Old 27th August 2008, 20:08   #1
azdjedi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Adding Ratings to Bento shade view

Hi

I've been playing around (as a sink newbie) with trying to replace the vis or the volume with the rating, but I am unable to figure it out.

I've managed to remove the tow areas, but I can't figure out how to get ratings to show up.

When I add the <group> using the same x,y coordinates as the viz, it still doesn't work.

Can anybody help me out?

thx
Attached Files
File Type: xml player-shade.xml (9.2 KB, 249 views)
azdjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2008, 22:01   #2
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
The ratings in Bento is so deep into the biggest script (fileinfo.m) so you wont be able to just use it.

What I suggest you do is download ClassicPro for the<Wasabi:Ratings object.

You then need to:
1) Copy this folder:
C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\classicPro\engine\xui\Ratings
to "skins/bento/xui"

So Ratings.xml will then be located here:
C:\Program Files\Winamp\Skins\Bento\xui\Ratings

2) Change the script line in Ratings.xml to point to your new path too:
PHP Code:
<script file="@COLORTHEMESPATH@/../../Plugins/classicPro/engine/xui/Ratings\Ratings.maki"/> 
change this to
PHP Code:
<script file="xui/Ratings/Ratings.maki"/> 
3) Now in your skin.xml you'll need to include the ratings.xml file. Include it among the first items of xml stuff. So maybe something like this:
PHP Code:
<include file="xui/Ratings/Ratings.xml"/>
<include 
file="../Big Bento/xml/color-presets.xml"/>
<include 
file="../Big Bento/xml/system-colors.xml"/> 
Now you can just use the object anywhere you want as a normal object.. like this for example:
PHP Code:
<Wasabi:Ratings
    x
="175" y="82" w="55" h="13"
    
image_nostar="ratings.none"
    
image_star="ratings.normal"
    
image_hoverstar="ratings.hover"
/> 
Bento already have bitmap id's for the pictures used:
PHP Code:
<bitmap id="infocomp.rating.empty" file="../Big Bento/window/rating.png" x="22" y="0" h="12" w="11" gammagroup="DisplayText"/>
<
bitmap id="infocomp.rating.hover" file="../Big Bento/window/rating.png" x="11" y="0" h="12" w="11" gammagroup="DisplayText"/>
<
bitmap id="infocomp.rating.star" file="../Big Bento/window/rating.png" x="0" y="0" h="12" w="11" gammagroup="DisplayText"/> 
So those 3 bitmapids will be used in the 3 custom tags for Wasabi:Ratings:
image_nostar, image_star, image_hoverstar

Hope this helps

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2008, 15:14   #3
azdjedi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
That seems a bit overkill...There has got to be a way to do it simply by editing the pre-existing scripts
azdjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2008, 15:53   #4
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
The pre-existing script is the biggest one in Bento
The steps above is 100x easier

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2008, 16:33   #5
azdjedi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
ok, thx Dude

I made the changes you specified; they were easy.

I added the PHP:

<Wasabi:Ratings
x="243" y="4" w="55" h="13"
image_nostar="ratings.none"
image_star="ratings.normal"
image_hoverstar="ratings.hover"
/>

into the player-shade.xml, but it's not working properly. The ratings seem to be there, just invisible. I can click and the rating will change (only to 4 for some reason). I've tried changing the X position, and that definately did something, since my play c-buttons now work.

Suggestions?
azdjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2008, 21:14   #6
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
You'll need to edit the params a little bit:

Probably something like this:
<Wasabi:Ratings
x="243" y="4" w="55" h="13"
image_nostar="infocomp.rating.empty"
image_star="infocomp.rating.star"
image_hoverstar="infocomp.rating.hover"
/>

The width of the above object must always be 5x the width of one start... so 55 is correct.
If you still can only select 4stars then you probably used wrong x or something. But I guess you'll see what's going on since you should see the start now

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2008, 21:28   #7
azdjedi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
sweeeeeet....thx dude...you put me on the right path....i opened the normal.xml file and found the proper IDs:

<Wasabi:Ratings
x="243" y="4" w="55" h="13"
image_nostar="infocomp.rating.empty"
image_star="infocomp.rating.star"
image_hoverstar="infocomp.rating.hover"
/>
azdjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 15:42   #8
azdjedi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Hello again...

I had to reinstall and lost all of the files.
I've gone through the steps above in detail, but still can't get it to work.

This time around I did it slightly differently. The only thing I removed from player-shade.xml was the entire <groupdef id="shade.links"> section

That completely removed those ugly info and search buttons and there's now an empty space there for the ratings...but no dice.

I know it's a longshot but can you think of anything that might be wrong?
azdjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump