Old 24th September 2007, 15:51   #201
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by PC Gamer
I optimized modern skin spectrum analizer to the fastest fps, but it's so xtreme slow, & also text scroll speed.
Sounds like your modern skin timer speed might have been set to something slow

Benski is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 15:55   #202
J.Heezy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to J.Heezy
Quote:
Originally posted by ujay
@ J.Heazey

You may have the righthand edge of the file info window pulled right over to the side. Does it look like it has a double frame on the far right?
If so, pick up the inner edge and move it to the left. You may need to move it quite a way over before the playlist reappears.

UJ
i got the playlist to show up by dragging the right edge to the left. thanks.!!
J.Heezy is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 17:15   #203
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
^^ ^^

Media Monitor pane - Slider in the scrollbar not updating position with mouse wheel.

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 17:17   #204
denilson3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to denilson3 Send a message via Yahoo to denilson3
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
If you turn off the notifier (in skin settings), does the buffering problem go away?
If "never show" = "off", then it still happens when the notifier is off.


Is there a more permanent way to turn off the notifier? If not, perhaps you could rename the option name. "Never show" could imply that the process is still working but just not visible.
denilson3 is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 17:24   #205
sypher_nl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
I just got my first problem with this build:
"Playlist Generator failed to initialize"
sypher_nl is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 17:33   #206
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Re: Winamp 5.5 Beta Preview 2 (Build 1568)

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Winamp 5.5 Beta, Build 1568

-[ml_plg] Multiple "Playlist Generator failed to Initialize" error messages on Winamp startup, when Gracnote/plg database is corrupt (more info here and here) *

* = Fixed internally
Juanus is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 18:11   #207
testify
Junior Member
 
testify's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Empty visualization box in Windowshade mode

In Windowshade mode, the empty visualization box is still displayed. It's wasted space and could probably be removed from the bar altogether. This is the case in the classic, modern and bento skins.
testify is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 21:05   #208
screamin_jesus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
This is odd. for some reasons cd's I burn in winamp just won't play in my car's cd player. I can reproduce this I can burn a cd with he same songs in windows media player and it plays fine. With the winamp cd the cd player just sits there making noises trying to read the disc and won't play at all.
screamin_jesus is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 21:39   #209
PC Gamer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Wrong

Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Sounds like your modern skin timer speed might have been set to something slow

[Image]

Heh, totally wrong Ben, see this:




[Edit -> DJ Egg]
No large images please.
Link changed to thumbnail/url combination.

Last edited by PC Gamer; 24th September 2007 at 21:56.
PC Gamer is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 21:45   #210
soulstace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 116
@screamin_jesus

Is your car's cd player mp3 player or just old fashion cda/wav/pcm player like mine?

Older version of Winamp would automatically convert my songs into wav format to play in my car. I'm not sure what the new version does. Maybe it is writing mp3s to your cd but your player isn't mp3 compatible?

Explore the cd in "My Computer" and see what file extension the tracks have.

@PC Gamer

Are you using Windows Vista?

I noticed the analyzer was extremely slow when scanning my music library in Windows Vista. But it is not nearly as bad when doing the same thing in XP (and my XP machine actually has slower hardware).

EDIT - Oops nevermind I can see you're running XP by your screenshot. Sorry.

Is it slow all the time? Or just when doing hardware intensive things. Try checking your IO and CPU usage with Sysinternals Process Explorer.

Last edited by soulstace; 24th September 2007 at 22:07.
soulstace is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:04   #211
40044004
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
The browser opens and displays fine when I click the tab, it's just when I click "Browse artist/album/etc". I'm using Windows XP sp2 and IE6, but my default browser is Firefox 2. If it makes any difference, my language for non-unicode programs is set to Japanese, although it did it when it was set to Korean as well (edit: does it in english too, so I guess language doesn't matter). Should I upgrade to IE7? Will it make a difference?

Actually upon further testing, it seems to crash whenever I try to search for something in the search bar (it is set to Web Search) with the same error. I can briefly see the search results before it crashes.

Either way, I sent a bunch of logs and dump files from the error feedback thing that comes up after crashes.

Guru Meditation
#0021.008A3EEB.25
Script Fatal error
40044004 is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:07   #212
PC Gamer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
What's better, Winamp MP3 encoder or this:?

http://www.uploadgeek.com/uploads456...%20Encoder.JPG

[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Irrelevant img link changed to url.
Warning: This post is tantamount to spam.
PC Gamer is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:11   #213
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
I think I know which one produces better mp3s.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:15   #214
PC Gamer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
When I convert to 130kbps, Winamp doesn't show the 130kbps in MPEG info.
PC Gamer is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:18   #215
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
What does Winamp show? Make sure you've checked "Show average bitrate on VBR files" in Preferences -> Plugins -> Input -> Nullsoft MPEG audio decoder.

Winamp is using LAME, which is much more improved than Fraunhofer codec. So Winamp's encoder is the better choice.
Koopa is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:24   #216
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by PC Gamer
What's better, Winamp MP3 encoder or this:?
if only we were able to ask sinakzir about this, i'd have loved to hear their view about mp3pro

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:34   #217
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by PC Gamer
What's better, Winamp MP3 encoder or this:?
Winamp uses LAME, which has been tested to out-perform all other MP3 encoders at 128kbps

Benski is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:38   #218
PC Gamer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Huh?
Who is sinakzir?
What about this:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...ic=55784&st=75
PC Gamer is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 22:48   #219
PC Gamer
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Winamp uses LAME, which has been tested to out-perform all other MP3 encoders at 128kbps

[Image]
But FhG released MP3 surround encoder v4.0.3.
Did U compare it with LAME 3.98b4?
PC Gamer is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 23:08   #220
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
@testify
What do you mean exactly by "empty visualization box"?

@40044004
Hmm. Interesting. I'm not sure what's going on there, but would certainly like to see a HijackThis log, if not just to satisfy my own curiosity.

@screamin_jesus & soulstace
Winamp only burns Audio CDs, not data/mp3 CDs.
I think I had the same problem, last time I tested burning a year or so ago.
It played ok on the pc, but not on my old hardware cd player.
Whether this is an incompatibilty issue with older hardware, or a Sonic Engine issue, I do not rightly know.

@PC Gamer
Ask any FhG person and they'll tell you themselves that LAME kicks their butt.
We've already stated in the Notes in the first post of this thread that the updated FhG mp3 decoder in Winamp 5.5 supports surroundsound decoding, but that there is no surroundsound encoding support, as yet.
If Fraunhofer/SurroundSound encoding was ever to be added, it would be as an extra/optional plugin (eg. enc_fhg), and we certainly will not be getting rid of enc_lame.

Now can we please move on, and keep on topic!?

Keep those bug reports coming. Thanks.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 24th September 2007, 23:18   #221
armstrong
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 32°4'1''N, 34°46'13''E
Posts: 7
Quote:
Koopatrooper says:
Winamp is using LAME, which is much more improved than Fraunhofer codec.
Beg to differ here: it isn't, at least sonically. Fraunhofer has always sounded better (though LAME gets better over time).
Quote:

So Winamp's encoder is the better choice.
Indeed, Winamp offers a decent aac encoder that does a better job than both
armstrong is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 00:04   #222
vjacques
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
woah the above poster is so lost :P
vjacques is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 03:54   #223
Jimekus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NZ
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to Jimekus
I've started to work with the Color Editor on the Bento skin and, not-withstanding the numerous execution errors, I've encountered a lapse in design. This probably has to do with the XML structure of the RGB colors that adds 4096 to the 0-255 structure. What I want that I haven't been able to find in any other skin is the ability to set a color code to allow the Frame Buffer to shine through on all the backgrounds. This color code is RGB(31,0,15). It can't be faded or altered in any way if Windows is to ignore painting anything in this area and thus allow the AVS visualizer to display the AVS via the desktop into the foreground of all controls, as it were. I need this because when Winamp is minimized with a slow AVS then the CPU usage is very low. This is important if I am to get multiple instances beat-mixing on a relatively low powered Via CarPC. Maybe someone can tell me of a Modern Skin that has all its background colors set to 31,0,15. Thanks, because it just looks so good.
Jimekus is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 06:18   #224
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
The kbps display in Bento skin for VBR MP3 files still goes on with about 5-10 updates per second... I guess nothing has been done in that regard in this beta... Please fix it for the next/final.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 06:21   #225
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Preferences > Plugins > Input > Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder > Configure > Decoder Tab > Show average bitrate on VBR files

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 06:46   #226
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
Preferences > Plugins > Input > Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder > Configure > Decoder Tab > Show average bitrate on VBR files
You didn't understand me... The modern skin updates about once per second for VBR MP3 files while in the Bento skin, it updates frantically about 5-10 times per second... It had been noted earlier though but no response about it later.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 08:20   #227
soulstace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 116
I noticed that as well. Even when setting timers resolution of 250ms it still updates like a bat out of hell. (I know those two aren't supposed to be tied, but thought perhaps they were because it was updating so fast).
soulstace is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 09:54   #228
Franky_B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 19
Hello,

after 3 days of testing the new Beta, the last bug I can find is the following:

When pressing NUM4/Z or NUM6/B Winamp skips 2 tracks. When pressing C nothing happens (maybe it does pause and resume so fast, that I don't notice it).

