Old 12th November 2004, 05:42   #1
jdemers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Upgrade to 5.05 = BSoD in W2K

OK, I gave in to the constant messages from my old, perfectly working version of Winamp to upgrade and now I am regretting it. I use it to play MP3s on my hard drive...that is it....no challenge....two speakers and a couple of MP3's in shuffle mode. After it plays a couple it causes the blue screen of death to appear. A screen that I haven't seen in years....what gives?

I am running a VA-10MB and Windows 2000 with the latest SP. The sound card is on the MB and is a VIA VT1616 6-Channel AC 97.

Recently I tried to exit it and it gave me this error (attached .bmp). Maybe it is a clue.

Keep in mind this is a very stable machine that hasn't ever crashed except with this new version of Winamp....

Thanks!

JD
jdemers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2004, 05:54   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,798
What version of Winamp were you running before?
Winamp 2.x / 5.x or Winamp3 ?

Were there any 3rd-party plugins installed on the older version? If so, which?

Tried a clean install of 5.05?

What's the details of the BSoD error message?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2004, 01:52   #3
jdemers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Info from BSOD

I believe that I was running Winamp version 3??? I didn't install any plugins: to my knowledge just using it to listen to MP3s.

What I am sure about is that I have only gotten the crash while Winamp is running...possibly at the same time as Winword.

I have not tried a clean install. I will do that next. The BSOD message that I am getting is that there is a Page_fault_in_non_paged_Area

Adress A015FE8B Base at A00000000 Date Stamp 4118453d - win32k.sys

Any help would be appricaited. Currently, I can not listen to any music with winamp whil I work...
jdemers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2004, 03:57   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,798
So, this means that you're logged on a limited user account, yes?
ie. you're not logged on as an administrator.

Try a clean install (see link above in my first reply) and install Winamp 5.06 to your user folder (eg. "c:\documents and settings\(username)\winamp") instead of the default "c:\program files\winamp" dir.

Further info/help/tips here (also from the "Troubleshooters > Common Issues" sticky):

Limited Multi-User account issues
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=188497 [new Multiuser plugin]
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=161845
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=162363
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=163094
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=180711
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=185365 (tutorial)


Also please note that was no Winamp version 3.
There is Winamp (v0.x, 1.x, 2.x, 5.x) and there was Winamp3 v1.0.
Winamp3 was a complete rewrite, and a totally separate program. Winamp3 died 2 years ago.
Winamp 5.x is the continuation of the Winamp 2.x line.
You can install Winamp 5.x in the same folder as Winamp 2.x (ie. upgrade), but you cannot install Winamp 5.x in the same folder as Winamp3, because they are two entirely different products.

Did you install Winamp 5.x in the same folder where Winamp3 was installed?
If so, then this would also cause problems, especially with a limited user account under Win2k, where non-driver related BSoD's are more common than under WinXP...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 05:06   #5
jdemers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
I am logged in as the administrator on a personal machine

I wiped out the earlier version and did a clean install of Winamp 5.06. I thought that that fixed the problem until a minute ago when I clicked on the shortcut and immediately caused a BSOD.

Address 80434870 base at 804000000 Datestamp 40d1d183 - ntoskrnl.exe

I am going to down load and use a memory checker, but I am only having crashes with Winamp.....

Thanks for any help ,

JD
jdemers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 23:05   #6
jdemers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Still Crashing

Still getting a BSOD when I am using Word and Winamp 5.0. I have run a memory checker and it reports no memory problems. I no longer get an error message when I try and exit Winamp. It just crashes while I am working in Word and playing MP3s from the hard drive....

I am stumped....
jdemers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 01:07   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,798
Hmm, ok, let's see a HijackThis log please.

Download > http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe
Instructions > http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....33#post1459033

________________________________________________


Are you using Norton AV by any chance?
If so, go into Norton options and uncheck "enable office plugin"

Other than that...

Make sure you're running DirectX v9.0c
www.microsoft.com/directx/

Apply these DirectSound Output tweaks
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....26#post1212926
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 04:29   #8
jdemers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
VIA IDE?

DJ,

I have used Hijak this is the past to clean up my machine. No Norton AV. I have posted the log file below.

Although my symtoms weren't the same as others, I decided to try and uninstall any IDE drivers that may have gotten installed on my VIA MB system. I didn't install them conciously, but I figured that I would go through the steps to uninstall them. After that I ran both WinAmp and Word for sometime without a crash. Hopefully that is it...

Thanks!

JD

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 5:31:19 PM, on 3/13/2005
Platform: Windows 2000 SP4 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\dcfssvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\hidserv.exe
C:\Program Files\KODAK\KODAK EASYSHARE Software\bin\ptssvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\MSTask.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\stisvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\mspmspsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Communicator\xcommsvr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Scan Server\bdss.exe
C:\Program Files\Softwin\BitDefender8\vsserv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\devldr32.exe
C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb07.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Softwin\BITDEF~1\bdmcon.exe
C:\Program Files\Softwin\BitDefender8\bdnagent.exe
C:\Program Files\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe
C:\Utilities\Stiletto32\Stiletto.exe
C:\Utilities\HijakThis\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.jrdemers.com/
N1 - Netscape 4: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://home.netscape.com/"); (C:\Program Files\Netscape\Users\jrdemers\prefs.js)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiPTA] atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb07.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BDMCon] C:\PROGRA~1\Softwin\BITDEF~1\bdmcon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BDSwitchAgent] C:\Program Files\Softwin\BitDefender8\\bdswitch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BDNewsAgent] C:\Program Files\Softwin\BitDefender8\bdnagent.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe
O4 - Startup: Shortcut to Stiletto.exe.lnk = C:\Utilities\Stiletto32\Stiletto.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\msjava.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\msjava.dll
O12 - Plugin for .swf: C:\Program Files\Netscape\Communicator\Program\PLUGINS\npswf32.dll
O16 - DPF: {106E49CF-797A-11D2-81A2-00E02C015623} (AlternaTIFF ActiveX) - http://www.alternatiff.com/install/00/alttiff.cab
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...67&clcid=0x409
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{EC1F8215-6EAA-4171-945E-8AB4EA9C0802}: NameServer = 192.168.1.1
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - Unknown - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: BitDefender Scan Server - Unknown - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Scan Server\bdss.exe
O23 - Service: Dcfssvc - Eastman Kodak Company - C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\dcfssvc.exe
O23 - Service: Logical Disk Manager Administrative Service - VERITAS Software Corp. - C:\WINDOWS\System32\dmadmin.exe
O23 - Service: ptssvc - KODAK - C:\Program Files\KODAK\KODAK EASYSHARE Software\bin\ptssvc.exe
O23 - Service: BitDefender Virus Shield - Unknown - C:\Program Files\Softwin\BitDefender8\vsserv.exe
O23 - Service: BitDefender Communicator - Softwin - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Communicator\xcommsvr.exe
jdemers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 09:49   #9
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
I had a big reply set up but it got lost in the ether that is the net.

I need the exact STOP error message to narrow down what is happening

e.g. 0x00000050 (0xa0c50000, 0x00000000, 0x8045b8c7, 0x00000000)
PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

Lots of the errors with 0x50 and win32k.sys relate to corrupted fonts and the like and this does tie in with your Word problem also.

Is the ntoskrnl.exe Stop error the same?

It appears to be more than a winamp issue here.

I would look at re-insatlling your fonts and running Office Update.

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 12:14   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,798
Just to confirm that your HJT log is clean, although there is a newer version of HJT (v1.99.1 c/o my above link) which does show a few more things.

Re: VIA IDE

Did you install the Enhanced VIA IDE Accelerator Driver?
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=207303
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=201287
http://forums.viaarena.com/messagevi...threadid=64033
http://forums.viaarena.com/messagevi...threadid=64050

If so, then uninstalling that and reinstalling the standard IDE driver (c/o Hyperion 4-in-1 package) should've fixed all problems.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 17:00   #11
jdemers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Ok,

I have gone through the uninstall procedure for the VIA IDE accelerator drivers...not sure that it did anything because I am not sure they were installed.

Hopefully the above fixed the problem. After doing the above, I was working in Word while running Winamp. Without any problems. It is hard to be certain though, because it does not crash right away, but takes some time.

I will record any BSOD messages that I get.

I will try a font re-install and an Office update.

Thanks!

JD
jdemers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump