Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th November 2006, 13:20   #1
BongoBongoBong!
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Script Error on Line 1298 opening Shoutcast

1: I am a NEWBIE (erhmhm) so pls dont scalp me.
2: I tried for over an hour to find a similar problem in all forums. (and prolly missed it....)
3: My firewall (and the one of my router IS configured correctly); reinstalling 5.32(pro) doesn't change a f**t.
3: Whenever I chose "Shoutcast media" from the media library, I get the Error: "Script Error on Line 1298. Continue executing this Page?" If I answer "Yes" all streams are displayed correctly (well obviously). - but the error nags nevertheless.
4: If I add a station to "Bookmarks" the title of the station is displayed in a strange dialect of Clingon, or is that some incomprehensible garbage code? (No offense meant to any literate Clingons) - the URI is saved correctly nevertheless...

So if some loving tech-head could please put a potplant into the emptiness of my wisdom......

THX L8d!!
BongoBong! (keeps on Bonging)
BongoBongoBong! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2006, 14:57   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
You can thank the wonderful (not!) ad banner at the top for this.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=260083
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=260060

Like me, you've probably got one or both of ar.atwola.com and twx.doubleclick.net remapped to localhost in your Hosts file, and/or listed in IE's Restricted Sites zone (eg. apps like Spybot SD and SpywareBlaster will add these known ad servers to the Restricted Sites zone).

The result is that you won't see the ads. However, because Winamp's online services uses an embedded IE window but, at the same time, doesn't recognize/use the IE Advanced setting to disable script debugging & not to display a notification about every script error, this then results in the script error popups that we're all seeing.

Yes, it sucks. But there's not much we can do about it at the moment :-(
(well, there is... but I would really get shot for it this time)

[Edit]

Update: You only need to have twx.doubleclick.net blocked to stop the ads. Blocking ar.atwola.com is what causes the script errors, so unblock that and everything should be ok (no ads, no script errors).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2006, 15:15   #3
BongoBongoBong!
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
AHA a Nagscreen in Payware isit?

Hrmpf (cit. Ironbeard the Grudging)


So what we have here is ADWARE in a paying piece of s-
ehrm software that is?

Weeeeeeellll well, guess its time to fire up good ole
Ubuntu and listen to my music with Amarok again.....

Unless that is, of course some wise programmer choose to
wipe that "feature" off the otherwise almost perfect soft...
(or at least do it in some decent way)

Oh, yes this acid remark will bring me some grudges - but then
again - if it helps further improve this soft, its ok.

Come on - bring some more weight! My back is getting stronger and stronger!! (cit. BongoBong!)
BongoBongoBong! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2006, 16:01   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Get out the guns!

Unzip attachment to the winamp\plugins\ml folder
edit ml_online.ini accordingly.

No further help on this one, you'll have to work it out for yourself.


Please use the updated version from the post below instead

-
Attached Files
File Type: zip sc.zip (9.5 KB, 1643 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 03:08   #5
Tag
Streaming Media Expert
 
Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Tag
Shoutcast is a 100% free service that's provided at a great cost to Winamp/Nullsoft/AOL. We have to pay for it some how. What would *you* suggest we do?

Powered by Redbull and Progressive House
Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 12:42   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Charge the broadcasters a small fee maybe? Instead of hosting them for free and trying to compensate by punishing the users with ads.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 14:50   #7
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Thanks for the fix Egg.

Any reason not to use this as a local file(for the folks without webspace) ?

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 15:14   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
I tried that first, but it didn't work (comes up with an 'internet connection required' type of error). Does it work ok for you?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 15:23   #9
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Yeah, it's ok for me.

I'll try it on a standard ml_online.ini and get back. (I'm running Online Services through a custom page ATM)

[edit] Looks ok.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 19:56   #10
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Quote:
Originally posted by Tag
Shoutcast is a 100% free service that's provided at a great cost to Winamp/Nullsoft/AOL. We have to pay for it some how. What would *you* suggest we do?
I personally don't even mind seeing a few ads that much, but only within limits.

That means they should not cause script errors, should not use flash (flash ads bog down the system and terribly slow down page-loading), and should not look like the ads I had last month on the Now Playing page:
http://m.fr.2mdn.net/viewad/1308393/..._v1_041006.GIF
http://m.fr.2mdn.net/viewad/1308393/...R_04102006.GIF
http://m.fr.2mdn.net/viewad/1308393/...o_06102006.gif

With a pic like that the NP page is basically useless, unless you don't mind getting sick.


(Sorry for going off-topic with the NP page part, but those pics really were annoying...
And then I'm not even mentioning the cases where ads produced sounds (in a media player!), though I guess that's been fixed by now...)

[/rant]

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 20:08   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
ugh
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 22:04   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
updated :-)

(working bookmarks & follows winamp's global text font/size setting)

Please use the updated version from the post below instead

-
Attached Files
File Type: zip sc.zip (9.6 KB, 1183 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 01:32   #13
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Thanks Egg

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 14:40   #14
rob311fan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: jacksonville,fl
Posts: 57
Send a message via Yahoo to rob311fan
thanks egg! I've been looking for this for a while
now if theres something to get rid of the aol adds in in2tv i'd be a happy Winamper
rob311fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 15:17   #15
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Getting odd colours in the config screen. Not sure if this is serverside code or the Media Library, seems independent of the skin. There's a similar effect with CDDB look ups, missing bit plane or overlay by the look of it. Benign as far as I can tell.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 15:39   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@ujay
It's the same in the original version, so there's not much I can do about it.
It doesn't look like it's anything in the .css either, heh.