Only thing I can say is, that it is not a problem of Bento. The behavior is the same with modern or classic skin.

Frank

Last edited by Franky_B; 25th September 2007 at 10:19.
Franky_B is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 13:43   #229
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
@TheUniqueTiger
I've added the Bento skin rapid vbr display bug to the 'Known' section of the first post. Thanks.

@Franky_B
I can't reproduce the keyboard shortcuts problem. Are you maybe using nView?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 14:00   #230
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Album Art for Albums with the same title

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Winamp 5.5 Beta, Build 1568

-Album Art support is almost complete, but not quite...
-Lookup order: embedded (in tags), %album%/cover/folder.jpg/gif/png.
-Note: The cache is the art*.* files in the "Plugins\ml" folder
-(art.dat, art.idx, art60.dat/idx, art90.dat/idx, art120.dat/idx).
-Downloader access via: Art icon rt-click menu, unified file info & pmp edit info box
-Currently saves as %album&.jpg in the containing folder.
-
I'd like to point out a design issue with the current approach for naming Album Art.

The use of %album% is insufficient, as Album title is NOT unique.
What happens when two different Albums have the same title?
"Greatest Hits" is the most common example.

This won't be an issue for those who organize their physical music files into separate folders by album, but the above will be a big issue for those that keep all of their MP3s
in one folder. I would also point out, that this later group is the group most likely to
use the %album% method for populating Album Art, as they are NOT able to use the cover* or folder* methods for associating an image with an album (and it has already been discussed in this thread why some prefer not to embed Album Art images in the ID3 tags)

To be clear, currently the Media Library (ML) DOES in fact recognize two Albums
with the same title as two different items within the ML ... so no issues there.
The problem is with associating the two different Album Art images with the two
separate items within the ML.

My suggestion is to add the Album Artist's name to the naming scheme used by
"Get Album Art" (separated by a hyphen). Example:
  • 2Pac - Greatest Hits.jpg
  • Aerosmith - Greatest Hits.jpg
  • Kenny Chesney - Greatest Hits.jpg
As such, the lookup order would have to be modified to look for:
embedded (in tags), %album artist% - %album%, cover.*, folder*.

This naming scheme has the added bonus of complimenting the naming scheme many likely use for their physical music files (Artist - Song Title). And very often the value for Artist will be equal to that for Album Artist. As such, the image files for an Album Artist's Album Art will appear next to that Artist's MP3 files when exploring the folder where these files are contained. Or if in the future the capability is added to Winamp to designate an Album Art folder separate from the folder containing the MP3 files ... having the Album Artist name in the Album Art's filename would still be nice as it will assist the user in remembering the Artist who recorded the Album, and puts all the Album Artist's Album Art side by side.

[EDIT] - should use Album Artist NOT Artist

Last edited by jph6t; 25th September 2007 at 16:34.
jph6t is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 14:12   #231
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
Re: Album Art for Albums with same title

Quote:
Originally posted by jph6t

To be clear, currently the Media Library (ML) DOES in fact recognize two Albums with
the same title as two different items within the ML. The only issue is with associating
the two different Album images with the two separate items within the ML.
I can't see how the ML recognizes two albums with same name really as two different albums. Whenever I name two albums the same, it gets combined into a single album in ML... So how do you say it recognizes them differently?

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 14:36   #232
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
ML entries for Albums with same title

Quote:
Originally posted by TheUniqueTiger
I can't see how the ML recognizes two albums with same name really as two different albums. Whenever I name two albums the same, it gets combined into a single album in ML... So how do you say it recognizes them differently?
Well I can't really comment on that as you have provided no information.
What type of SmartView are you using? What are your Filters? What Panes are visible? What are your Pane options? Are you using an Album Art view or list view?

But my post was to Album Art, so let's assume you are talking about an Album Art view. In which case I think your issue has already been addressed in a number of previous post. For example:
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
As far as I know, Album Artist and Album Art are kinda linked.
As long as you don't disable the option to "Use Artist as Album Artist if not available" in Prefs > Local Media, then any empty Album Artist fields will be populated in the mldb on import.
Album Artist is important, because you can set eg. Various Artists for compilations, which prevents seeing multiple entries for different tracks on the same album (ie. one icon for each different artist->album combination).
jph6t is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 14:44   #233
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Re: ML entries for Albums with same title

Ok TheUniqueTiger, so there is one valid instance where two Albums
with the same Title can be combined into one one Album Art entry in the ML ...

If two Albums have the same value for Album Artist AND Album title.

The most likely way I could see this ever happening was complilations
(Album Artist = Various Artists) with the same Album title.
Like the remake of a movie ... both soundtracks would appear as one entry in the ML.

But I'd think this is a pretty rare occurance (unlike the issue I raised above).
jph6t is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 15:33   #234
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
Yes, the Album Artist... I don't use Album Artist much...

In case of your above suggestion for Album Art, I feel even Album Artist would lead to more or less the same problem as many 'Greatest Hits' albums may be compilation albums for which you may have to use Album Artist as 'Various Artists'. I see no solution that way...

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 16:20   #235
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by TheUniqueTiger
In case of your above suggestion for Album Art, I feel even Album Artist would lead to more or less the same problem as many 'Greatest Hits' albums may be compilation albums for which you may have to use Album Artist as 'Various Artists'. I see no solution that way...
Can you provide some examples? I can't think of any compilation albums entitled with something as generic as "Greatest Hits". Now a compilation album with something like "Greatest Hits Of The 80's" yeah, but now you have a unique Album title so the issue goes away.

Also, implementing the above suggestion would NOT have a negative affect in the case of your example. But it would 100% fix things in the case of my example.
jph6t is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 17:07   #236
joelchoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
is it possible to add a function to detach the video window?
joelchoy is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 17:17   #237
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Bento is designed as a Single User Interface skin, nothing is meant to be detached, or it would defeat the purpose. If you want detachable windows, try Winamp Modern.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 17:24   #238
joelchoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
Bento is designed as a Single User Interface skin, nothing is meant to be detached, or it would defeat the purpose. If you want detachable windows, try Winamp Modern.
oh i see. ok thanks for the infomation

btw, the Bento skin looks great!! i love it. lol

Last edited by joelchoy; 25th September 2007 at 18:52.
joelchoy is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 20:33   #239
Mecha25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 55
Winamp Preview 2 comments

Winamp Review 2
In general:
very nice, not much changed but still I'm glad that this much more stable release will be bug tested before final
BIG NOTE! The winamp error reporter has been triggered multiple times with both this and the previous beta, but it has yet to successfully run even once. The actual error reporter itself errors out every time, even on random crashes.
PLEASE fix the bug reporter before or at least with the final version, I can't imagine how many things are being overlooked because it's broken.

And now some stuff.

On DWM:
1) DWM taskbar previews are weird (black space below modern skin in preview, some other skins preview fine, some don't)
2) maximized Bento previews weird too (preview not shrunk enough, not all of the window is shown)
3) just read the post about internally disabling it, THANK YOU! frankly, this app: http://insentient.net/ is the tool I use and it works fine with Winamp both the old way and the new way, and it directly uses DWM.

On Album Art:
3) Album art File Info pane doesn't work at all, I assume this is still being developed
4) Album art browsing, on the other hand, is FANTASTIC! it's FAST, I love it!
one interesting thing though, when you change to small icon view on a big screen, so many appear that it takes almost a minute before any start to load
might want to look into the loading algorythm, see what happens when it suddenly tries to load 70 or so album covers at once, which happens very often on my 2560x1600 display

On Bento:
5) can't find big album art below playlist option in Bento, where is it?
6) When switching from Bento to Modern, the buttons and scrollbars from Bento are applied to the Modern ml, fixed by a restart of winamp (only happens sometimes)

On Skins:
7) Fonts are still very fugly on certain skins (quadelic and others, haven't checked all, but Quadelic is the worst), PLEASE fix, it looks so unbelievably bad (see attachment)
GOOD NEWS:
I have yet to be able to reproduce the mysterious Vista Bento crashes, despite doing all the things that caused them at first. I don't know what changed, but they have yet to come back!

EDIT:
wtf, the attachment's gone, I'll post a link in a bit once I've hosted the pic.
Mecha25 is offline  
Old 25th September 2007, 20:35   #240
Mecha25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 55
attachment to previous post

let me try this....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fugly fonts.jpg (16.8 KB, 393 views)
Mecha25 is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump