Old 24th June 2011, 10:40   #1
Oogst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
vcredist sometimes hangs or loops on Windows 7

I have made an installer using NSIS and it turns out that for some Windows 7 users (I estimate about 1% of the total) the vcredist installation hangs or even enters an infinite loop where it starts over and over again. Why is this happening and how can I fix this?

The vcredist_x86.exe I am installing is from Visual Studio 2005. It also seems to somehow happen with one of my own programs that I run after that. This is the relevant part of the installer:

ExecWait "VCRedist\vcredist_x86.exe /Q"
ExecWait "Proun.exe CONNECTIONTEST"


I have not seen this happening myself, but several users have reported this to me on my support forum. Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks in advance!
Oogst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011, 16:33   #2
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,321
I'm not saying that it is going to fix the problem, but you should execute with full path and correct quotes:
Quote:
ExecWait '"$pluginsdir\VCRedist\vcredist_x86.exe" /Q'

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011, 19:58   #3
Oogst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
I can change that, but I strongly doubt it will help, because it is running the file, and even recognizing the /Q, since it runs automatically. I guess this couldn't cause repeated runs of the ExecWait, right?
Oogst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011, 23:05   #4
demiller9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 462
In my installer I embed the vc redistributable, but I have extracted it beforehand and call it like this:
code:
SetOutPath $PLUGINSDIR
File "${LIB}\vc_red.msi"
File "${LIB}\vc_red.cab"
DetailPrint "Execute: VCRedist_x86.exe"
ExecWait '"$SYSDIR\msiexec.exe" /i $PLUGINSDIR\vc_red.msi /qn /norestart'

Use the -x switch to extract the contents of VCRedist_x86 without installing it.

Don

Edit: specify the switch that extracts the contents without installing the package.
demiller9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2011, 23:07   #5
msroboto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 47
I doubt it will make much difference but this is what I use to install vcredist.

nsExec::ExecToStack "vcredist_x86.exe /Q"
msroboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2011, 11:12   #6
MSG
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,892
Are you sure the problem also occurs for your proun.exe? You should ask (one of) the affected users to run a quick test installer that only tries to install vcredist. Add some messageboxes with debug info if applicable. You need to isolate the cause of the problem, so start with the simplest and work your way up.

If it's only vcredist that's looping, you might want to create a minimum installer that shows the problem and pass that to microsoft support.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2011, 12:49   #7
T.Slappy
Major Dude
 
T.Slappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to T.Slappy
I suppose this error is somehow related to 64bit VC Redist because on X86 installation is much smoother...
BTW: fix this line:
Quote:
ExecWait "Proun.exe CONNECTIONTEST"
This command launches PROUN.exe [the installer!!!] not the game app with name "Proun.exe" which is really annoying because everyone installs the game twice!

Cool looking installers with custom design: www.graphical-installer.com
Create Setup Pages easily: www.install-designer.com
Build installers in Visual Studio 2005-2019: www.visual-installer.com
or RAD Studio 2009, 2010, XE-10.4 Sydney: www.rad-installer.com
T.Slappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump