXP SP2
lifer is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 01:34   #234
Ðårkeñ®
Junior Member
 
Ðårkeñ®'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally posted by Ðårkeñ®
Winamp 5.2 build 393:

This error appear when I close Winamp.
code:
Application popup:
winamp.exe - Application Error :
The instruction at "0x7c80979d" referenced memory at "0x01340024".
The memory could not be "written".

Click on OK to terminate the program

For more information, see Help and Support Center at
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


Update: Same error when I try to install/reinstall Winamp 5.2 Build 393.

I have this problem since the installation of IE7 beta 2 public preview. But, except this problem, all works fine!
Ðårkeñ® is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 02:59   #235
dhead998
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Out of curiousity, do they show under the main "Local Media" view (that lists all files in your media library)

More weird now... I tried and they show in local media THEN i click on never played/any vcustom view that the files did not show and they appear... But first I need to go to local media

Nice library icons
dhead998 is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 03:50   #236
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Any chance of scrolling(or a narrower banner) on the Rip & Burn screen, it's useful info but the window needs to be quite large to read it all.

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 04:03   #237
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Will it be possible to remove the "Now Playing" and "Online Media" views as well at some point?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 04:17   #238
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
can we fix the frames plz

Anyways. In ML, in playlist view, I dont have any playlists, if i click Play, it causes winamp to play the first track in pledit.

And ML does act strange in modern skin. (yeah its not reproducable, nevermind)

Last edited by billyvnilly; 1st February 2006 at 05:12.
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 06:16   #239
ByTor201
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
I keep getting:
---------------------------
Winamp 5.2 build 393 Beta: Winamp.exe - Unable To Locate Component
---------------------------
This application has failed to start because MSVCP71.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
What's so wrong with statically linking the runtimes?
ByTor201 is offline  
Old 1st February 2006, 06:59   #240
fisher819
Senior Member
 
fisher819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to fisher819
similar problem.
i can't install build 393 because there is an error in opening the file msvcr71.dll.

plus i keep getting an error that i posted about with build 359 about drmclien.dll

help us count :Click here
fisher819 is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump