Old 21st September 2001, 17:03   #1
kinwashi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 392
Send a message via ICQ to kinwashi
layout for components

I'm trying to add a <layout> on top of the normal component stuff, with borders around the whole components. so I got all the corners and stretches, but my problem is the middle part, which I want transparent. I tried setting the layout background to a transparent png, didn't work. I also tried to remove the background tag, didn't work either. so how can I add another frame on top of everything, and have the middle part transparent, so my playlist etc is visible?

I hope this makes sence

kinwashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2001, 17:17   #2
kinwashi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 392
Send a message via ICQ to kinwashi
nevermind, I just realized there's no need for a second layout, since if the <component/> is on the bottom of the XML, I should be able to put stuff on top of it without a new layout (right?). I guess alpha blending on top of the component content isn't working?

kinwashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2001, 21:39   #3
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by kinwashi
nevermind, I just realized there's no need for a second layout, since if the <component/> is on the bottom of the XML, I should be able to put stuff on top of it without a new layout (right?). I guess alpha blending on top of the component content isn't working?
I have no idea what is it you're trying to do Could you explain again ?

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2001, 22:04   #4
jakov.sosic
Senior Member
 
jakov.sosic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 244
Send a message via ICQ to jakov.sosic
I think it's impossible to do that.

Components are on top of layout, so if your layout is transparent, and component is (offcourse) in front of that layout, so the transparent parts are hidden with component.

Or maybe there is a way that I don't know for?
jakov.sosic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2001, 22:22   #5
kinwashi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 392
Send a message via ICQ to kinwashi
ok, I'll just explain what I want to do instead



the top one is how it looks now. the bottom one is the way I want it to look. see the shadows etc? I want that to be shown on top of whatever the actual component contains.

kinwashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2001, 22:33   #6
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
OMG, is that the playlist from y'r blueish skin?
err, sorry to intrude, you guys continue...

<happy>


YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2001, 22:41   #7
kinwashi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 392
Send a message via ICQ to kinwashi
Quote:
Originally posted by nant`
OMG, is that the playlist from y'r blueish skin?
err, sorry to intrude, you guys continue...

<happy>

yes it is! but there's still a couple of things I haven't figured out how to achieve yet (the problem in this post being one of them). I want to use a truetype font for the title, and I want it aligned right. I also want to be able to use png's for the backgrounds of horizontal and vertical sliders. So I just have to wait till that works

kinwashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2001, 22:45   #8
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Sorry to post again, I'm trying to stay awake...
00:50 here in Israel...

Francisssss, please help The Master!

YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 03:27   #9
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
need to use regions. Regions will work nice. May be a bitch to script, but regions will do what you want check out my winique skin and in the mid mode start the AVS.
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 07:01   #10
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
I see what you mean, create a bitmap wich contains the actual form of the blue screen.. (with a curved corner)
Now in a script using regions, load that bitmap
Maybe lunarboy1 can help you with it ?

(Can i post the script ? or do you do that? )
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 07:31   #11
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
you still won't get that nice shaded look even with regions. sorry Kin.

no*name: if you wanna throw a little example together, thats fine. If you don't get to it then i'll catch it and do it tomorrow most likely.
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 09:23   #12
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by kinwashi
ok, I'll just explain what I want to do instead



the top one is how it looks now. the bottom one is the way I want it to look. see the shadows etc? I want that to be shown on top of whatever the actual component contains.
As lunarboy said it's not possible to do this yet, the closest thing you can do is a 1 bit transparency region between the component and the rest of the layout. I know it sucks... eventually components will be handled in the alpha tree like other objects but that's not yet possible.

I don't think the region would work for you either because of the blending.

I don't really see a workaround, except rearranging it so the component has nothing over it.

The thing is, even when it will work, this kind of things (ui elements over a playlist) will slow the scrolling of a playlist, because suddently you cannot optimize the blit from screen to screen but everything has to be redrawn in a buffer.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 16:02   #13
kinwashi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 392
Send a message via ICQ to kinwashi
ok, I guess this goes back to the sketchboard again...

kinwashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 18:12   #14
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
it still looks pretty damn cool.
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 18:51   #15
kinwashi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 392
Send a message via ICQ to kinwashi
thanks lunarboy

I've changed the components so nothing will overlap. i don't like it as much as the original idea, but what to do...

screenshot can be found here if anyone's interested.

kinwashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 19:20   #16
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Wooo... Very perty!!

Hey, umm, I dunno if you know it(I think you do), but near the Sort button, the text in the right is a little too high. (Where it says "working playlist")

Sorry to "bitch"

YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2001, 19:46   #17
kinwashi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 392
Send a message via ICQ to kinwashi
Quote:
Originally posted by nant`
Wooo... Very perty!!

Hey, umm, I dunno if you know it(I think you do), but near the Sort button, the text in the right is a little too high. (Where it says "working playlist")

Sorry to "bitch"
yeh I know, just haven't fixed it yet resize bar and sliders arent done either, and the buttons need a little work.
kinwashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2001, 03:18   #18
nIRV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 156
nice work there kinwashi, as usual keep up the work...

peace
nIRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2001, 08:39   #19
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
Verry nice as we expected from you
How did you skinned the [add] [del] and the pl buttons?
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2001, 17:41   #20
molotov
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: seattle
Posts: 61
that...

...is f*cking amazing. i've got wa3blue - now i want the rest.

I actually prefer the way you've got the playlist now, even tho there's no shadow.
molotov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2001, 18:39   #21
mark e
Major Dude
 
mark e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,117
Thumbs up



Wow, OMG, when or where can I get it...

Good work Kinwashi. You're the best...
mark e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2001, 18:56   #22
jakov.sosic
Senior Member
 
jakov.sosic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 244
Send a message via ICQ to jakov.sosic
Kinwashi you rule!

Although I don't prefer skins that look like this one
(I mean the shape of main window), this is really excelent work.
jakov.sosic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2001, 13:51   #23
Spoonman
Senior Member
 
Spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: The City
Posts: 303
I'm coming into this thread late, but I'm wondering if you could cheat a little, Kinwashi. As in, instead of having the center area of that overlay completely transparent, give it an alpha of 1 (assuming opaque is 255). You should still be able to see everything through it with minimal interference.
Spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump