Old 8th May 2005, 12:29   #1
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
A "larger" in time oscilloscope

I want my oscilloscope to display the audio information from 1 or 2 seconds ago, or even more. I don't know what I'm doing wrong... It works a little bit, but there are errors. Could you help me?
Attached Files
File Type: zip osc.zip (252 Bytes, 172 views)
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2005, 13:09   #2
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
You'll need to store the information yourself in megabuf. But there is no continuity guarantee in AVS.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2005, 13:18   #3
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
Take a look at the avs, because that's exactly what I'm doing, I'm storing the information in megabuf. But it doesn't work as it should, there is no continuity, because of me OR because of the megabuf??
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 02:35   #4
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
trying to do something like this?
Attached Files
File Type: zip mesh2_2.zip (1.9 KB, 165 views)

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 09:11   #5
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
Yes and No... I'm just trying to do a simple superscope. But something like you did, to be able to see the audio data from the actual moment back to a few seconds. To make you understand better, I'll tell you what I need it for: i am ocassionally using winamp as an oscilloscope (a real one) with help from the linein input. And if, for example I input a 50Hz sine, I can only see aboute half a sine on the screen, due to the size of the default buffer... i think. Hope you understand.
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 01:42   #6
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
professional software

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 03:25   #7
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
AVS always gives you the last available time samples. How often this is updated depends on the frames per second, so you have no way of ensuring continuity, save for doing cross correlations or something (expensive!).

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 10:05   #8
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,082
So what you want is hardrealtime. AVS is the softiest softrealtime that I know of.

Why don't you simply create a little tool for that in VB or something like that? on the other hand, there must be several tools just for that available over the internet.

Google is your friend.

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump