Old 9th April 2002, 22:31   #1
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Umm... (Part 2)

I wanted to learn some of the finer points of Winamp 3 skining, so I made a simple skin that would incorperate some of the things that I wanted to learn; the funny thing is, after I messed around with it for a while I liked the layout of the skin. My point is I am planing to keep the layout the same just re-do the graphics, and complete the skin. Please download it and let me know what you think.
Attached Files
File Type: wal final test.wal (64.8 KB, 343 views)
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 00:58   #2
Vica
Major Dude
 
Vica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Posts: 872
Send a message via ICQ to Vica Send a message via AIM to Vica Send a message via Yahoo to Vica
Oh...its you . Skin looks good, the right side is a bit dark but everything else looks fine. I see you got that draw thing fixed. What you really need for this now is a realy good mask for the main window.

Some nice control buttons and somethng to fill up the aditional blue area in the drawer will be good also.

Go for it, don't be lazy.


Website: Template vbulletin skins by exaltic.com[size=0.75]
Skins/Coding: D-Shock, Nebular, Triton [/size]
Vica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 01:31   #3
uiop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 117
screenshot?
uiop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 01:46   #4
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I would mask the main window, if I knew how. That extra blue space in the drawer is for the E.Q., and rigt now most of the graphics are crap, but I plan to give them a major overhaul. As for the skinshot.....
Attached Images
File Type: png skinshot.png (12.6 KB, 837 views)
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 02:05   #5
Joshuatree
Major Dude
 
Joshuatree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 635
Send a message via AIM to Joshuatree
its looking good...there are many things to do with drawers and this is a good example of one
Joshuatree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 03:29   #6
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Thank's joshuatree, I should have the skin done in a week or two. I just would like to know how to mask the main window.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 17:36   #7
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Is anyone going to answer my question about the mask? I am also curious to know if it is possible to make animated control buttons.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 17:55   #8
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Define mask. What is it you want to do to the main window?

Animated control buttons are easy, use an animatedLayer.

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2002, 22:59   #9
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I'm just full of questions aren't I? I want to have a text description of the thinger components using cbtext, but I want the descriptions to be displayed where the song ticker is located. My only problem is I can't figure out how to hide the song ticker while the component description is being displayed.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2002, 01:03   #10
Hollow
Major Dude
 
Hollow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Baker Lab, Ithaca NY
Posts: 1,128
Send a message via AIM to Hollow
You don't need to hide it. When ever cbtext != null do a settext to the songticker text field, and when cbtext is again == null do a settext("") to the songticker text field to return it to the song ticker. i think you have to make a hidden text field for the cbtext, so that you can get the text from it.

The moon is made of cheese.
Oh for some tasty moon cheese.
www.redtetrahedron.org
Hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2002, 04:20   #11
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I am still not done messing around with the layout, so I have attached an update. I have included an e.q. of sorts, a volume slider, and working shuffle and repeat buttons. Hollowearth, no offense, but I have no idea what you are talking about, I am new to this. I can't figure out how to make the e.q. sliders, so some more help would be nice.
Attached Files
File Type: wal final test 2.wal (73.4 KB, 184 views)
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2002, 04:39   #12
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I almost forgot. I have a glass layer, but things like the song ticker, and timer don't draw underneath the glass layer, they are always on top of it.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2002, 07:09   #13
Hollow
Major Dude
 
Hollow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Baker Lab, Ithaca NY
Posts: 1,128
Send a message via AIM to Hollow
Okay so i can't get to look right within code tags so its attached.


i haven't compiled this so it likely has an error somewhere. this should work. the delay on the delay timer can be low, but shouldn't be 0. (else it keeps fliping between to the two and might flicker). there might be a some other things you would want to do, like reset on click but thats other stuff.

if anyone sees an error point it out. I'm sure one exists.

The moon is made of cheese.
Oh for some tasty moon cheese.
www.redtetrahedron.org
Hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2002, 07:20   #14
Hollow
Major Dude
 
Hollow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Baker Lab, Ithaca NY
Posts: 1,128
Send a message via AIM to Hollow
its attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt cbtext.txt (1.9 KB, 232 views)

The moon is made of cheese.
Oh for some tasty moon cheese.
www.redtetrahedron.org
Hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2002, 01:38   #15
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Thank's for that cbtext thing hollow earth. I am still having trouble with the e.q. and glass layer.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2002, 03:02   #16
Nmenth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
to fix the glass, the xml file is loaded from top to bottom. so the last thing in the file is on the top layer on the skin.
just move the code for your glass layer below anything you want it to be on top of.
Nmenth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2002, 05:25   #17
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
moving the glass layer in my XML fixed things. Now it's time to tackle the e.q.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2002, 05:16   #18
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Here is a final update. I am going to can this project for several reasons, the foremost being that my sister wiped out my computer, leaving me to have to reinstall windows; in doing so I lost all of my skin files. I have also felt that no one really cared for it, therefore there is no need to continue with the project.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 14:12   #19
Joshuatree
Major Dude
 
Joshuatree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 635
Send a message via AIM to Joshuatree
i hate it when stuff like that happens
good luck on your next project, whatever it may be
Joshuatree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 04:24   #20
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Change of plans. I accidently backed up my skin files, which turned out to be a good thing. I am going to continue, but have many more questions. I can't figure out how to make the e.q. I follow most of the XML, except the first line of the following:

<layer x="82" y="38" image="player.eq.slider.bar"/>
<slider
id="eq1"
action="EQ_BAND" param="1"
x="76" y="38"
w="18" h="66"
orientation="vertical"
thumb="player.eq.slider.button"
downThumb="player.eq.slider.button.pressed"

What are the two coordinates for? the other problem I'm having is that my Shuf., and Rep. buttons are in my drawer, I did the XML correctly (I think) but the buttons don't work.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 05:58   #21
Vica
Major Dude
 
Vica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Posts: 872
Send a message via ICQ to Vica Send a message via AIM to Vica Send a message via Yahoo to Vica
Okay let me see if I get you correctly:
x="76" y="38" <-- Defines the top left corner port of EQ band number 1.

w="18" h="66" <-- Defines the area for eq band 1. When you add the slider/thumb, it will slide within these demensions only. Also it is important that your slider be 18 pixels wide (like the slide area) or Winamp will stretch it.

As for the shuffle and repeat buttons you will need to set their attributes using maki. For now, just copy the sysfunc.maki from the default skin and add it to the other scripts in your skin and it will work. Thats what I do


Website: Template vbulletin skins by exaltic.com[size=0.75]
Skins/Coding: D-Shock, Nebular, Triton [/size]
Vica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 08:02   #22
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I meant this line:

<layer x="82" y="38" image="player.eq.slider.bar"/>

I can't figure out what those coordinates do. I will try the Maki file thing later, thank's.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 08:15   #23
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I copied sysfunc.maki to my scripts folder, and my the necessary changes to my XML, and it still doesn't work.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 10:08   #24
Vica
Major Dude
 
Vica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Posts: 872
Send a message via ICQ to Vica Send a message via AIM to Vica Send a message via Yahoo to Vica
That line is just a graphical layer that goes behind each bar for the eq, if you delete, the eq will still work normally it serves no other perpuse than for show.

If you can't work out the problem with the shuffle/repeat then attach a copy of your skin and we'll see.

Good luck


Website: Template vbulletin skins by exaltic.com[size=0.75]
Skins/Coding: D-Shock, Nebular, Triton [/size]
Vica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 10:47   #25
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
The e.q. works like a dream now. I am too tired to even think about the Shuf. Rep. problem. I will upload an update of my skin tommorrow so you can tell me what you guys think of the layout. Thank's again Vica.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 21:59   #26
Joshuatree
Major Dude
 
Joshuatree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 635
Send a message via AIM to Joshuatree
sounds good...toilet paper should be blue
Joshuatree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2002, 02:17   #27
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I have made some changes to the drawer layout to give the e.q. some room to breathe. I have also gotten rid of the shuf. rep. buttons because I ran out of room for them. I plan to start making the final graphics after I get some feedback on what I hope will be the final layout. I still have to add a few things to the skin (i.e. close, minimize, etc.) I have included an updated .wal file. Enjoy
Attached Files
File Type: wal final test 4.wal (59.4 KB, 172 views)
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2002, 01:40   #28
Joshuatree
Major Dude
 
Joshuatree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 635
Send a message via AIM to Joshuatree
For some reason Winamp says it not a real skin.....
Joshuatree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2002, 09:18   #29
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Hmm...that's funny. I'm using the same .wal file as the one I uploaded. I will make another one and upload it in a few minutes.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2002, 09:22   #30
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Let me know if this one works.
Attached Files
File Type: wal final test 5.wal (59.6 KB, 197 views)
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2002, 21:25   #31
Joshuatree
Major Dude
 
Joshuatree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 635
Send a message via AIM to Joshuatree
still nothing, maybe its just my pc...
Joshuatree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2002, 23:26   #32
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
Is skin.xml in the root of the ZIP?

In Sysfunc.m, if my ids for buttons such as shuffle, repeat and crossfade are different, do I have to adjust the .m and recompile?

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2002, 00:37   #33
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Quote:
Originally posted by skinme!

In Sysfunc.m, if my ids for buttons such as shuffle, repeat and crossfade are different, do I have to adjust the .m and recompile?
Yes, also would need to be recompiled if they are not in the "main" container, "normal" layout (e.g. they're in a group drawer or another container).

-=Gonzotek-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2002, 12:07   #34
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Hey Joshuatree,

It's got to be your PC, because I downloaded Final Test 5.wal, and It worked fine. I'm still not getting enough feedback for the amount of people that are downloading it.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2002, 17:29   #35
Joshuatree
Major Dude
 
Joshuatree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 635
Send a message via AIM to Joshuatree
ok then...its definatly my pc, oh well...good luck
Joshuatree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2002, 20:38   #36
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I know the finished skin is only going to be about a 100kb file, but I was wondering if I should use PNG Crush. I still need to come up with a name for this thing.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2002, 21:53   #37
Hollow
Major Dude
 
Hollow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Baker Lab, Ithaca NY
Posts: 1,128
Send a message via AIM to Hollow
I would run pngcrush anyway, it won't hurt. I can't help you with the name though, i have enought trouble naming my own stuff.

The moon is made of cheese.
Oh for some tasty moon cheese.
www.redtetrahedron.org
Hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2002, 02:39   #38
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
Since things are going smoothly, I have decided to make a winshade for the skin. I made a mock-up PhotoShop, so let me know what you think of the layout. I was lazy so I didn't draw any playback buttons, but I think you can figure out where they go.
Attached Images
File Type: png winshade.png (4.1 KB, 247 views)
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2002, 05:18   #39
Vica
Major Dude
 
Vica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Posts: 872
Send a message via ICQ to Vica Send a message via AIM to Vica Send a message via Yahoo to Vica
I don't know if putting a vis in the shade mode will really work. Its most likely that it would only come out looking like jumbbled black lines. Your best bet is the use that closed off as the timer, make the shade mode a little longer and add a songticker. Not to mention you need room for the close,min and shade buttons.
Those few buttons you can do without if your going for a really small shade mode that will could work on always on top (with minimum functionallity). In this case you can use the dragging area as the "blah" which when double clicked will switch the player to normal mode.

Also, can you lighten the end a bit, I wanna see the chorme shine


Website: Template vbulletin skins by exaltic.com[size=0.75]
Skins/Coding: D-Shock, Nebular, Triton [/size]
Vica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2002, 05:35   #40
Drunken Master
n00b eater
(Member)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 282
I was thinking of cutting the height in half to 10 pixles, and adding 50 pixles to the length. I was just kind of hoping to keep the winshade mode the same length as the the normal player. Unless I keep the dimensions the same, and stack the elements, such as putting the song ticker under the timer, or something like that. I will mess arond with it some more.
Drunken Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump