Old 29th March 2010, 02:13   #1
fieldgunderson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
not getting any sound

i know there's probably a simple fix for this, but i can't figure it out. i was messing around with an older version of winamp (5.something, one of the ones that has the playlist synchronizer feature) and i was messing with some settings, then it crashed. some error message about the music DB kept popping up and the player would play songs, but i couldn't hear anything. i said f this, and uninstalled it and DL'd and installed the latest version. add files to library, go to play one, and boom, same thing. it's playing in the main window and the little visual things are jumping, but no sound. i can still get stuff to play on win media player (blech) and ares, but not the 'amp. i'm running windows 7 on an acer aspire laptop, only a couple weeks old. didn't mess with any of the default settings or anything. i tried uninstalling and reinstalling, and that didn't work. can anyone help me out?
fieldgunderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 03:18   #2
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
best way to check on whats going on is to go to directsound in the output preferences
right click in a blank area of the skin>options>preferences
check to see if it is it is either on primary device or if you know your primary device make sure it is default
other thing to check within windows 7 is in the sound mixer make sure winamp isnt turned down within windows itself

if this doesnt fix your problem it means there is a deeper problem and i'll have to dig into more solutions for you

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 05:05   #3
fieldgunderson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
it seems to be something bigger than that. even on the windows mixer, it shows sound coming from winamp, but no sound. i can get sound out of everything but winamp
fieldgunderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 19:45   #4
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
ok when its playing music does a error message appear
if so what does the message say
if not you may need to do a full uninstall
with deletion of all info
during the full uninstall select it to uninstall all user info
after it is done go to winamp in the program files folder and delete it

then reinstall the current 5.572 version
if this doesn't work it will mean there is an error in the registry
and i'll have to look for a way to fix it

also do you have ffdshow installed

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 21:03   #5
fieldgunderson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
completely removed and uninstalled it, with the windows uninstall and removed everything else manually. reinstalled the latest version and ffdshow, restarted, and still the same thing. no error message, nothing like that. the player still shows songs playing, just like before, but still no sound. doubt checked, nothing is muted. this is getting frustrating.
fieldgunderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 00:30   #6
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
ok this is over my head lets see if someone who knows what the issue might be will be able to take from were i left off

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 00:36   #7
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,028
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Have you tried uninstalling and then reinstalling the drivers for your soundcard? Also double check the directx sound plugin and make sure that the microsoft mapper is selected. Also check in the sounds and audio devices in the control panel that the correct default audio device is selected.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 02:05   #8
fieldgunderson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
all my drivers and audio devices are up to date and set to the correct settings. my problem seems to be specific to winamp. it's the only thing i can't get sound out of.
fieldgunderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 03:23   #9
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
to me it sounds like an issue with directsound
but i cant figure out where the problem lies

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 06:41   #10
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,028
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
If you open both Winamp and another audio player (like wmp) and play music on both at the same time does it produce the same results?
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 15:12   #11
fieldgunderson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
if i have both open, wmp plays but winamp doesn't.
fieldgunderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 21:29   #12
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
other than winamp being completely muted in the sound control i cant tell you whats going on
where is the slider for winamp in volume control on win7 and is the input bright green
since win7 will show there is feed coming in from winamp but if the slider is down or on mute the color will be gray

if it isnt this there is something telling winamp to use a different output or telling it not to send to output

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 21:50   #13
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
You might check your installation of directx.

http://www.microsoft.com/games/en-US...s/directx.aspx

You also might try using the native (rather than directx) driver in Winamp.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump