Old 3rd September 2010, 04:44   #1
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,346
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
? for experts: does winamp do UPNP / DLNA ?

let me be more precise:

WMP12 does do this, and earlier versions might too. XMBC either has it, or will soon.

what about winamp?

does it do:

upnp?
dlna?

and as subsets of those:

Digital Media Servers (DMS)?
Digital Media Renderers (DMR)?

Digital Media Controller (DMC)?
Control Point (CP)?

i would like to use winamp to control other servers/devices... this would give it parity to apps like WMP12. does it already have it?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 08:12   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it doesn't natively. there is a upnp plug-in (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=320803) but no idea about dlna stuff.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2010, 09:15   #3
siam6606
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 42
light definition :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Plug_and_Play
siam6606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2016, 14:01   #4
Hiroyuki
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 15
ml_upnp UNICODE

I have downloaded source code of ml_upnp from sourceforge as well as platinum , It can successfully locate the media server, but see character corruption at artist or whatever of double byte strings.
Tried to define UNICODE at compile but it generates tons of errors...
Any hint??
I love WinAmp and to have it upnp capable, Cedric's did good, and I like to enhance it can 'Play to' a renderer
Hiroyuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2016, 16:59   #5
Hiroyuki
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 15
Gave up using Platinum/Neptune library, and started to build UPNP based on sample code ml_ex.
Still see character corruption if text sent to another pane(playlist) as it looks like it expects single byte text.
OK I managed and resolved.
Now I move to have upnp codes in it
Hiroyuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2016, 20:34   #6
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,624
Good work so far. Good luck with the rest of it!

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 13:34   #7
Hiroyuki
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 15
now i can locate media servers. next i have to find folders in it. totally in maze of UPNP programming....
long way to go huh
Hiroyuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2016, 16:08   #8
Hiroyuki
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 15
can locate the root folders of Dlna servers.
I was quite new to c++ programming, to query xml from server, have xml parser and c++ container management
but happy to see devices reacted to my request
to do : add sub folders and have 'play to' feature.
so far 40% completion toward the goal
Hiroyuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Tags
dlna, upnp, wmp12

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump