Old 26th August 2003, 19:07   #1
c0lin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Bad Directsound drivers

Hi,

I cant play any Wav, MP3 or midi files
i get the error"Bad direct sound driver, please install proper drivers or select another device in configuration error code: 8878000A " (i can play CD's ok though)


ive tried the following to resolve this issue and none of them have worked:

Re-installing winamp
re-installing my sound card drivers
re-installing my sound card
Re-installing DirectX

And i really cannot think what else could be wrong

Ive searched the forums for my problem but only found one thread about it in the shoutcast forums, and it had no replys
Ive read thru most of the TSGH too.
And yes i do have my volume turned up

So, any ideas to wht it could be?

thanks
-c0lin
c0lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2003, 19:48   #2
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
quick fix: ctrl+p > preferences > plugins > output > highlight 'waveout output'
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2003, 20:23   #3
c0lin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
thanks for the reply,
i tried that and i got the following error message:

another program is using your soundcard. Please change the output device (in waveOut plug-in configuration) switch to directsound (in winamp prefrences / plug-ins / output) or get a soundcard which can play multiple streams.

Error code: 4
Windows error message:
"MMSYSTEM004 The specified device is already in use, wait until it is free again, and then try again

the thing is i know my sound card supports multiple streams because its worked before.

i looked in microsoft system information tool and it said my sound card was loaded in 2 different DMA channels
is there any way i could 'unload' hardware? (my sound card)

after that error message i get another error that says winamp perfomed an ileagal opperation, then it closes after i click ok.

-c0lin
c0lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2003, 09:32   #4
c0lin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Can no one help? ...pls?
c0lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2003, 11:54   #5
Ghoti
Senior Member
 
Ghoti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 131
This is only a SWAG. I see you've re-installed your soundcard drivers . . . have you tried checking for an updated driver or did you just reinstall the driver that came with it?

Whoa! You see it too?!
Ghoti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2003, 19:06   #6
RiDiCuLe
Senior Member
 
RiDiCuLe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England
Posts: 103
how can i change wot programs use wot outputs???

thanx,
Will
RiDiCuLe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2004, 06:01   #7
miltonsj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to miltonsj
Figured Out Directsound Error!

Here is what I did:

I went to my Windows 2000 Control Panel and double-clicked on "Sounds and Multimedia". Click the AUDIO tab, and make sure that your sound card is selected in the dropdown window as the preferred device for sound playback. Mine was not.

As soon as I changed the default device to my soundcard, I did not get the error anymore! YEAAAAA!

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks!
miltonsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2004, 19:23   #8
DSanchez
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
I have the same problem. But i dont know how i could possibly update the drivers for my on-board sound. If anyone knows how to update on-board sound please help me.
DSanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2007, 16:33   #9
DarkAzrael
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
How to fix

Ctrl+P to bring up preferences, under Plug-ins - Output, select DirectSound output. Click configure. Under the device tab there should be a drop down menu, make sure your sound card is selected. Click apply, then ok. Should have fixed the issue.
DarkAzrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 18:25   #10
avibp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Lion King
quick fix: ctrl+p > preferences > plugins > output > highlight 'waveout output'
This did the trick but, I took it two steps farther after I highlited "waveout output". I also clicked on the configure button and hit "Reset to defaults".

I have been using winamp since before version 3.0 (and video). I never lost the ability to HEAR the files WinAmp was playing and WA has always been a no-problem, low-memory (compared to WMP) program.

I was trying to set up streaming for my PDA with ShoutCast and dunno what happened at all. But, if it happens again, I know how to fix it.

Thanks Lion King .
Thanks NullSoft . ya'all rock
avibp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump