Old 25th October 2000, 17:07   #1
Idealsys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6
I have a static IP address for my laptop. I'm using DSL. I'm trying to serve content on-demand. Right now I'm running a little test with Hyperlinks in MS Word:
http://my.ip.add.ress:8000/content/mp3name.pls

I set up DNAS to use port 8000 and installed DSP and set it up for port 8000. I used the default password for now.

When I click on my hyperlink in Word it opens IE with an "Invalid Resource" message.

Wassup?
Idealsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2000, 21:16   #2
Idealsys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6
Please, somebody, anybody...Buehler?
Idealsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2000, 02:33   #3
etsch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 5
I've got the answer! Here's the official reply I got from Tech support:

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Did you fire up the server with the current directory (aka working directory) set as the parent directory of the content folder? Sc_serv looks for the content directory inside the parent directory it was started with, not necessarily where it is stored. The way to make sure is to open a command line, manually cd into the parent directory of the content folder, and invoke sc_serv_gui.exe (path to sc_serv.conf)<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Translated, that means you have two options (I installed the GUI version):
<OL TYPE=A>
<LI>Open a command line prompt and go to the directory that cs_serv_gui.exe is in and invoke the program from there (don't forget to include the name of the ini file in the command line or it will look for a sc_serv_gui.ini, which may or may not exist).
<LI>Hit Start|Programs and drill your way down to the icon for "SHOUTcast DNAS (GUI)", but right-click on it instead and choose "Properties." There you can adjust the "Start in:" field to the parent directory of the content folder, in my case C:\Progra~1\SHOUTcast\ (or "C:\Program Files\SHOUTcast", if you include the quotes). The server can then be fired up from the Start menu and will function properly.
</OL>

Ed
etsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2000, 04:24   #4
Idealsys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6
etsch: Big time thanks - I'll try it!

P.S. Kinda makes sense in a strange way.
Idealsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2000, 10:08   #5
Idealsys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 6
IT WORKED! I just changed the Startup Directory in my shortcut to the path to ShoutCast and...well...it just plain worked! I'M STREAMING, BABY!
Idealsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump