Old 10th January 2010, 17:43   #1
jagasker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minersvile, PA
Posts: 1
bgtext

Hi all,

Just a quick qestion...

I have written an installer that uses the bggradient and bgfont attributes. When I test the installer, the gradient appears, but there is no text on the gradient.

Is there a way to set/modify the text on the bggradient?

Thanks in advance for the help.

John Gasker
johngasker@verizon.net
jagasker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2010, 03:03   #2
CrushBug
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 119
Can you post a section of your code or a cut down sample that we could download and try ourselves? That would make it easier to try and help you.
CrushBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2010, 16:53   #3
jagasker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minersvile, PA
Posts: 4
I'm working on that now. I should have code posted soon.

John Gasker
johngasker@verizon.net

Last edited by jagasker; 25th January 2010 at 17:19.
jagasker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2010, 17:06   #4
jagasker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minersvile, PA
Posts: 4
Here is the code. I put all necessary files inside a zip archive in order to help prevent compile errors.

(fyi - Yes, I know code is Adobe-related - I'm not going to distribute it in any way - It's for personal use)

Thanks again in advance.

John Gasker
johngasker@verizon.net

Last edited by jagasker; 25th January 2010 at 17:22.
jagasker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 04:32   #5
CrushBug
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 119
I changed "BGGradient" to "BGGradient 000000 800000 FFFFFF" and it showed up. I think you need to explicitly set the values as I think the last value is the font color.
CrushBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 21:23   #6
jagasker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minersvile, PA
Posts: 4
I made the changes and the text showed up for me as well. The last attribute is the font color. I guess all attributes must be specified in order for text to show up. Thanks, CrushBug!

Also I've got another question. Is there a default value that I can put in so that I can use the default gradient colors (black to blue) slong with the text?

Code Sample 1:
bggradient default_top default_bottom ffffff

In other words, if you looked at Code Sample 1 (above), what could I specify for the first two attributes in place of "default_top" and "default_bottom" so that the default black to blue gradient would be displayed along with the text using the color specified in the third attribute?

Note: I tried using Code Sample 2 (below) which did not work. All I got was no text and a white to black gradient.

Code Sample 2:
bggradient ffffff

Thanks again in advance for the help.

John Gasker
johngasker@verizon.net
jagasker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 02:32   #7
jagasker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minersvile, PA
Posts: 4
Hi,

Haven't got a response to my recent post in awhile. Can someone possibly answer my post?

Thanks,

John Gasker
johngasker@verizon.net
jagasker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 09:43   #8
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Try empty parameters? ""

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 13:51   #9
Animaether
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,173
Empty parameters doesn't work..

You must specify the colors, as CrushBug stated.

What you -could- do is define the colors, of course:
PHP Code:
!define black   000000
!define red     ff0000
!define yellow  ffff00
!define green   00ff00
!define cyan    00ffff
!define blue    0000ff
!define magenta ff00ff
etc.

bggradient ${blue} ${blackffffff

OutFile 
"test.exe"

Section
SectionEnd 
Animaether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 13:57   #10
Animaether
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,173
or, if you -really- want to do away with the color specifications, create a new define...

PHP Code:
!define BGGradient "BGGradient 000000 000080"

${BGGradientffff00

OutFile 
"test.exe"

Section
SectionEnd 
But given that BGGradient is an installer attribute that you'd only really use once.. I'm wondering if it's worth the bother.

Last edited by Animaether; 6th April 2010 at 13:57. Reason: code vs php
Animaether is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump