Old 17th November 2002, 12:46   #1
leovannys

Can't play WMA file named in Chinese

I think it's a commonly known bug now. I wonder if you are fixing it.

Pls do.
Old 17th November 2002, 15:12   #2
sanosuke
Major Dude

well first u have to install internelisation and video b4 it can work...btw internerlisation is still expermential so it could course other problems.
Old 18th November 2002, 00:06   #3
leovannys

I surely did that.
Old 18th November 2002, 21:00   #4
phei

in fact winamp3 cannot play audio files containing any special characters such as umlauts (äöü) or acctented vocals (ie "è") which is ... weird. Chinese (or: Asian Characters in general) are double byte chars that mostly consist of western and eastern european character-pairs. generally talking I would say it is rather stupid to create a program with such a reputation and then make t only support english and latin. shouldn't it be able to utilize window's own "load file" routines (I'm not a programmer!) so that any character that is allowed in a file name would be recognized and the file played (what has the file name got to do with its content?)?
Old 19th November 2002, 14:27   #5
leovannys

Exactly. I am surprised that Winamp 2.x has no problem with that at all. I have no idea what they have done. How can this program be released before fixing it? And how can they claim this is a FULL version rather than a BETA or something....
Old 19th November 2002, 15:09   #6
THEMike
Bastificator [Alumni]

Quote:
Originally posted by phei
generally talking I would say it is rather stupid to create a program with such a reputation and then make t only support english and latin.
No not really.

Why waste your effort on people who can't be bothered to learn english, and use english file names? They're less than scum.

Why should anyone waste their time dealing with special cases?

The company is a division of America On Line. It's not supposed to be used by you filthy foreign scum.

"Beer?"