@rob311fan
I don't bother with in2tv personally, but look at ml_online.ini, find the url, load it in IE, view source, save to a .html file, and edit in Notepad accordingly. Basically, you'll need to locate & comment out the javascript which points to the ads, and change all the url's (images, links, etc) to absolute instead of relative. Good luck with that.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 15:51   #17
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Pretty sure it's the Media Library not drawing properly since it turns up elsewhere.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 15:52   #18
rob311fan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: jacksonville,fl
Posts: 57
Send a message via Yahoo to rob311fan
I see. Should I read-only the edited ml_online.ini or could this conflict with future installs?
rob311fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2006, 16:22   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Just make a backup copy of it, so you can restore it at any time later.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 10:33   #20
MeanStang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
so i take it that i need my own website to be able to use this SC FIX?
MeanStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 10:46   #21
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
No, you don't.

You can actually get it to work by just placing sc.html in eg. the Winamp\Plugins\ml folder and editing ml_online.ini to point to it.

ElementURL6=file:///C:/Program%20Files/Winamp/Plugins/ml/sc.html

(where '6' corresponds to whatever the correct number is for the Shoutcast Radio entry).

So much for my 'no further help on this one' comment above, eh?! ;-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2006, 11:24   #22
MeanStang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
hey thanks im going to do this quick before you change your mind an delete the post.
MeanStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2006, 21:44   #23
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821

Another update... includes latest sc radio & tv
-

Please use the updated version from the post below instead

-
Attached Files
File Type: zip sc.zip (17.5 KB, 1194 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2007, 16:08   #24
Winner2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 62
DJ Egg,

I am getting script errors with the provided sc.html and tv.html.

sc.html:
Line: 1482
Char: 5
Error: 's_265' is undefined
Code: 0

tv.html:
Line: 1236
Char: 5
Error: 's_265' is undefined
Code: 0
Winner2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2007, 16:27   #25
Winner2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 62
DJ Egg,

Unless you see something amiss in the html code, my problem report can probably be dismissed. It seems that Proxomitron might be doing something to these pages; I'll investigate a bit more.

Thanks!
Winner2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 07:27   #26
kostelo
Junior Member
 
kostelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
After I upgraded to 5.33 version and using this fix, none of the lists load. Just empty space and neither search gives any results. What happened? My shoutcast radio and tv don't work anymore.
kostelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 07:35   #27
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The default sc radio & tv views aren't even working for me at the moment, so I expect it to be related...

Watch this space for updates.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 11:06   #28
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Updated for 5.33

Please note that if you get any 'genre load failed' or 'no stations available' errors, then this has got nothing to do with these html files, but is a (temporary) serverside error/issue (ie. it also occurs with the default serverside listings).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 14:45   #29
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Thanks Egg

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 03:53   #30
MeanStang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
i tried this and im getting "TypeError: Object expected". and the columns and listings are all jumbled together now.
MeanStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 09:01   #31
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
You definitely 'tried' the version for 5.33 from my previous post above?
Did you edit ml_online.ini accordingly? (with Winamp closed)
And you're definitely using Winamp 5.33 with ml_online.dll v1.31 ?

Have you tried emptying the Internet Explorer cache (delete Temp Internet Files)?

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#specs
HijackThis & my_plugins_list.txt logs might show something...
Other than that, I really aren't sure what's causing your problem.
It works just fine here :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 10:11   #32
waterloo_sunset
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Am experiencing the same problem as MeanStang. Used to work great with the previous version. No third party plugins installed. Did a clean install of 5.33.
waterloo_sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 10:27   #33
MeanStang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
SC.HTML
Line: 1058
Char: 3
Error: Object Expected
Code: 0

TV.HTML
Line: 741
Char: 3
Error: Object expected
Code: 0

In the meantime while you figure this out, can you tell me what the ml_online.ini originally referenced for tv and sc, was it winamp.com?
MeanStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 10:34   #34
waterloo_sunset
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
http://www.winamp.com/bin/om/sc/
http://www.winamp.com/bin/om/tv/
waterloo_sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 11:00   #35
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Aah, looks like there's been another serverside update. Doh!

Yup, those are the two correct url's.

I'll post another update shortly....
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 11:46   #36
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Updated for 5.33+

Fixed versions attached with latest updates

Note: I recommend that you change the name of the TV one from tv.html to something else, eg. sctv.html, because the Winamp installer always seems to delete tv.html

_______________________________________________

Update: Nov 2007

Get the update for 5.5+ here


_______________________________________________
Attached Files
File Type: zip sc.zip (17.6 KB, 1671 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 16:52   #37
waterloo_sunset
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Works beautifully now. Thank You!
waterloo_sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2007, 13:48   #38
dedbeat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to dedbeat
sorry...im a noob. edited ml_online.ini as requested and pasted attached html files in directory. i still get script errors. though im not sure how its got anything to do with shoutcast and tv since all i have to do is click on any song in my library and voila...script error. HELP!
dedbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2007, 14:00   #39
dedbeat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to dedbeat
just realized the topic is on shoutcast. my bad. any fix for my issue though?
dedbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2007, 11:31   #40
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
See if these threads are of any help...

Script/Runtime Errors in Now Playing, Show Info, Dashboard
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=258575
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=258559

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump