Old 24th September 2005, 09:55   #1
joshmwaa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6
"Invisage" skin design

just thought i'd post this on here. see if any of your are interested in programming it 4 me. i'm only looking for some one who actually knows what their doing, no noobs plz. thanx alot

http://www.deviantart.com/view/23261958/

`josh
joshmwaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2005, 10:14   #2
biggman15
Senior Member
 
biggman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 431
Wow.. That is Awesome...

That would perfectly replace My Favorite skin, Which is just a little too small... I think it was made for 800x600... Dunno... But if that's the size your skin would be... That would be Awesome!!!

Quick Size Comparison...

Yes That would be perfect!!!!

Someone Please take this one on!!!

biggman15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2005, 16:20   #3
QuadHeliX
Major Dude
 
QuadHeliX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,133
doesnt look that complicated there is no real tough maki in there. The only problem is the glass mode it wont work in windows 98. Desk top alpha is going to have to be on at the get go. Oh and also
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=185218
QuadHeliX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2005, 06:08   #4
joshmwaa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6
i'm glad u approve biggman15, yes that is the actual size of the skin (my desktop resolution is 1280 x 1024 and designed it for that so yeah.

Quad Helix, i dont understand what you mean by the glass effect won't work. Are you referring to the clear version?
And if so, this is a winamp 5 skin, so shouldn't alpha blending fix that? just for an example, how does this skin's white version work then? http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/10310941/

thankyou both for your replies
joshmwaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2005, 06:19   #5
rohan_pwln
Major Dude
 
rohan_pwln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 18 inches from hell
Posts: 736
Well, alpha blending works within a container, but outside it, alpha blending supports only 2-bit transperencies, i.e either a pixel is transperent or opaque, there is nothing such as semi-transperent. To make for multi-depth transperencies, it requires a feature called Desktop Alpha which is supported only by Win 2000/XP and not in 98/95 etc.

And, yep the skin is excellent, but i don't like toolbar skins. However nice work d00d.

My MAKI contribs.: STONE
My WebSite My Blog My Skins: fnk 32 Rioport v1 Sienna Burning Steel
My Saying: Eat healthy, Stay fit... Die Anyway
rohan_pwln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 07:23   #6
joshmwaa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6
thankyou for ur help. but, and no offense to those 95/98 users, but jeez hurry up and upgrade already. i dont think that i would really care that much if the 95 and 98 users cant use this skin ne way.
joshmwaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 07:52   #7
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,063
Yes, but what about the 2k/xp owners who don't turn on DTA in winamp in their systems?

I personally never have it switched on for regular use, too much like cpu soak, have better things to do with my cpu cycles.

Also don't forget that DTA isn't on by default when you install winamp either (I think)
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 08:01   #8
joshmwaa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6
When and if it finally does get skinned i tell ppl to turn on DTA in the description, and also in a txt document that will be in the skin folder. if somebody cant be bothered to read either of them then thats their own fault.
joshmwaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 08:09   #9
leechbite
Major Dude
 
leechbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 635
Send a message via Yahoo to leechbite
i have xp but on my machine DTA always raise winamp cpu usage to 90-100%. you should consider DTA off if you want your skin to have more users. you dont have to make it look very nice without DTA, just make it usable.
leechbite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 08:13   #10
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,063
Well, a better solution would be to set what gets displayed by checking to see if DTA is switched on or not.

If DTA is on, use the transparent drawer
If DTA is off, use a solid drawer instead

You could do this with a very simple script that runs when first loaded.

You know as well as I do no one will read a text document included in a skin file, most people will struggle to bother to read one that is listed with the skin when they download it.

Better to do the work for them so you keep 100% of users happy.


code:

ConfigItem item;
item = Config.getItem("Skins and UI Tweaks");
if (item != NULL)
{
attr_desktopalpha = item.getAttribute("Enable desktop alpha");
}
if(StringToInteger(attr_desktopalpha.getData()) == 1)
{
//set up DTA version of skin
}


else
{
//set up non DTA version of skin
}

Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 08:17   #11
joshmwaa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 6
ok that sounds like a good idea. thanx alot for ur help. i'll pass that code on, wen someone finally does agree to skin it.
joshmwaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 15:12   #12
leechbite
Major Dude
 
leechbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 635
Send a message via Yahoo to leechbite
or better, dont just do it on load, monitor the DTA also for changes. they might switch to DTA off or on while using the skin. add attr_desktopalpha.onDataChanged(). something like this.

code:


system.onScriptLoaded() {
ConfigItem item;
item = Config.getItem("Skins and UI Tweaks");
if (item != NULL) {
attr_desktopalpha = item.getAttribute("Enable desktop alpha");
attr_desktopalpha.onDataChanged();
}
}

attr_desktopalpha.onDataChanged() {
if (getData() == "1") {
//set up DTA version of skin
} else {
//set up non DTA version of skin
}
}


leechbite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2005, 02:22   #13
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
The class Effect could be made quite easily I think. Several skins let you change the opacity of windows, so couldn't you do the same thing here?

If not, there are several 3rd party plugins that would do the same thing. Google for PowerMenu
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump