Old 16th November 2006, 06:36   #1
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,583
Adjust DPI individually by monitor?

So here's the issue: I have two monitors: one set to a resolution of 1920x1200, and the other at 1280x960. This results in a rather disproportionate viewing area. Normally the problem would be solved by lowering or raising the resolution of either monitor, however, the 1920x1200 display is an LCD, and I don't want to use anything lower than the native resolution; the other monitor won't go any higher than 1280x960. Is there any software that will let me adjust DPI settings by each monitor so that I can try to evenly match the screen areas?

Also, anything to help me even out the color differences between the two monitors? I've tried and tried all day long but I just can't get the white balances to match.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2006, 07:39   #2
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,123
brand/name of the monitor?

you could of course get a smaller monitor

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2006, 07:44   #3
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,583
It's a 17" eMachines eView 17F2 monitor:


I found it at Goodwill for $10.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2006, 10:41   #4
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
Re: Adjust DPI individually by monitor?

Quote:
Originally posted by Psythik
Is there any software that will let me adjust DPI settings by each monitor so that I can try to evenly match the screen areas?
Not that I know of, no.

Quote:
Also, anything to help me even out the color differences between the two monitors? I've tried and tried all day long but I just can't get the white balances to match.
One is an LCD, the other a CRT. No matter how hard you try, you're never going to get them to match. Sorry...

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2006, 13:16   #5
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
I use my second monitor, a CRT almost solely as a TV

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2006, 15:20   #6
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,911
dpi on a screen is a physically set by whoever made the crt or lcd panel.

buy another big lcd, that'll fix the problem.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump