Old 8th August 2009, 10:41   #361
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
And the format of the password in edcasts password field is djname:djpassword ?
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2009, 08:55   #362
Elus1ve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by Jkey
And the format of the password in edcasts password field is djname:djpassword ?
Yes. But i suspect the problem lies with edcast as it interprets ':' as something else when added in the password field. Maybe a 'single dj mode' could be added that bypasses this password mysery as i don't really use this calendar/schedule etc feature?! But im open to any suggestion that solves this problem.thx.
Elus1ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2009, 14:50   #363
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
i think i remember in edcasts code that it does actually have a function that the password field uses to remove certain bad chars.
You should post on the oddsock forums to see if the : char is indeed removed or altered.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 11:28   #364
bored_womble
Winamp's Womble
 
bored_womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wimbledon Common
Posts: 1,100
you could try

djname\:djpassword

may work, depending on the underlying code which removes characters.

BW

Without open minds the world will die. Open yours and correct the mistakes you are making right now.
bored_womble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 12:08   #365
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
I think it might be my mistake. According to the specs for URL encoding, a colon should be escaped. It doesn't look like sc_trans is un-escaping a received colon. Most likely sc_trans is making the same mistake in both directions (hence it works with itself).

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 18:18   #366
DJ Pedster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 40
Im using my own PHP API class... Right, it seemed I stuffed up somewhere, and a dj didn't get added....but he was still able to add himself to the schedule.... How come? Seems a bit odd.

Also, I have a booking system where dj's book weekly, shedule get removed, etc...... anyhow, when a DJ books and accidently click my book button a few times (d'oh), duplicate entries are added in the shedule... Which if I delete a few when their live, it boots them..... will, or can, the next beta check if the event exists?

TIA

Regards,

DJ Pedster
DJ Pedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 18:58   #367
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
Defining the meaning of a "duplicate event" is trickier than you might think, but in this case it seems the problem is an exact duplicate in every sense. I suppose it's reasonable to raise in error in that case.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 19:11   #368
DJ Pedster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by nradisch
I suppose it's reasonable to raise in error in that case.
[/B]
Yeah, that would be useful.... As using PHP's SimpleXML would be a nightmare to check myself, well, I gather so
DJ Pedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 15:45   #369
DJ Pedster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 40
Is it possible to add the DJ's kbps rate into the getstatus API routine? Kinda useless option I know but.

Regards,

DJ Pedster
DJ Pedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 12:36   #370
Thijmen-OS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
What's the difference?
Thijmen-OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 16:58   #371
hmoscovitz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by bored_womble
you could try

djname\:djpassword

may work, depending on the underlying code which removes characters.

BW
Unfortunately, this doesn't work.

When you enter a : in edcast config window it takes it, and allows a connect to sc_trans, but it changes the : as described above. Future connects don't work unless you change the password in the config window back to the colon again. Perhaps another character could be used as a delimiter. The ~ seems to keep edcast happy.
hmoscovitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 17:03   #372
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
This is an sc_trans bug. the ":" character should be escaped, but sc_trans is not un-escaping it.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 17:13   #373
hmoscovitz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Thanks, Neil, for the prompt reply.

Hopefully, this is an OK place to ask another question. What about relaying with sc_trans? On radio.electro-music.com we are running big streaming concerts with people from all over the world taking 1/2 to 1 hour sets. We give each one their own shoutcast server port/password pair so they can learn how to connect and how to get the level right for their sets. Then, when their time comes, we restart the main sc_serv server and have it relay their server. This has many problems associated with restarting the sc_serv process. (We just send a signal to it to reread the config file, but is is very slow as there is much dead air.

It would be great if sc_trans could relay an sc_serv that is already running. We need the multiple rates and the gain control is very valuable.

Is relaying on the plan? Is there another solution that we should be considering?

Thanks.
Howard
hmoscovitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2009, 13:21   #374
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
I'm hoping we can deliver that and many other features soon.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2009, 01:06   #375
hmoscovitz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by nradisch
I'm hoping we can deliver that and many other features soon.
Great to hear. I'll be jumping right on testing it.
hmoscovitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2009, 21:26   #376
kashej
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Free BSD 6.2

Why ShoutCast Transcoder can't run on FreeBSD 6.2 ?
And on what version it can be runned ?
kashej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2009, 13:10   #377
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
There is a BSD version. If it does not work on 6.2, perhaps you could provide some more insight. What happens when you try to run it?

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 13:08   #378
djmentos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
reconnect

Hi, is it posible to set reconnect time in config file?

And can I turn of sending songs titles ot set static song title?
djmentos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 23:19   #379
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
reconnect time - No
song titles - Sort of. You can use the usemetadata and metadatapattern options to achieve this.

set usemetadata=0
Then set metadatapattern to the empty string or whatever fixed string you want to use (docs.txt has more info).

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2009, 10:25   #380
alfderheld
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
DJ Name

Hello everyone,

ive looking in all posts, but i dont found any practicable information about the following:

Does anybody have a php-code, where i can read the djname in a variable in the beta5?

Actually i see the only way to look in the logfiles, but that is very disamusing.

Thx

Alf
alfderheld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 10:48   #381
ram130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to ram130 Send a message via Yahoo to ram130
Hello everyone. Well this edition of shout cast is really good. I hope really soon there will be a way to rebroadcast the dj meta name to the main site. When will the next drop be?

Ramon

Last edited by ram130; 18th September 2009 at 11:40.
ram130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 11:46   #382
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
To schedule an ad every 90 minutes you want to use the
following parameters in the event

repeat=128
starttime=01:30:00

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 14:44   #383
ram130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to ram130 Send a message via Yahoo to ram130
Works perfectly thanks Neil. Do you have any info on when a next beta drop or release could happen?

Ramon
ram130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 17:14   #384
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
There have been a number of technical, legal and organizational issues that put a stop to shoutcast software releases at the end of April. We hope to have the last of the blockers cleared up by October, and then the software pipeline should start to flow again.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 18:38   #385
DJ Pedster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 40
This is maybe a bug:

A dj books Sunday at, say, 12am by mistake..... Then he goes and book 12pm on Saturday (which is correct)..... He connects quite happierly.....So I go and delete the Sunday at 12am, only to find out he gets booted from the stream instantly! Why does this happen? Then it wont let him reconnect, unless I delete the schedule then re-add it.

Regards,

DJ Pedster
DJ Pedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2009, 00:16   #386
ram130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to ram130 Send a message via Yahoo to ram130
Well I suggest to delete all is schedule info then reschedule him. Bugs should be clear on a the next release, remember its still in beta. Neil I have suggestion, can make a option that lets a play list activate after a certain amount of songs? I also found a problem with the VU imagines not loading in linux.

Ramon
ram130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 15:56   #387
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
Bugs are bugs, regardless of what revision they appear in.
I look into it when I have time.

I'm pushing for a slight change in the way software is released. I'd like to have the repository set up similar to the way open source is organized. There will be one pile with "development" releases which will always contain the latest regardless of stability. A development release that seems to hold up under pressure would eventually be moved to the "stable" pile. The hope is to get away from the "perpetual beta" syndrome which, IMHO, is a cop-out and a way of avoiding responsibility.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 17:12   #388
ram130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to ram130 Send a message via Yahoo to ram130
That is how it should be. I hope everything works out as this new shout cast version has so much to offer once finished.

Ramon
ram130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 01:55   #389
jagorek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Dear All

I have a simple question to people who knows xml.
I would like to create in calendard events.
Events where i would like to play at the time
08,09,11,12,13,15 etc
at the 10 past this houeres some songs,ads,jingles from the playlist.
Playlist will be change every 2-3 houeres , some times mabe often or not.
I would like to play this playlist after the songs will end.
So of songs start at 13:09 and have a 3 minutes time
and the events is set up to 13:10 i would like to play this event at 13:12.
I also would like to know, when this events playlist will be finished , if sc_trans will be back to play old playlist , from the next songs where the finished ?
If this possible to do it in Sc_trans 2.0 ?

Thanks and Best Regards
jagorek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 08:56   #390
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
I believe it can do what you want, but I'm having trouble following the details of your question.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 09:15   #391
jagorek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Ok.

For the first thanks for quick response and sorry for my english.

I want to do somethink like that

normally i play some playlist.lst
and i wont to play event.lst at the time, everyday

08:10
09:10
10:10
.
.
.
23:10

And the ask is:
how i must create event in xml to do it like that.
Next question is:
If the event.lst is finish , if sc_trans backing to play old playlist.lst from the next file where finished ?
jagorek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 09:57   #392
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
The calendar part of the tag should look like this

<calendar repeat="128" starttime="01:00:00" timeoffset="00:10:00"/>

By not specifying a duration, the event.lst will play until it is exhausted, and then playback will return to the main playlist.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 10:08   #393
jagorek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Could you write to me a full description of the file xml ?

it will be ?

<event>
<event type="playlist">
<calendar repeat="128" starttime="01:00:00" timeoffset="00:10:00"/>
<playlist file>
event.lst
</playlist>
</event>
jagorek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2009, 10:26   #394
ram130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to ram130 Send a message via Yahoo to ram130
Quote:
Originally posted by jagorek
Could you write to me a full description of the file xml ?

it will be ?

<event>
<event type="playlist">
<calendar repeat="128" starttime="01:00:00" timeoffset="00:10:00"/>
<playlist file>
event.lst
</playlist>
</event>
No, it will be:

<eventlist>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >event </playlist>
<calendar repeat="128" starttime="01:00:00" timeoffset="00:10:00"/>
</event>
</eventlist>



Also make sure the playlist is registered in the .conf file. Use the name you give it there in the code as shown "event" should be in your .conf. The above code is for playing, every 10min on the hour.[

Ramon
ram130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2009, 17:46   #395
biafly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
every day new playlist

how to set sc_trans2.0 to have to be that day another playlist
ex Monday.lst
Tuesday.lst
biafly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 18:18   #396
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
Re: every day new playlist

Quote:
Originally posted by biafly
how to set sc_trans2.0 to have to be that day another playlist
ex Monday.lst
Tuesday.lst
<eventlist>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >
sunday.lst
</playlist>
<calendar repeat="1"/>
</event>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >
monday.lst
</playlist>
<calendar repeat="2"/>
</event>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >
tuesday.lst
</playlist>
<calendar repeat="4"/>
</event>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >
wednesday.lst
</playlist>
<calendar repeat="8"/>
</event>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >
thursday.lst
</playlist>
<calendar repeat="16"/>
</event>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >
friday.lst
</playlist>
<calendar repeat="32"/>
</event>
<event type="playlist">
<playlist loopatend="0" shuffle="0" priority="1" >
saturday.lst
</playlist>
<calendar repeat="64"/>
</event>

</eventlist>

you might need to add starttime=00:00:00 and duration=24:00:00, not sure about that.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2009, 19:27   #397
kuttinbeatz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
ok 2 quick questions to start with but i'm sure i'll be back lol..

1)

Does the calendar.xml have to be an xml? I mean, can I dynamically generate xml through php / mysql and use calendar.php in the conf? The file will look the same when being read, just it'll have a different extention.

2)

How are the DJ's added in the testgui? I mean, it adds them fine, and even shows that it's added one in the consol, but I checked the conf to see if it was there and it wasn't!!!
Is there anyway to say have an include statement in the conf pointing another file with the dj's listed, this would again be php / mysql generated.

Any help would be great as I'm attempting to write a php / mysql / with a bit of C gui for sc_trans2, which I'll be posting the source for others once it's finished
kuttinbeatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 00:03   #398
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
1) I suppose you could, but sc_trans only reads the calendar.xml at startup. From that point on it assumes that changes the scheduling will be done via the Ajax API.

2) sc_trans doesn't spool out the resultant conf file until it quits (I probably need to change that BTW). conf files have no include file. You should consider using the Ajax API instead of complicated conf file constructs.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 00:27   #399
ram130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to ram130 Send a message via Yahoo to ram130
So Neil is there anyway to optimize the streams sound other than gain? like stereo widening and AGC?? If not, is there any plans to implement it?

Ramon
ram130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 08:27   #400
nradisch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Weston, CT
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally posted by ram130
So Neil is there anyway to optimize the streams sound other than gain? like stereo widening and AGC?? If not, is there any plans to implement it?
Not specifically, though at some point I'd like to add support for DSP plugins. That's a pretty low priority right now though.

--Neil
nradisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump