Old 5th August 2003, 01:05   #1
chrisc
Junior Member
 
chrisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus,GA
Posts: 20
new graphics card and I'm so happy

I just installed a new "geforce2" card.
now my mother bord tries to keep up with winamp instead of the other way around. I'm sure it's no big deal to you guys.but I realized how crapy the presets I made are to the rest of you.

I know I said this before but I'm so happy. Like a kid in a candy store.

I just played 2 games that wouldn't play before because I went from 4 meg to 64 on the vid card.

I have a few 100 of ya'lls presets that might as well be bran new.

AVS rules.
chrisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 01:19   #2
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
you know that the video card doesn't make a huge impact on AVS - actually it barely makes an impact at all.

And it isn't your motherboard that is trying to keep up, but your CPU.
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 01:51   #3
chrisc
Junior Member
 
chrisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus,GA
Posts: 20
I get what your saying, but I saw Elivs and jeriko double in frame rate. I guess i should have said my 503 Mhz chip is trying to keep up. well any avs now matches the beat. but the keybord input form me is slower.yes' I understand My cpu is a piece of **** but.I got the most tweaked 500Mhz. - machine out there.
chrisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 03:00   #4
Pixelcraft
Wildly Confused
(Major Dude)
 
Pixelcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,204
Good ol' AVS. Never gets better graphics.

Quote:
I saw Elivs and jeriko double in frame rate
Uhm, wouldn't that look kinda bad?

"It's like saying give a man a Les Paul guitar and he becomes Eric Clapton, and of course that's not true, give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer and he doesn't become...whoever; he doesn't become us." - Roger Waters
Pixelcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 03:01   #5
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
Not if he was getting 5FPS.
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 03:50   #6
chrisc
Junior Member
 
chrisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus,GA
Posts: 20
if you think I'm I screwing around I saw my fps go from an avg of 5 to 16. big whoop right but for me an incredible change. zero lag, not on this piece of sh**.but as near as I could get.yes I bout a cheap computer 4 years ago. but to night I'm stoked.
chrisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 05:32   #7
Zevensoft
Major Dude
 
Zevensoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ballarat, Australia
Posts: 529
The hardware blt of the new card could make that much of a difference you know, windows is really slow at software blts.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 3W | 4WW
Zevensoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 05:46   #8
horse-fly
Account Closed
 
horse-fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,360
500 mhz... i'd kill for that
horse-fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2003, 08:28   #9
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
lol, going to buy an AMD 2600+ in a month, with a Radeon 9700+ (128MB, directX 9+ support, etc...). Don't think the AVS's I made till now on my Pentium 266 will still look nice on it, is going to be a speedburst from here (holland) to Tokyo, finally able to do something more with AVS , now I only have to wait (and work damn hard for it ).

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2003, 00:21   #10
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
my Alienware 3.2GHz PIV Geforce FX 5900 should be coming in soon. I think they sent it off on the 4th and they said it shouldn't take more than 3 or 4 days. I can't wait. I want it now, goddamnit.
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2003, 01:34   #11
devils night
Senior Member
 
devils night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: your mama
Posts: 306
sounds good. i hope to get a new computer soon as well. i think i will go with the 2.4GHZ pentium 4 with hyperthreading and hopefully i will be able to get the new geforceFX 5900 with 256MB. now if AVS is still slow with that i don't know what it will take for that to run smoothly at fullscreen

Proud Winamp user since 1997
(Winamp 1.006)
devils night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2003, 06:27   #12
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
The geforceFX 5900 ultra? yay, that's the fastest card on the market now. (though also the loudest, and therefor I suggest you still take the ATI Radeon 9800+ if you want a silent computer. The performance drop is almost nothing (just a tiny bit of 3d mark score, in the games you won't even notice), and the noice level is really a lot lower, which makes it a recommendable buy.)

just my two cents

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2003, 18:00   #13
devils night
Senior Member
 
devils night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: your mama
Posts: 306
that is true Deamon the gefoceFX 5900 will definetly be the top graphics card for very long sense it is just a few more point better than the raedeon but its just my preference i just like to be different instead of everybody else getting the ATI card and the AMD chips i just like to take a little risk now and then and besides the 5900 and raedeon are just about the same price around where i am anyway

Proud Winamp user since 1997
(Winamp 1.006)
devils night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2003, 18:56   #14
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
I think you forgot a "not" in there somewhere.

I am getting that card regardless of volume - I could care less about my computer being "silent".
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 03:27   #15
chrisc
Junior Member
 
chrisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus,GA
Posts: 20
update -It keep's geting cooler

tonight I thought what the hell.I hooked up an old monitor from my 486 and even though the duel screen support lowered the res. on my second screen to 600x800.the avs played just as fast on both monitors.
maybe the graphics memory on the gforce2 bleed into the crappy ati pro(4meg)or maybe not whatever.all I know is 2 screens take longer to screw with but I can change the avs on the little monitor while waiting it on the other in full screen. oh and yes I went though hell adjusting everything.
chrisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 06:28   #16
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
nice .

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 08:49   #17
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Not another gfx thread?

I got a 3-10 fps boost when i changed my sdr to ddr (depending on preset, example: moon of mana got only 2.5 fps while the presets at avs party 3 got way faster )

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 10:40   #18
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
I'm really curious to see how much my boost is going to be. Can't wait

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 16:22   #19
HarsH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: halfway between the gutter and the stars
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to HarsH
saw a display at my local computer store playing avs (god this thing gets around!) on a computer which had 6 flat screan monitors all hooked up. What was cool was

a) That fullscrean render was spread out across the 6 monitors.
b) It was insanely fast (getting on for 40 FPS @ 1024x1168)!
c) They were playing el-vis. (I think it was golden, but i'm not sure.)

It turned out that the pc was a alienware pentium 4 3ghz, with a geforce Fx 9700. awesome!
HarsH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 19:53   #20
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
GeForce FX 5900? Or ATI Radon 9700? Which is it? Or is it a hybrid card?

Damn, my sweet ass computer came while I was at work and they couldn't leave it because I have to sign for it.
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 20:40   #21
HarsH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: halfway between the gutter and the stars
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to HarsH
might have been
HarsH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2003, 20:49   #22
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
Might have been.... which one? The ATI, or the Geforce. There is no such thing as a GeForce FX 9700

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2003, 14:26   #23
HarsH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: halfway between the gutter and the stars
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to HarsH
ati then
HarsH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2003, 18:52   #24
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
I got my new computer now. It's sweet as...anything.

I'm now thinking that the FPS limiter thing may be a good APE to have. Zero-G Maze III gets over 70FPS at 320x200. You can barely see it turning. It turns almost 2 times a second. It's way too damn fast. At 800x600(No pixel doubling) it runs at a reasonable(but somewhat slow) 21FPS.
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2003, 21:11   #25
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
somewhat slow? I'd kill for that, though I'm normally working for it now and getting it in a few week. Also the Ati 9700 PRO with it, though I don't quite get why we are always talking about graphics cards here as if they matter to avs

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2003, 09:06   #26
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
I hope shreyas will get the ape done somewhen.

When i get my new Athlon 64 the boost up from 1GHz will be weird to all of my older Presets.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2003, 10:49   #27
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
you're talking about the framerate limiter, eh? Yeah, I can't wait to have it as well.

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2003, 11:02   #28
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Uhm... framerate limiter? O_o

Why not just adjust the perfomance in the display options... jeez...

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2003, 11:06   #29
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Because a framerate limiter can be passed with the preset is much smarter then a comment saying "best to watch at xx.xfps" and the anyoing fact that you'll have to adjust it every time.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2003, 21:23   #30
zamuz
Senior Member
 
zamuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: santiago, chile
Posts: 152
man just looking at this thread makes me drool for a better pc... right now i'm in a laptop, pentium II mmx, 192 ram in a 228x228 avs screen. i like my tiny little piece of pc though
zamuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2003, 06:51   #31
flarkit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Magic.X
When i get my new Athlon 64 the boost up from 1GHz will be weird to all of my older Presets.
I do agree completely with you!

Firstly, AVS is indeed one of the most fascinating apps I have ever come across (it helps to be a programmer with a strong interest in electronic music!).

I run AVS 2.6 at 384x285 on my P3-866 (128Mb SDRAM) at work and get around 20fps, which is bearable. We have an 1GHz Athlon (512Mb SDRAM) at home which does about 50% better. Then I got myself a gaming machine 3 months ago: XP 2100+, 512Mb DDR-333, 128Mb Radeon 9500 Pro. now I get the same frame rate when running fullscreen at 800 x 600 x 32bpp (80% screen height).

I think it would be so amazing if it were possible to have software and hardware-rendering. This would push the complexity up quite a large bit though: using an API like OpenGL or Direct3D, plus somehow ensuring that the presets could safely be switched between software and hardware.
flarkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2003, 07:12   #32
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Most of the effects, avs uses may not be done with 3d hardware. And those who could, will probably never as it's unlikely that there will be a really innovative update to avs.

But if you want, you could write ape's that use 3d hardware to render something.

[edit] Welcome to the AVS Forums, Flarkit


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2003, 12:18   #33
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Because a framerate limiter can be passed with the preset is much smarter then a comment saying "best to watch at xx.xfps"
Yes, but i was referring to Anubis's "problems" of the avs's being too fast for him. Yes the framerate limiter could help people like Degnic, who is always yapping about the framerate O_o , but still i don't think it would be such a great ape. If you need make effects that are dependable on some certain framerate... well booh on you then

And yes i yap about the framerate too, but my policy always is "The faster, the better" and no framerate limiter can help there

And anubis, just use a bigger window or use wa3, that should do the trick

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2003, 12:24   #34
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
I have to run AVS at at least 800*600 in WA3 to get som speeds to watch the AVS, it's going way too fast otherwise . All of my older presets are so weird now.

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2003, 12:28   #35
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Well, booh on me then.

IMHO you just don't get how valueable this would be.

But maybe you'll change your opinion about this if it's done. (Hurry, Shreyas )


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2003, 12:30   #36
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
I haven't heard about any progress in it for quite some time, is Shreyas still working on it?

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2003, 12:38   #37
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
He volunteered to do it, i hope so at least. Otherwise i'll have to get my ass up. awww

ToDo List:

-Finish Hotlist 2.3 and get it ready for release
-Continue working on CodeMate
-Start work on the limiter.ape
-Go to work every day
-Organize next Party / VJ set
-Do some PC-DJ'ing (to get better)
-Get a GF
-Care about RL
-Jeeez and after all try to get some sleep!

This is waaay too much, i'd need 36h a day...

[Edit]Did i happen to miss the tournament preset?
Btw, order != ranking. [/Edit]


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2003, 08:40   #38
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
lol @ point 7 & 8. I do that already. It's great to have a girlfriend, they force you to care about real life. How about that 2 in 1 . Oh well, good luck.

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2003, 10:10   #39
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Hey, not that i would'nt care about RL, i do very much, but things need time to be done, ya know. I dont need a GF to force me caring like you but after beeing a single for half a year, a new one would be nice


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2003, 10:46   #40
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
I don't need a GF to force me to care about RL, but it does help . I do a lot in RL without my girlfriend with it, like sports etc, so I'm capable of living a real life as well. Woohoo! I'm multi-talented . What I do with my girlfriend is private, so don't bother asking.

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump